We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a skier who needs to sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel in the Meadow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motel in the Meadow to your Saves list
Motel in the Meadow
936 Route 11, West, Chester, VT 05143   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
billskis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for a skier who needs to sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Perfect for the task at hand - arrive the night before, for a big 3-foot powder day at Magic. Early to bed, early to rise, gone.
Simply put, a clean room, fresh, clean, new? sheets and bedding, safe, warm and very quiet. A rather small room, but for someone who wants to spend all their waking hours out of doors, perfect. A million TV channels, I don't watch TV except during the olympics, so that put me to sleep.

I needed a full breakfast before a strenous day, so I passed on the dry breakfast "continental." Very accommodating, friendly, talkative husband and wife team.

Wireless Internet in the office for guests.

Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
10
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Hills
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Quiet country setting in small town. The owner was friendly and helpful, small b'fast included. Pleasant experience.

  • Liked — small mom and pop motel, personal service
  • Disliked — room was a little on the smaller side, but not a distraction
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My husband and our friends wanted a relaxful get away weekend in southern VT. We booked two rooms at Motel in the Meadow with the efficiency. Pat greeted us with a warm smile and friendly manner. She was personable and very helpful in pointing out some local highlights and must sees. She also suggested several restaurants in the area that were great. The prime rib at Sam's Restaurant on Sunday evenings is worth the trip to southern VT alone. The rooms at the Motel were very clean, towels were displayed nicely, toilet paper had that fold that displays that added touch of detail . Recommend for folks who like the down to earth atmosphere of the motel feel, and stepping back in time to a gentler and kinder time.

Fran & Gib

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozrah,CT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

We have stayed at Motel-in the Meadow 3 or 4 times a year in the past few years. We Always stay there if we are going to VT and we also stop off there one night on our way to more northerly areas. Pat is a wonderful hostess and serves a great breakfast w/cold cereal, muffins, coffee,juice. We first went there because we needed a pet-friendly motel w/no stairs and direct access to the outdoors as our old dog hates being shut in. We now consider going there like "Going Home". There is a great huge meadow back -yard for dogs to play in. Pat has a dog,Monroe so she understands dog-lovers. I highly recommend the Motel-in -the-Meadow. It is not a fancy place w/a lot of amenities like a pool etc. but it is a good night's sleep,clean, peaceful and quiet which I feel VT is all about, quiet!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

We stayed at Motel in the Meadow for nine nights during August.It was the 5th time we've spent a week or more there in the past 2 years.The rooms are small but clean and the location and price are excellent!We stay in an efficiency which has a stove,refrigerator,and microwave,The owner,Pat, and her brother Doug are good people and great hosts.We travel with our cairn terrier and he is a welcome guest at no extra charge.I would recommend Motel in the Meadow to anyone traveling with a pet and looking for a nice, inexpensive place to stay.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — No pool (summer)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

We needed a room for a couple of nights with our dog and opted for a room with kitchenette. It was very clean and comfortable and a large field in back for the dog to run. It wasn't fancy but perfect for what we us and we highly recommend the Motel in the Meadow and would gladly stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

We stayed at the Motel in the Meadow over President’s Day Weekend in February 2006. We were looking for an inexpensive motel, and this place certainly fit the bill. It’s probably the cheapest accommodations you’ll find in the area ($65 - $70 a night). It’s nothing fancy, but it’s spotless and very comfortable. Pat, the owner, is a delight. She serves a continental-style breakfast in the mornings with cereal and delicious muffins. We will definitely stay there again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel in the Meadow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel in the Meadow

Address: 936 Route 11, West, Chester, VT 05143
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Motel in the Meadow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In The Meadow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel in the Meadow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.