We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Burlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Burlington to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Burlington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Lower Mountain View Drive, Colchester, VT 05446   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Colchester
Dexter, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel was not up to par with the rest of the Hampton Inns we have stayed in. Asked for a room with a view and got a view of a wall of a resturant. The air conditioning did not work. He room was hot and dry. The breckfast was fine. The employees were nice but not overly friendly. Would not stay here again. Was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don"t ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I am very sorry you were not pleased with your stay at our property. Your experience is not typical as we always try to accommodate every guest request. I am uncertain why we were not able to honor yours. I also apologize for the issues you experienced with the air conditioning. We do stand by our 100% satisfaction guarantee and I hope you brought the problem to the attention of the desk staff when you left. If you were not compensated please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    197
    66
    20
    8
See reviews for
168
124
27
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The property is worn down, it really shows it's age. It's interesting though because on the outside the hotel doesn't really look like a standard Hampton Inn. I thought it was quite nice, but the interior on the other hand can definitely use a complete make over.

The room we had was a bit cramped and wasn't as clean as I expected, but it was okay. The beds were good, we stayed for one night and we had a good night sleep so that's a plus.

We didn't experience the breakfast because we went to a great spot in Burlington to get some breakfast.

The pool was great though, especially because there was nobody else there. Big enough for 2!

All in all I would probably choose another hotel in the area on my next visit. It wasn't bad but it's a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your visit to our hotel and I am sorry you feel you would prefer to stay elsewhere should you return. The property is about 22 years old, but the owners have invested quite a bit in renovations over the past few years. We do look to make continued improvements in the months ahead. Our room rates do fluctuate based on the season and you may find the rates are more favorable should you check back for alternate dates. Thank you for choosing Hampton and I hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

While one of the older Hampton Inns, it was clean, spacious, quiet and had a good king bed. Easy to get to downtown Burlington. Large clean and well -kept breakfast area and staff were on hand to make sure breakfast served without glitches. Good value for a road-trip stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for the positive review of your stay with us. The property is older, built in 1990, and is not your typical Hampton Inn. While many people think it may have been a different brand at one time, the hotel was always a Hampton from the beginning. I appreciate your comments about your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The area is very picturesque. The immediate surrounding area of the hotel did not have very much in the way of restaurants or shopping, but it was a short drive to Burlington and other nearby towns. Lobby impression was good. Nice front desk area, polite, courteous staff and nice, clean, open breakfast/common area. Hallways are in need of new carpeting and wallcoverings. Our room had a musty smell and humid feel to it. The flooring and wallcoverings in the room and bath need updating. The bed was ok, the pillows need replacing.The bath cleanliness could have been a little better but could be due to the age of the fixtures. We did not use the pool or workout facility but it looked ok. The breakfast was selection was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I appreciate the feedback with regards to your stay. We are an older Hampton Inn and have been making many improvements over the past few years. The Lobby was completely renovated this past spring and last year we replaced all of the furniture in the rooms, upgraded the TV's and added Microwaves and refrigerators to all of the rooms. While we realize there is more to do, I appreciate that you felt the staff were accommodating and the facility was clean. I hope you will continue to stay with us to witness other upgrades we have planned for the upcoming months. Thank you for choosing Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Spent one night travelling through to Canada. Good location, just off the interstate at exit 16. Location has several restaurants nearby, as well as McDonalds, Subway and Burger King ( a two minute drive, as they are on the other side of the freeway). Italian restaurant called Juniors is very good. For a nice Thai restaurant with good food and good prices you should turn left out of the entrance and follow the road straight down for two miles. Just at the bottom the hill on the round-about you will see " Tiny Thai Restaurant" at 24 Main street in Winooski.
Hotel is the usual fare for a Hampton Inn albeit a little tired. Overall, it was clean, comfortable, and quiet with very amicable staffing. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and I am very glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff are the key to our success and I have shared your comments with them. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Missouri
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I spent a couple of nights here during a business conference. First the positive, the staff was great, always eager to help and accomodate, the breakfast was good with a number of choices, the shuttle was a positive for trips to and from the airport. Even though I didn't have time to use the pool or the excercise equipment, it looked well maintained and inviting. The downside, my room was great, but had a slight mold smell to it although I didn't see any mold. This could be a serious problem for those with severe allergies. The carpet at the room entrance was showing wear and really needed to be repaired or replaced. Other areas of the property also exhibited signs of age and will soon need to be updated. Overall it is a nice place and would deserve a very good rating instead of an average rating if more attention was paid to details. I would stay again, but may want to change room location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for all of the positive comments with regards to your stay. While we realize there are other upgrades to be done at the property, the owners invested quite a bit in the hotel just this year alone. The lobby went through a complete renovation and we expanded and upgraded our fitness area as well. In the months ahead we plan to do more upgrades with regards to the rooms and we hope you will continue to stay with us to see the changes. Thank you for choosing Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Colorado
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

After so many years you would think that the owners of this once nice facility would finally spend some money and refurbish the hotel. The hotel is not in a bad location (if you discount the heavy traffic trying to get out of the tiny parking lot and the lack of any eating facilities close by) and compared to the much higher prices at the other Burlington Hilton properties I continue to give this HI another try just hoping the place will get a face lift.

The breakfast selections are below average at best. The staff is usually helpful and the location is close to Burlington just in case the other facilities are much too expensive or full.

Room Tip: Stay away from the check-in level floor. The 4th or 5th level usually provide adequate levels of qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTVMVGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Burlington, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I appreciate your feedback and thank you for your continued patronage. There are several areas our owners plan to address in the next few months. Hopefully you noticed the major renovation that took place in our lobby and the expansion of our fitness area. While we see areas we wopuld like to concentrate on, the brand often mandates what we must do. The ownership has reinvested millions of dollars in the hotel over the last few years and will continue to do so. I hope you will keep coming back so you can witness the improvements!
Thank you for choosing Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Burlington

Address: 42 Lower Mountain View Drive, Colchester, VT 05446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Burlington is conveniently located at Exit 16 off of Interstate 89 in Colchester, VT. The hotel features the complimentary "On the House" Hot breakfast buffet each morning with a brand new make your own waffle station. This great property also has free parking, complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet Access and cookies and milk each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Burlington Hotel Colchester
Hampton Inn Colchester
Colchester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.