We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fall Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort to your Saves list
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2940 Route 103, Cavendish, VT 05142   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Fall Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our fall foliage weekend getaway when staying here for two nights this past weekend. We got the Groupon for a two night stay, and the price was much more economical than any other regular rate we could find online within a 50-75 mile radius. The front desk was very friendly upon check-in (Jean, I think), and the staff later in the evening was happy to provide us games to play in our room which we took advantage of.
A couple of things that would have made our stay better - if the pool was open a bit later and if we would have been able to get a king room, but we did book somewhat last-minute.
With some of the comments not being all positive, we weren't sure what to expect, but the rooms were very nice (somewhat standard, but very well appointed and nice color scheme with decorations). Mini fridge with Keurig (though my husband had some difficulties and just filled his cup at the front desk the 2nd day). The mini fridge was the neatest I've ever seen with the eliminated light and I enjoyed the Aveda products in the bathroom. The beds were comfy, and pillows even better - we slept well here (good blackout curtains if you position them right). Our room did face the highway and we couldn't hear any cars passing by.
We spent one morning in the hot tub and pool and enjoyed that, but wish we would have been able to spend time in the neat, (heated!) outdoor pool up at the Castle. We checked it out one night and was hoping to return the next day, but it closed at 7:45pm (we didn't return to the hotel from driving around NH and VT until after that). We originally had reservations for dinner at the Castle, (which we heard was great), but we had to cancel because our driving took us all over back roads of NH & VT and wasn't going to be able to make it back in time. We enjoyed a few places in town to grab a drink and have dinner, so we didn't feel like we missed out on too much.
There was a drop-in yoga class on Saturday morning I was contemplating going to but missed, and I would have loved to have had a facial or massage at the spa, but it just wasn't in the cards for this stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    93
    61
    16
    16
See reviews for
74
111
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The room was perfectly nice and the front staff did their best to accommodate us. The castle above is a must see; the rooms are beautiful and carefully renovated.On the other hand, I do not think the food there is a good value, even with the coupon. Within two miles there are better options.

We had a triple A coupon. so this was a good value at $79 midweek. My complaints are small: the first being that the hotel is right on a highway, so the whoosh of traffic is always there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice facility, location, grounds. Could be a great destination if there is more emphasis placed on hotel security, cleaning, housekeeping, and general management processes and procedures. Great location in between Manchester and Woodstock. Be sure and see Woodstock.

Room Tip: Our courtyard view suite was that of looking at another wing of the hotel. Ask specifically about v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at The Pointe in a very nice King room. It was quiet, comfortable and clean. Parking is all around the building with keycard access from several doors for convenience. The best part was being able to use free of charge the pool, sauna, health club, yoga classes and tennis courts at the top of the hill at Castle Hill. We took our car up the hill but many people walked the steep driveway. The people were friendly, and the pool very quiet. Several children were with parents who really kept them quiet and there was NO running around bothering others. There was even a private place above the pool surrounded by trees for coupes to get a little private time while sunning and being close to a cooling swim. Excellent behavior was expected. We were there in early August and few people at the pool made it very enjoyable. Many people said that Castle Hill's restaurant was very good but quite pricey. The grounds are very well maintained and the service excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield,MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Check in was quick and easy. Room was clean and pleasant. Great location. We had the room at the end of the hall and based on other reviews I was nervous about the noise. But it was fairly quite. We were barely at the hotel so I can't comment on the amenities as we didn't use them. But a keurig and fridge in the room was an added bonus. Overall, worth the $100/night price from groupon

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The first impression is quite nice and the front desk staff was friendly and informative. I'm not sure about 3.5 stars, but it definitely merits three.

We usually reserve a king room but got a deal on a hotel website and ended up with a double queen, which actually worked out well. The extra bed became ideal space for easy access to all our luggage.

Everything seemed new and well maintained. The furnishings were early American and provided for cozy ambiance.

The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were half-size and far too soft.
The room darkening curtains facilitate sleeping in.

The hotel provides Aveda shampoo, conditioner, and bar soap, but there was no body lotion. I don't think I've ever stayed at a 3-star hotel that didn't provide skin lotion.

The bathroom is small - not much room for personal care items - and the tub is too narrow.
One of our key cards didn't work, and the other worked sometimes.

Another missing feature was a full length mirror - always noticeable when it's not there.
There was a mini-refridge, but no microwave.

We loved the Keurig coffee maker, but there was no Half & Half, so you either drink your coffee black, use fake powdered creamer, or make a trip to the lobby to find the real stuff.

I got up and closed the bathroom door at 6:00 a.m. when the shower in the adjacent room came on with a roar.
I could also hear hall noise as people were leaving in the morning. The rooms don't have good soundproofing.

At check-in, the front desk gave us two $25 coupons for the spa up the hill. A couple's massage is normally priced $250 so, had we used the coupons, it would have been $200.

We were also given a $25 coupon for the restaurant on the hill. Neither of us are enough of a "foodie" to spend a hundred fifty bucks eating a meal, minus discount.
We did check out the restaurant though, for grins. It seemed stuffy, pretentious. I wouldn't have enjoyed it at half price.

For what we paid, the room was a good value. I would have been dissatisfied had we paid full price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I am out 100 nights a year. I got this for $65 plus on priceline. its close to 3.5 stars. The property is quiet and rooms are good sized. I asked for an upgrade and was put in a king with bunks even though alone. I ordered "carry out" from the restaurant up the hill and it was excellent though limited menu. There is also room service. There were negative reviews of the restaurant up the hill but if I did not have a major project to work on i would have eaten there. The ambiance is incredible. I would stay on this property again. Ludlow is 2 miles down the road and the restaurants were packed. Many good options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort

Address: 2940 Route 103, Cavendish, VT 05142
Location: United States > Vermont > Cavendish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the natural beauty of the Green Mountains in southern Vermont, and just a short distance from Okemo Mountain, the contemporary and family-friendly The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort and Spa, offers one of Vermont’s most picturesque yet intimate settings for a family vacation, meeting, conference, or ski getaway.With a choice of recently renovated, comfortable and spacious accommodations — rooms with queen or king beds, extra-large family rooms, or family suites — all of our guests at The Pointe Hotel will enjoy the modern conveniences and wide variety of amenities we offer, including flat-screen TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, and bathrooms with complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe, a Castle Hill Resort Hotel Cavendish
Pointe At Castle Hill Hotel
Clarion Cavendish
The Pointe At Castle Hill Resort Vermont/Cavendish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.