We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TravelTip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern

Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern to your Saves list
Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern
698 Route 11 West, Chester, VT 05143   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Chester B&B and Inns
Jersey City
1 review
“TravelTip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The food is good but overpriced, the service not so great, and the rooms are dirty beyond repair. In one of the rooms there's insulation hanging out of the wall, the cracks in the floor eat anything you could try to sweep up, it must be so frustrating and impossible for the maids, I think they get it as clean and dustfree as it can possibly be and it still looks dirty. There's water damage on the ceiling in one of the rooms, and not very warm. I felt like I was walking on eggshells. There are a few people that are living there, that also makes me nervous, considering I am missing a few things, but I very well could have easily misplaced them or forgot them at home, I'm just saying it seems risky. Had I known that I probably would not have stayed here. I had a conversation with one of the maids and she had better hospitality than most of the servers. The overall vibe is relaxing, they have nice tv's and entertainment in the dining area, and a nice bar. But other than going to have a drink somewhere, it's not somewhere I would be found

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I had a back room.there was multiple water stains on the ceiling. Room was dusty and stained rugs. rusty baseboards. Stayed 2 niights, did not dine there. Does need some updating. I would not go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

It's October in VT - 40's overnight -yet these owners won't put the heat on-they gave us a space heater for the room! They said it's too early to turn on the heat - but if you run a place for guests to stay and feel comfortable you better put some heat on- Although the bed and sheets were comfortable - the furniture and the floor were dusty-I think under the floor was mopped and dusted when the house was built in 1810. Clumps of dust all over the floor under furniture. The furniture was older than a grandmother would have in her house! Not quaint- just "get me out of here" feeling. The innkeepers are pleasant-but the place needs updating-

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

After being overly stressed the last few days from work, etc; we decided to get in the car and just 'drive north' up 91 for a few hours and find something relaxing. We were directed to the Stone Hearth by chance after stopping at a local beer/wine specialty shop. We could not have asked for anything better!

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.There were several excellent beers on tap, the food (stuffed cod for him and grilled salmon for me with a panko crusted goat cheese appetizer) was absolutely wonderful. The room was $120 with and exceptionally comfortable bed. It was shame it was rainy as the grounds looked beautiful with a fire-pit, corn-hole and ladder ball set up, and lovely garden. Breakfast was light and delicious with homemade scones and fresh fruit.

We will absolutely be back and hope to book the tavern/inn for a night for our closest friends. The innkeeper was generous in offering to provide a meal for all should we book again and set up the grounds with volleyball etc.

I highly recommend the Stone Hearth for a relaxing weekend. Just don't expect things to happen quickly - their motto is 'slow down and enjoy' - so please do so. It's worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorsville, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We recently dined at this local's favorite spot and were delighted with warm historic Vermont atmosphere and a relaxing delicious meal. Our waitstaff was so much fun and the owners are so sweet. We especially loved the house salad with a simple maple balsamic dressing and crumbled local goat cheese. The special 'Blackened Salmon with spinach-mushroom Risotto was devine! What a treat to finish our meal with the Tavern's own hot chocolate chip cookie topped with ice cream, whipped cream & fudge and served in a piping hot iron skillet... Yum!! Price point was a great deal. Highly recommend this place we will return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed for three nights. The price was average for a small room at high season - $158/night. The best part was that the bed was very comfy. The walls were so thin that the people coming and going on the floor below us sounded like they were in our room. When we got back to our room on the second night, our bed was not made. Clearly the maid never got to our room. We discovered too late to do anything about it that we had only 1 bath towel. Breakfast is served (no proteins, but nice fruit) starting at 8:00, and if you want coffee at 7:30 you're out of luck. The place is quite quaint, and the grounds are beautiful, but I doubt we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We didn't stay but instead stopped in for dinner. The food was nothing special. Most dishes could be made in your kitchen at home, and made better. The service was terribly slow. Horribly slow. Forget getting your check. We waited over 30 mins to get ours. Almost walked out.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern

Address: 698 Route 11 West, Chester, VT 05143
Location: United States > Vermont > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn built in 1810 features 10 accommodations (all with private bath), tavern with full bar, library, player piano, sitting room with fireplace and game room with hot tub and cable TV. On 6 acres, one mile to shopping, antiques, dining, theater and recreation. Minutes to several area ski resorts including Okemo, Bromley & Magic Mountains. Near Weston Playhouse, Grafton, Saxtons River, Ludlow, Springfield and Claremont NH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Hearth Inn and Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.