We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure enchantment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Mountain Top Inn & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
‘Giddy-Up and Go’ Special
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chittenden
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pure enchantment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Recently, having spent 2 night at this Resort we were introduced to pure beauty and gracious living. Food was beyound great, service immpectable, and scenery was to die for. Mountains, lake, horses, swimming pool and so many things to do and see that you hardly had time for a nap in the afternoon but nights were quiet and sleep inducing.
This is something to put on your bucket list! Pure heavenly!
George and Gayle Riddick

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you very much for the lovely review of the Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for another relaxing vacation.

Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    93
    35
    18
    14
See reviews for
99
152
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have been there several times. Both winter and summer. A great destination with wonderful views. Most recently we were there 2 nights. We especially enjoyed buffet breakfast and menu lunch on the patio overlooking the meadow and the lake. Truly outstanding. Recommend the grilled Vermont cheese sandwich with cup of soup. Dinner, in the dinning room, was outstanding. Afternoons, we played bridge with our friends while enjoying the fabulous view from the "game room." The beach and pontoon boat are very relaxing as well as the brand new pool and hot tub. On previous visits with grand children, we stayed in a wonderful Chalet. Lake swimming, canoes, kaiaks, horseback riding, clay bird shooting, slay carriage, and snow fun have all been a treat. All together, a great destination for families or for couples and friends.

Be sure to say hello to the Inn General Manager, Khele Sparks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our son and his wife recently got married at Mountain Top, and it was wonderful! We rented one of their houses for 6 adult family members plus 2 small children. The views were beautiful, and there was lots to do right on the property. Some of the houses are very well-appointed--ours was spacious but more basic (perfect for the children!) but with that spectacular view. The wedding weekend went very smoothly, despite a major rainstorm and last-minute change of venue for the rehearsal dinner. The food was fantastic, the staff extremely friendly and helpful and easy to work with. The attention to detail and anticipation of anything we might need was impressive. The location was secluded, but close enough to Rutland for emergency trips. A wonderful time for our families and a great experience!

Room Tip: Choose the end of the main lodge away from the construction--and look at interior photos of the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We are happy to hear that your son’s wedding brought you and your family to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort. Thank you for detailing the many reasons that your experience was a positive one. We hope you will return to see us when you can relax and take time to enjoy the many activities we offer.

Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My fiancee and I were considering getting married at Mountain Top Inn & Resort, so this past weekend we came up to look at the property. While we've decided not to get for logistical reasons (we're from Boston), we've found a new resort for large groups! Mountain Top has a hotel with about 60 rooms, plus houses and condos spread out (we had to drive to the house we were staying in). Very reasonable prices for the houses. They have a lake area with kayaks and canoes, tennis courts & a new swimming pool & hot tub. If you're into horse back riding, this is a great place to visit! In the winter, they have numerous cross country skiing trails, dog sledding & horse drawn carriage rides. Not to mention, they offer a free shuttle to Killington!

The breakfast buffett was ok, nothing to write home about. We didn't get a chance to eat lunch or dinner there. Very friendly staff. BEAUTIFUL VIEWS! Like I said, we won't be having our wedding here but we are already planning our return trip with our friends this winter!

Room Tip: Mountain Aire Lodge is a great house for groups - sleeps 18 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Congratulations on your upcoming wedding! We are sorry to hear you have decided not to get married at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort; however we are delighted that you will be back again with a group of friends. We look forward to seeing you this winter!

Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager

NOTE: Currently we have no plans to offer dog sledding at the Resort this winter; however that may change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked the vacation through the Living Social website. Overall we had a great time on the resort as the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was very good and plentiful and the afternoon snacks of lemonade and cookies were a nice treat. The view in the back of the resort was breathtaking with the mountains and reservoir. My Son enjoyed running up and down the hills. It would be nice however if they had a play structure for kids to play on as there is so much open space in the back which also includes a swimming pool, although when we were there it was not heated but rather cold. There is also a tennis court and a beach where you can use canoes, kayaks and peddle boats provided by the resort.

Our room was nice but we did not have the back view which is so much nicer as compared to the front. Also the room was not sound proof as we could hear the TV from another room late at night which was inconvenient especially when trying to sleep. The rooms are not up to date with card keys but instead regular keys which are not safe especially if previous guests do not return their keys. That should and needs to be updated as a security measure. WiFi is not available in the rooms and only in the lobby which is inconvenient. However, the lobby area is very cozy with comfortable furniture and plenty of board games to keep busy after enjoying the outdoors.

I do not suggest traveling to the hotel at night as the road up the mountain is not lighted and there is some dirt roads during the journey up the mountain. It is best to travel to and from the hotel during the day. There was no sign on the highway leading to the hotel. Luckily our GPS was able to guide us but it still would be reassuring with proper signage on the roads.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking over the back with the mountains and reservoir instead of the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your very thorough critique of your stay with us. Overall it sounds like we offered a positive experience. The suggestions you made for improvement are helpful and some are already in the planning stages. We are designing a system to extend WIFI throughout the Lodge and we have adjusted the heat in the brand new pool. We hope you will find a reason to return to see us soon.

Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked this hotel through Hidden Trails as a horse riding vacation and drove there. Vermont is lovely and the hotel is very secluded (although only about 10-15 min drive from Rutland, Vermont's 2nd largest town). We also purchased the meal plan which included breakfast lunch and dinner.

On arrival we were upgraded to a suite in the main building and it was superb. The view of the manicured lawn to the forest, lakes and mountains was a great sight to wake up to each day.

Although the resort features many activities we had only enough time for riding, and a bit of local sightseeing. Most of the other guest we spoke to were using the resort as a getaway holiday and we could see how good the place was for that sort of break from city life.

The food at the resort was first class. Service was mainly good, but not always.

All of the staff were extremely helpful and professional. There was a small problem with our bill, and it was taken care with no fuss.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing the great time you had at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, on tripadvisor. Our horseback riding program attracts many travelers like you and it is important for us to hear feedback from our Hidden Trails guests. Hopefully you shared your service concerns with our staff while you were here, in order for us to correct any lapses that may have occurred. We hope to see you again soon for more riding or for a “getaway holiday/city break”.

Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding and were thoroughly impressed with this resort. The room was small cabin with a clean bathroom. The room was rustic, and lacked some of the finer amenities of a hotel, but was adequate and clean. The hotel grounds included a small private beach on a lake with free access to canoes, kayaks, etc that were fun to use. Would highly recommend for a romantic getaway if you like hiking, kayaking/water sports, or tennis as they are all on the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtntopinn195, General Manager at The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We appreciate your review of the Resort; as you mentioned our cabins are more rustic than the remaining accommodations. Hopefully you will return to see us and stay in one of our Lodge rooms, so you can experience the difference.

Best regards,
Khele Sparks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mountain Top Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Top Inn & Resort

Address: 195 Mountain Top Road, Chittenden, VT 05737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chittenden
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chittenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mountain Top Inn & Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont’s classic mountain resort, located in central Vermont, just 11 miles from Killington. Majestically set on 350 acres with sweeping views of the sparkling lake and majestic mountains, The Mountain Top Inn & Resort offers an endless array of activities, ideal for couples, families, equestrian enthusiasts, xc skiers & snowshoers, and any outdoor adventure lover of winter and summer fun. Affordable accommodations include Lodge Rooms, Pet Friendly Cabins, and Vacation Home Rentals. Friendly service, casual dining and fitness center complete the experience for guests of the Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Mountain Top Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Top Hotel Chittenden
The Mountain Top Inn And Resort
Mountain Top Hotel
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort Vermont/Chittenden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mountain Top Inn & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.