We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chester House Inn to your Saves list
Chester House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   266 Main St., Chester, VT 05143   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book@ Chesterhouseinn.com
Ranked #3 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
NJ
1 review
“Great Getaway Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

My husband and I have been traveling to Chester for a number of years. We like the charm of the town and the winter sports availability in the region. We generally stay in B&Bs as we like the cozy atmosphere. This year the Chester House Inn where we have stayed in the past has new owners and they are maintaining the standards we have come to expect. Bob and Jan made our stay comfortable and Jan's cooking skills are exceptional, loved the tomato basil frittata. We look forward to continuing our annual sojourn to Chester and staying at the Chester House.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    11
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
59
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

If you're looking for a fun little place to have a get together with some girlfriends, the Chester House Inn is a great choice. Get room 5 at the top of the stairs, it's great for a group, with king and double bed, couch, fireplace, lots of room to hang out. Jan and Bob were very welcoming and made you feel like part of the family. Warm gingerbread, coffee and tea awaited us after we returned from our trip to the great shops across the street. Breakfast was amazing...muffins and baked apple to start, then cinnamon french toast, bacon and all the coffee you could drink! I know I'll be going back in the Spring.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Don't get me wrong- this is not a bad inn. It's just that its basically mediocre, and therefore I find the gushing reviews on this site somewhat surprising. The rooms range from good sized (the suites) to fairly small. The breakfast is above average, but nothing to write home about. The common area is very small. The smaller rooms dont have individual heating/cooling systems, but one shared between several rooms (perhaps two? not sure) which makes it very uncomfortable when guests have different temperature preferences. One of the owners is very nice and warm, while the other is a bit cool and impersonal. Innkeeping is a tough business, but if you arent a people's person, its probably not for you. We've definitely stayed at better places in Vermont where the owners go out of the way because they seem to truly love their inns and what they do- this isnt the case here. That said, the location isnt bad.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utica, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

"Best week-end we've had in quite some time". "Never been to a B/B, now I wish we would have tried these before". ""I hope we did not set the bar too high for future B/B experiences". These are quotes my wife and I had to say regarding our experience @ the Chester Inn in Chester, Vt. Bill and Paul went above and beyond expectation and made our stay stay extremely remarkable. We were regalled by stories of local talent and famous guests who have stayed at the Inn before. 7+ rooms; well attired with comfortable furniture and in our case two separate beds; cozy fireplace. and noteworthy breakfasts. Very clean. Went to a Scottish Pub for dinner and drinks and enjoyed it so much, went back the next night.. Dined at Alices Restaurant where our hostess and her husband-chef put on a culinary extravaganza. It was a great experience and would recommend it to any traveler. Bill and Pam Lewis

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I needed a romantic getaway for a weekend and we discovered we came to the right place, the Chester House Inn. Being a former Marine I really appreciated the attention to detail that appeared to be a hallmark of Inn keepers Paul & Bill. From the facade of the 1700 year old house to the decor of the rooms I've never been so impressed. Upon our arrival we soon felt we amoung friends displayed by Bill & Paul. We were on a first name basis until we checked out. The room was so spotless that the usually apprehension disappeared. The morning breakfast that was included was done with flare and was delisious. On our way back home we were already discussing going back to the Inn for Valentines Day!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chester House. Bill and Paul are wonderfulful hosts and full of great ideas for dining and sightseeing. If we are in the area again we will definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We loved our fall foliage tour but our stay at the Chester House Inn was the best part of our vacation. The Inn is very charming, beautifully decorated, and clean. Bill and Paul, made us feel so welcome and at home. They shared their knowledge of their historical inn, including recommending local area craft fairs, covered bridges and restaurants, etc. My husband and I loved the delicious bountiful gourmet breakfasts with attention to presentation and detail. We definitely will return to the Chester Inn to view the 2011 fall foliage.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Inn

Address: 266 Main St., Chester, VT 05143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinguished, quiet 1780 B&B on the Village Green in quaint Chester, 44 miles from Vermont's southern border via I-91. All guest suites/rooms have private baths, phones, voice mail, free WiFi, and A/C (in the warmer months). Rooms accommodate 2-4. Available: in-room fireplaces, canopy beds, sitting areas, Jacuzzi, whirlpool, steam shower and TV. Scrumptious gourmet breakfast served daily. Private off-street parking, deck, library. Seasonal packages: Okemo Skiing, Theater, Golf. No children ( 10. Small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chester House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.