We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Mountain Top Inn & Resort to your Saves list
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We expected more. Being in the middle of nowhere, although a superb location, it needs more amenities such as a shop, indoor pool (the outdoor one was out of service), snack bar, etc. It gave the impression of a 1960's German style hunting lodge with all the wood, antlers round the lights in the restaurant and heavy tables & chairs. The lobby/lounge was comfortable providing you do not mind the nearby stairs being vacuumed at 9:30 in the evening. We were disappointed with our bedroom which was very boarding house and tired. Following a complaint we were moved to a refurbished room which was much nicer. The sooner they refurbish all the rooms to that standard, the better. The restaurant and choice of food was uninspiring. With no alternative we ate there on the first night. Opting for a "safe" choice of steak and fries rather than elk loin, the steak was on the tough side and the fries were burnt. On the other nights we drove twenty minutes down the mountain to the Red Clover Inn which was absolutely splendid and thoroughly recommended.. We found several of our fellow hotel guests there on both nights, so that tells you something.
A lovely location with beautiful views, it could be so much better.

Room Tip: Try to get a refurbished room. To be fair, we did not see the "luxury" rooms which may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the Resort. As we say in all of our material we are remotely situated and our decor is classic mountain lodge. Our list of activities is quite extensive, including our brand new outdoor pool. It is unfortunate that you thought it was out of service. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    103
    37
    19
    15
See reviews for
115
164
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three days and two nights. We had two rooms and two children with us. The inn itself is cozy and on the smaller side. The rooms are warm and cozy although our bed was old and sunken in. Definitely needed a new mattress. Despite that we enjoyed the views and the grounds. We did a hike from the activities center which was nice. Breakfast was included and decent. Good mix of hot and cold items.

The hotel is located 11 miles from killington but the road to drive there is half windy and dark at night. Would be challenging in the snow unless you are used to driving these kinds of roads. This month the weather is chilly but not icy so we did not have any problems.

Had a travelzoo rate of 129 a night. They also charge a resort fee here. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Only negative for us was the bad mattress. We also overheard some rooms have mould but we didn't have that problem. Overall a warm and relaxing stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The view, the rooms, the staff are nothing short of wonderful here. We booked a three night elopement package and were very pleased with the amenities, service, and set up from the inn. We did have a concern regarding construction close to our room and the staff quickly addressed our concern well beyond our expectations. This made our stay even more enjoyable and we felt confident that the inn was the perfect location for our wedding. We look forward to returning and highly recommend this inn to family, friends, or strangers reading this review.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Congratulations on your wedding in September. Thank you so much for choosing The Mountain Top Inn & Resort for your elopement celebration. It was our pleasure to be a part of your very special occasion. Hopefully you will be back soon to see us and to see the completed project.
Thanks for spreading the word!
Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and hated to leave. The view is spectacular and the house that we stayed in was gorgeous and we looked at other houses available and they were all beautiful. The lodge rooms were very nice also. We ate at the restaurant and it was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your comments with others. Please come back again soon and stay longer the next time!

Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband found the Inn in a horse magazine last January and booked it straight away. It was the horseback riding that drew us. What we found when we got there was we were upgraded to a suite in the lodge from a cabin we had booked. So excited about the room and view! It as a great treat. Thank you! Christa and India took incredible care of us at the barn. They were very accommodating to our rides and we could not have asked for a lovelier time. For the week we stayed we ate all our meals there- next time we come we will check out the meal packages someone mentioned in the reviews. We want to say Hi and thank you to Khele Sparks Gen. Manager, Vera accounting (such a delight), Ellen receptionist , and Silvia in the restaurant who took care of us daily in the dining room. Best sleeping ever!
Thanks again

Room Tip: The back of the inn will give you beautiful views trees and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are so appreciative of the review you posted about your recent visit to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort; in particular that you mentioned specific employees who helped make your stay so enjoyable. Thank you very much and we hope you'll be back soon for another riding vacation!

Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked The Mountain Top Inn on a spur of the moment idea! Eryn was very friendly and helpful in setting us up in a wonderful room with the view of the lake and the surrounding mountains.....breathtaking! You really need to be facing the lake to take in all the beauty. We just sat in our swivel chairs and absorbed it all. The leaves were just starting to slip into their fall colors. When the sun went down, we went to the bar and had cocktails and dinner there. Our bartender, J.R., was attentive and knowledgeable and made amazing drinks. Dinner was a little pricey, but it was also very good. After a lot of driving, we did not feel like driving all the way back down the mountain. Definitely worth it. Our room was clean,and the bed was very comfortable. Lots to do on the property.....hiking, kayaks and canoes at the beach which is about 1 mile from the main lodge. You can drive your car down the dirt road...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for the very positive review on TripAdvisor. Our goal is to create an ambiance where our guests feel welcome and relaxed. It certainly sounds as if we accomplished that during your “spur of the moment idea”. We are glad that you chose us for your getaway and hope you will return soon!

Most sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This resort is truly a Gem! Nestled on the Green Mountain in Vermont, near Rutland, this resort is beautiful and peaceful. The dining room and pub served excellent food with buffet breakfast when more than 30 guests.

We stayed in room 213 in the Lodge. the room had a King sized bed, sitting area, kitchen, and a gorgeous view of the Mountain and lake. The staff were friendly ans helpful and made the stay enjoyable.

Activities available are horseback riding, swimming, boating, kayaking, canoeing, and a pontoon boat. This is a wedding and skiing destination.

They are currently expanding the facilities which was the only negative for our stay. Workmen at least did not start until 8 am!

Room Tip: Get on the back side of the Inn for a view of the lake and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind remarks and positive review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. Our expansion will be completed in January so we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel from FL up to VT.

Sincerely,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont's classic mountain resort, located in central Vermont, just 11 miles from Killington. Majestically set on 350 acres with sweeping views of the sparkling lake (with private beach) and majestic mountains, The Mountain Top Inn & Resort offers an endless array of activities, ideal for couples, families, equestrian enthusiasts, xc skiers & snowshoers, and any outdoor adventure lover - winter and summer. Accommodation types include Lodge Rooms,Luxury Cabins, Luxury Cottages and Vacation Home Rentals (minimum vacation home rental of 2 & 3 nights on some seasonal weekends). Other amenities include pool, hot tub, yoga, fitness center, tennis court, hiking and mountain biking trails, canoeing, pontoon boat rides, snow tubing, iceskating, events, conferences and more. Friendly service, casual dining and outdoor terrace seating complete the experience for guests of the Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.