We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hospitality of the owners, Bill and Paul, the beautiful and clean room and the gourmet breakfasts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chester House Inn to your Saves list
Chester House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   266 Main St., Chester, VT 05143   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“The hospitality of the owners, Bill and Paul, the beautiful and clean room and the gourmet breakfasts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We loved our fall foliage tour but our stay at the Chester House Inn was the best part of our vacation. The Inn is very charming, beautifully decorated, and clean. Bill and Paul, made us feel so welcome and at home. They shared their knowledge of their historical inn, including recommending local area craft fairs, covered bridges and restaurants, etc. My husband and I loved the delicious bountiful gourmet breakfasts with attention to presentation and detail. We definitely will return to the Chester Inn to view the 2011 fall foliage.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    11
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
62
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, VT
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

This is a wonderful 7-guest Inn in the center of Chester, Vermont...right on the green. Hosts Paul and Bill have renovated and redecorated this historically significant inn giving it true character while respecting its long history.

Breakfast was excellent, conversation with the hosts was interesting and enlightening.

We do think that perhaps it's time for an updated mattress in room 6, but we'll be back regardless! Thank you for a great weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My sister and I are quilters and we were on our annual quilt shop hop adventure and happened to find the Chester House Inn which is located directly across the street from one of the biggest quilt shops in Vermont, Country Treasures. The Inn was immaculately clean. The accommodations were excellent. Each room has its own bathroom, a big plus! The room rates were reasonable and included a deliciously home cooked breakfast. The Inn Keeper was gracious and entertaining as well. The Inn is located in the town of Chester which is a quaint country town similar to Mayberry RFD. Our stay was one of the high points of our trip!!! We would definitely stay there again and have recommended it to all of our quilting friends!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

My sister and I found the Chester House Inn while on a Quilt Shop Hop. Across the street from the largest quilt shop in Vermont was what made our choice easy. But the friendly hospitality of the inn keepers is what will make us return. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. The beds were great. Breakfast was superb. Coffee, juice, warm muffins, omlets made with fresh veggies, fresh eggs and cheese neither of us could finish it all! The rocking chairs on the porch were an awesome way to start and end the day.
The stories about Chester and the history of the Inn was so interesting!
We felt like we were leaving family by the time we left! I would definitely recommend this inn to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Chester House Inn last weekend and had a terrific time. The hosts, Bill and Paul made us feel comfortable from the time we made the reservation until we left. We wanted to find a place that my husband would be comfortable leaving his prized motorcycle overnight and the Chester House Inn was perfect. Bill let him put the bike in the barn, next to his own. They even tried to help us locate a tool to fix a part that had broken on the way up to the Inn! The Inn is very comfortable and the décor is beautiful. We stayed in a room on the second floor, and it was very quiet and peaceful at night. The breakfasts were delicious as well. We had a wonderful experience at the Chester House Inn

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon, nj
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

The Chester House is run by Paul and Bill, the best hosts! Cooking was great, and they are so very nice and fun to talk to. Provided everything I needed without being "there" all the time. The Inn is lovely, and the rates are quite reasonable. I appreciated the free (and fast) internet service since coverage in Vermont is pretty spotty. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

My wife and I have stayed in many B&B's and thought we have had many exceptional experiences or at least what we thought were exceptional...finally we know what exceptional is......The Chester House.

First is the beautiful, quaint and well groomed exterior. Down to every detail it was beautiful and I can honestly say the photos on their website don't do it any justice.

We entered the front door to see a beautiful entrance and headed in to be met by Bill, the Inns Keeper. Bill was very welcoming and made us feel like welcome guests (friends) in his home. He asked us about our trip, told us about the history of the Inn and then asked if we were ready to see our room.

We headed to the room which was more spacious than we could have ever imagined...again, the pictures made it look smaller. We were thrilled, felt very comfortable and immediately realized that we had made the perfect choice.

Later that evening we found Bill and asked for dinner advice and he sent us to a terrific steakhouse that we thoroughly enjoyed.

The rest of our weekend was equally pleasant and we enjoyed more of Bills recommendations which included a "MUST VISIT", the Harpoon Brewery. We ended our weekend having one of the best weekends ever and will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chester House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Inn

Address: 266 Main St., Chester, VT 05143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinguished, quiet 1780 B&B on the Village Green in quaint Chester, 44 miles from Vermont's southern border via I-91. All guest suites/rooms have private baths, phones, voice mail, free WiFi, and A/C (in the warmer months). Rooms accommodate 2-4. Available: in-room fireplaces, canopy beds, sitting areas, Jacuzzi, whirlpool, steam shower and TV. Scrumptious gourmet breakfast served daily. Private off-street parking, deck, library. Seasonal packages: Okemo Skiing, Theater, Golf. No children ( 10. Small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chester House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.