We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Henry farm inn best bed and breakfast in Chester Vermont” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henry Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henry Farm Inn
Save
You added Henry Farm Inn to your Saves list
2206 Green Mountain Turnpike, Chester, VT 05143   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Henry farm inn best bed and breakfast in Chester Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a wonderful find. Bed and breakfast was just the best. Owners were super friendly and helpful. Their home was cozy and really so Vermont in feeling. There were special homemade goodies always available for snacking along with juices. What a great cook, pat is. Wow the breakfast was so tasty, homemade breads, of course. Cannot miss with this fun and friendly homey atmosphere. Pretty location in the hills. Not hard to find either.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or room service, who wants that anyway. Great 1st floor room with twin beds for se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I wanted to surprise my husband with a weekend in Vermont for his birthday . I chose the inn's Pamper Me weekend . We enjoyed everything that was included in the package so it turned out to be a great choice. Dinner at Leslie's was a highlight of weekend dining experience and the massage therapists were very good. During our stay in Chester we found plenty of things to do in the area. What really won us over was the warmth of our hosts, Paul and Patricia. They were always looking after the comfort of their guests and made great suggestions for things to do. We loved their wonderful Vermont country breakfasts. We felt privileged to stay for a few days at this historic 1700's stage coach inn. It was a very hot, summer weekend but we did not mind the bedroom fans instead of air conditioning since we do not use air conditioning at home. The room (#5) was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed and bedding. This stay checked off all our boxes for really good weekend away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent more than a week traveling in New England last summer, staying only in B&B's. We spent two nights at the Henry Farm Inn and it was, by far, our favorite! This is the perfect New England home. Fireplaces in all of the rooms, wood plank floors, quilts on the beds, attention to detail everywhere, baked treats in the afternoon, a porch for relaxing on a summer's evening, the most delicious and lovingly-prepared breakfast. I cannot say enough about the innkeepers, who are so warm and welcoming. I so enjoyed talking with them about their son and about their pets and their home. This was such a great place to stay that I truly did not want to leave and I dream of returning. I recommend Henry Farm Inn highly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Paul and Pat are extremely welcoming and accommodating. Myself along with 3 other couples booked rooms at the Inn for a ski weekend and the Inn exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was delicious each morning, the rooms were spacious and the common areas were welcoming and they even put out baked goods, cheese and crackers in the evening. We enjoyed the living room with a fire each evening (we bought local beer back to the Inn after dinner and hung out with other guests) and played a rowdy game of scrabble late into the night. The cost is extremely affordable. We typically rent a house when we go skiing with our friends, but decided to try the Inn as it was much more affordable when the cost of ski tickets are factored in and we were so impressed that we plan on renting the entire place out next year! I almost didn't want to write a review to ensure we can book the entire place next year, but it is too good not to share and Pat and Paul are so accommodating!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This B&B was fantastic! We stayed for two nights and left wishing we could have stayed for more. It was very reasonably priced for what is included. We were welcomed with freshly baked cookies and friendly conversation by the innkeepers who are very knowledgable about the area and willing to answer any question you might have. There is a living room area with a fireplace that is perfect to relax in front of and read or play a game with friends.
The rooms are very comfortable and just big enough. The one we stayed in had a little kitchen with a range and an oven so we were able to cook or own dinner one night. The breakfasts that Paul and Pat cook are delicious and worth getting out of bed early for!
If you're looking to ski at Okemo or any of the nearby resorts I highly highly recommend staying here, you won't be disappointed!
If you're traveling during the winter months there is a big hill in the back of the B&B for sledding and snowshoeing that's worth taking advantage of.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Williamsport, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have visited with Innkeepers Patricia and Paul many times over the years but it's been four years since our last visit. This time we checked-in for long ski weekend. The Henry Farm Inn is a great example of Vermont hospitality. Rooms are large and comfortable and reflect the importance of the past in every detail. In fact the entire Inn is history on display. First used in the 1700s as a stop along the stagecoach turnpike from Canada to Boston, the Inn again provides comfortable lodging for modern travelers. This rich history inhabits every corner of the B & B. Breakfast is superb as is the service but the hosts constitute the main reason we always stay here. The location is perfect for almost any activity, summer or winter. We highly recommend it for southern Vermont bound travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I looked at many inns before selecting this one and was delighted with my choice. It is a traditional farm house situated on the old turnpike road. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and in summer the swimming pond nearby would be great. Paul and Patricia are excellent hosts, very welcoming and helpful with finding walks, restaurants etc. Breakfasts are amazing and when you get back from a day out there are hot drinks and cider plus freshly baked cookies awaiting you in the hall. There was a log fire in the sitting room in the evening so you could chat to the other guests or relax and read. The rooms are simple but comfortable, tiny bathroom in ours but perfectly adequate, and a large bedroom with extremely comfy bed and quilts all around. We have tried many inns in New England over the years and have enjoyed them all but if I had to pick a favourite, this would be it. Chester is the ideal base for a stay in Vermont and the Henry Farm Inn the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Henry Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Farm Inn

Address: 2206 Green Mountain Turnpike, Chester, VT 05143
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Stagecoach Inn, now a quintessential Vermont B&B. Nine spacious guest rooms, two with kitchen suites. Private baths, wireless internet, full country breakfasts, award-winning baked goods. Hike, swim and relax in the summer, cross-country ski, snowshoe and ice skate in the winter, all on our scenic and peaceful 56 acres of natural beauty. Reasonable rates, refreshingly friendly and casual atmosphere, children and family reunions very welcome. Golf, Pamper-Me, Quilting and Okemo Stay & Ski Packages available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.