We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Burlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Burlington to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Burlington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Lower Mountain View Drive, Colchester, VT 05446   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Colchester
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Travel Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

This is my 3rd stay at the Hampton Inn in Colchester Vermont and each and every time have been very happy. The first stay was over 2 years ago and this hotel met all my expectations. Since staying here I book Hampton Inn first when travelling. We travel with a small dog and she is welcome here and there is a lot of green lawn in the area for her. The staff is always pleasant and this time I asked the desk clerk about a different route home and she said it is more picturesque than the freeway and I am glad I took her advice as it was a beautiful drive. When you ask about something in the area they have even looked up the address for my GPS and offered a map. The hotel is clean and even though it is getting on in years it is well maintained. The breakfast is always well served and the eggs, omelets, etc make for a nice way to start the day. A nice touch is the cookies and coffee in the evening. I am an early riser and there is always coffee to start my morning. Having travelled extensively I would rate this as one of the best hotels I have stayed in and the prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
It is so nice to hear from guests who have stayed with us before and keep coming back. Your review of our property was wonderful. I love hearing guests elaborate on the service they get from the staff. There are a lot of other properties you can choose from in our area and we appreciate the fact that you have chosen to stay with us. THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    196
    66
    20
    8
See reviews for
168
124
27
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

First, I have been staying at Hampton Inns for years, historically out of necessity, but now I am tending to select them as a first option. They seem to have invested many $M in their hotels and they have standardized ... meaning you know what to expect from location to location. The good news is that the rooms aren't overly expensive and they are clean. In addition, they have a fabulous breakfast buffet and free wi-fi. Once again, the king-size bed I slept in was one of the most comfortable I've had in a while. My son slept in a pull-out sofa which seemed to be pretty comfortable as well. Suite also had a large refrigerator, stove, and even some plates/glasses.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our Hampton Inn! We often have compliments on the comfort of our beds and guests frequently ask where they can purchase them. We look forward to many upgrades that will be happening this fall as we replace all of the furniture in the guest rooms, upgrade our TV's and add refrigerators and microwaves to each room. We hope you will visit us again to experience our renovations. Thank you for choosing Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

I want to write this review to warn fellow travelers about this hotel. We stayed here one night in July 2010 (supposed to be more but made a dash for it after one night) with our 1 year old daughter. The hotel is a very strange layout, has a dank/old smoke smell and is in deparate need of a makeover but that is not the point of this review.

In the middle of the night, I went to use the bathroom and found tiny brown bugs all over the place coming out of the drain, the cracks in the walls where the baseboards are etc. Once I turned on the light they all scattered to different corners. It was disgusting. All this while my baby is asleep in a hotel cot outside this room! Now, I am no bug expert, but I have lived in big cities and the bugs were one of two kinds...either cockroaches or bedbugs*. Needless to say, I woke up my husband and made him search through the bed for any nasty critters. I did not sleep that night and was brought to tears by the thought of these bugs crawling on my baby or catching a ride in our luggage and infesting our home. We spent the next few days at the Sheraton hotel.

I suugest the Hampton hires an on-site, fulltime bug exterminator.

* these nasty creatures don't just live in beds!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
I am very sorry your stay with our hotel was not satisfactory. I can certainly understand feeling uneasy at the sight of bugs in a guest bathroom. As I was unable to locate a reservation for you from your Trip advisor username, it was difficult for me to investigate what you have described, or if our staff treated you appropriately when you brought the issue to their attention. To my knowledge we have never had such an issue reported before. Pest extermination services are standard at hotels and we address any and all issues that are brought to our attention. In addition, we take pre-emptive measures to discourage problems before they occur. I am not certain what would have triggered such an issue in your guest room, but I do hope you reported it at the time so we could attend to it. I can assure you that it is certainly not a commonplace occurrence. Again, my apologies and I encourage you to contact me directly if you were not properly compensated for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I chose to stay at the Hampton Inn in Colchester for one night at the tail end of my New England trip. The hotel was easy to find and very well located for what we wanted to do while visiting the area. The room was clean and comfortable; we had a great room on the top floor that I absolutely loved!

We took advantage of the indoor pool to relax a bit during our stay, which was very pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you so much for the great review! Our top floor rooms are some of our guests favorite. The dormered window makes for a very cozy feel to the room. I appreciate your business and thank you for choosing our hotel while in the Burlington area. I hope you will visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Stayed here one night on our round New England tour. Hotel facilities were OK standard Hampton facilities. Staff were friendly and polite, no real issues.

We did use the pool, which was clean and when we were there, empty.

One odd thing was that were repairing the car park surface by rolling wet tar over the breaks in the tar macadam. Not such a brilliant idea in 90 deg of heat. We had to carry the roller bags even in the car park.

Overall, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you for commenting on your stay with us and I apologize for the parking lot repairs that were in progress. The job has been a difficult one to complete as it is weather dependent and we have been quite busy. We hated to inconvenience our guests, but unfortunately we are at the mercy of Mother Nature. I am glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and we hope you will visit with us again the next time you are in the Burlington area. Thank you for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed here with my family on a mixed business/pleasure trip. This was our second stay having been here 2 years earlier. We came back because our first stay was very enjoyable and liked that its a little different from the standard cookie cutter Hampton Inns.

The location is a little out of the way, but its just off the interstate and only a short 10 minute ride into Burlington.

The staff was very friendly, spoke with Diana mostly. We were disappointed not to have a refrigerator in the room as we did on our previous stay. We were told that they will be renovating the hotel later this year and that all rooms will have one at that time. I will say that at least our room was showing its age a bit and would agree that an update is over due.

Since this was also a business trip I found we quickly exhausted the supply of electrical outlets in the room with laptops, cell phone chargers, etc. We needed to rearrange the room a little to accomdate everything and requested an extension cord which was promptly brought up to our room that evening.

Breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn affair, which to be honest has improved over the years, with a pretty wide selection of items each morning in a very pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
We love hearing from return visitors! Yes, the hotel is due for some improvements and we are very excited at the changes that will be happening later this year! In addition to refrigerators and microwaves in every room, we also will have new bedroom furniture, couches, chairs, and flat screen TV's. We hope you will visit with us again and see all of our improvements! Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

1- Check in with Kevin a huge, pleasant experience. More hotels need Kevins. Felt immediate connection.
2 - Debby - room attendant - one of the nicest people you could ever want to meet, and does a fabulous cleaning job to boot!
3 - Hotel ambience cannot be beat.
4- Great breakfast, as well as cookies and milk at 8:30 each evening.
5- Fabulous pool - so clean.
6- Just the best and friendliest employees.
Only negative, and not with the hotel was T-bones - a disaster in my opinion. Have no plans to ever return, and I do so like having a restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Kevin is relatively new to the staff and he has proven to be a hit with our guests. Deb has been with the hotel for a while and is consistently recognized by our guests as well. I am very proud of our entire staff and how they embrace the feeling of hospitality we always try to provide. Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Burlington

Address: 42 Lower Mountain View Drive, Colchester, VT 05446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Burlington is conveniently located at Exit 16 off of Interstate 89 in Colchester, VT. The hotel features the complimentary "On the House" Hot breakfast buffet each morning with a brand new make your own waffle station. This great property also has free parking, complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet Access and cookies and milk each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Burlington Hotel Colchester
Hampton Inn Colchester
Colchester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.