We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome luncheon adventure, artistry abounds in both the craftsmanship of meals and the treasures for sale!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Dog Cafe

Moon Dog Cafe
295 Main St, Chester, VT 05143
(802) 875-4966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Organic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Concord nh
1 review
“Awesome luncheon adventure, artistry abounds in both the craftsmanship of meals and the treasures for sale!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My 7y/o daughter sums it up perfectly...They did EVERYTHING right - nice warm people, great food and made me feel special!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    11
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

After the rave reviews I expected something really special, but was frankly disappointed.
The prepared food under plastic wrap looks unappetizing as was the fly traps with dead flies above the counter. The restroom needed attention as well.
As far as the food was concerned the menu was fairly limited.
The soup we had was however delicious.
And do not expect NYC style cappuccinos. They serve filter coffee with some foam on top.
Perhaps the best in Chester, but a long way off excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york pa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful place with everything from art to ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The toughest part about this place was I wanted to eat one of everything. I settled on ginger ice cream and some champagne truffles. My wife opted for some decadent cookies that she shared with me later. All the food was fantastic. They also had some really neat crafts, soaps and local products. The two women working could not have been more accommodating. Not to mention pleasant looking. I hope I can stop here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Back again at my favorite stop between West Point and Franconia. Besides the warm smiles, I am enjoying a mango habanero chicken breast salad with avocado, goat cheese, and a yummy yogurt dressing. It is worth the five hour drive just to eat here on the way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Moon Dog Cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stopped by here several times and try to support local cafes that sell organic produce and quality goods but the staff is sometimes so unfriendly that it ruins the experience for me. They sell a lot of interesting things and have a comfortable couch where you can sit and have coffee. All it needs is less grouch and a little more pleasantness.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Moon Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.