We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misrepresented on purpose!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort to your Saves list
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2940 Route 103, Cavendish, VT 05142   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Long Isl New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Misrepresented on purpose!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

They misrepresented the Hotel purposefully, luring guests under the pretense of the real Castle hotel and spa. It is NOT!
On our second day the room was not redone at 4:00 pm after a long day of skiing. We could have over looked this if it were not for the fact that we had no towels to shower for dinner. We asked for towels and were told none were available.We insisted on getting some towels and were finally given four only to realize that they were stained and dirty. Brown water from the shower was the finishing straw that caused us to leave the hotel and cut our ski trip short. We were promised a free breakfast to make up for the missteps by the hotel, they would not give us a refund so we will seek relief from American Express which will back us up and not pay this hotel for their willful false advertising and mis-managment. This is a Clarion property. Find another place!!!

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    93
    61
    16
    16
See reviews for
74
111
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

My family of four just got back from a long Christmas weekend at the Clarion Hotel at Cavendish Pointe. We stayed in one of their new family suites, which made our stay very comfortable. The front desk was friendly and helpful which also added to a nice stay.

We've been going to this hotel for years... its just 5 minutes from skiing at Okemo. We used to stay there because it was a family friendly place -- swimming pool, game room, jacuzzi, restaurant, candy machines, two doubles beds in the room and coffee maker. It didn't used to be anything great, just a clean, safe, hotel with friendly staff, and convenient lodging near the mountain.

This year our stay was much different and much nicer! They have renovated the hotel and added a wing of family suites. The suites are wonderful. Each one has a seperate master bedroom, a living room with a pull out sofa, and a small kitchenette with a stove, refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. Both the bedroom and living room have plasma televisions. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub.

They have a small fitness center, offer wi-fi access for a fee--$10 for two days, and are on the free shuttle bus line to the ski slope.

I've never been all too impressed with their restaurant and this year was no different. I was glad I had a kitchenette to make breakfast and dinner in. There are also some decent restuarants nearby. Try The Hatchery for breakfast and Sam's steakhouse for dinner.

There are some cute stores in town, however for the hardcore shoppers, Manchester Village outlet shopping is @ 45 minutes away.

I'm really happy with the Cavendish Pointe's renovations and will definitely return again.

  • Liked — family suites
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Qc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

We booked 3 nights through Travelzoo. The promotion was advertised as a special from "The Castle Hill resort and Spa" with only references and pictures from the Castle Hill. Although we figured that we were not staying at the Castle itself, we expected the hotel suite to be better than this. Frankly, the Cavendish is totally separated from the Castle Hill and it is very misleading to promote one's stay as though it is all in the same complex.
Yes, the water is brown when you first turn the tap on, the carpets left a lot to be desired with 2 big spots in the room, (looked like remains from previous beer/ski parties), the corridor carpet was dirty and torn in places, 2 hooks on the walls with no pictures at all.
The promo included a bottle of "Champagne", which was a sparkling wine from Spain and the bucket with the empty bottle was left in our room the whole time.
Breakfast was "very" continental and consisted of a tiny basket of muffins. To be fair, breakfast was not included in our deal.
Now that we have been, I can do a search and see that Cavendish Pointe hotel is offering the deal that we booked. That would be fine if that was what we had booked but selling the "Castle Hill" in the promo for a stay at the Cavendish is definetaly not correct. (and suggesting a regular value of nearly 300.00$...I don't think so, oh, but of course, that would be with the multiple vouchers included.)
In Canada, that would be considered misleading advertisement.
(same for the so-called Champagne)

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

My family does a lot of skiing so when we go to Okemo we stay at the Cavendish. Nice size rooms, good restaurant, indoor pool and a separate room where the hot tub is located that you can reserve which is nice. I like that so you don't have to worry about who will be in there with you. They also have a van that goes back and forth to Okemo and a very helpful accomodating staff. One instance my father and my brother went there and my brother young at the time left his stuffed animal and blanket there and they gladly fedexed it home which was good. Another time we got there my mother and i didn't want to do any skiing with my father and brother, we wanted to shop and they let us check in late morning which was a plus. So if you want to ski, shop or both this place is great for families or couples.

Stayed March 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Overall a very nice Clarion(Choicehotels)in a very nice ski town in Vermont.
Positives-nice sized room with 2 comfortable queen beds,nice furniture,nice entry and adjacent to the historic Castle.Gary,the night attendant very personal, a good joke and exemplified genuine Vt hospitality.Clean,comfortable, roomy accomodations

Negatives-not the fault of the hotel but the local water system had an impurity problem which caused the hotel to warn us not to use ANY tap water.They supplied us with adequate bottled water but obviously could not shower or even brush teeth with tap water.Should possibly have had a better discounted rate or warned when making reservation.
The other strange thing was the motel/hotel did not have a Clarion sign or even Choice hotel sign on or near the building,I thought that was quite odd also.
Last negative,no cont. breakfast per se but Gary had coffee made from bottled water and even brought up a few pastry/donuts from the employees area,hats off to Gary.

All in all I would definately stay there again if the water situation was straightened out,but I wonder if there is going to be change of ownership since no sign.For $77 I thought it was fair value.BTW this was the first night we stayed with a Choice hotel,they just started up a buy 2 get one free(limitations)night so we stayed at 4 C Hotels,used one night free and have a nother coming.A good overall price/value relationship when the total cost is divided by 6.

  • Liked — nice sized rooms,beds,furniture
  • Disliked — water problem,should have been warned prior to reserving room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

My wife, son and I had two stays, in June and August of '07. The hotel continues a complete renovation. Convenient to Okemo and adjacent town of Ludlow. Newly renovated rooms are tastefully done with lovely Vermont style furniture, nice bedspreads, very comfortable beds, tiled, if compact bathrooms, and LCD TV'S. Staff extremely nice and very accomadating. Motel feel but with indoor hallways and a nice reception lounge with free web access at one computer, coffee and muffins in the morning. Hope they plan to re-carpet lounge and hallways which now seem a bit drab. Make sure you get a renovated room. Brand new very nice 1 bedroom suites in separate building behind hotel. A nice but chilly indoor pool. Some views from second story rooms only. A ski/winter feel to decor. Adjacent Castle Resort and Spa under same ownship. For $10 a head, guests can purchase an expanded, waiter served continental breakfast in the Castle. Very atmospheric if not soulful. Try the Hatchery in nearby Ludlow for a traditional Vermont breakfast.

  • Liked — Tasteful Decor, Comfortable Beds. Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Renovation in Process
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoHo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Beautiful area of Vermont - we usually feel welcome everywhere we go. We spent one night at this hotel. Positives: Smooth check-in during evening - day staff member was especially pleasant. Our room was very clean and ready upon arrival. Hallways are well-lit and clean. TV was a nice flat panel, some good cable (no premiums in our room), extra pillows & blankets in room, generally quiet, mini-fridge - great. For skiers, note that hot water was very hot -- great shower. Computer/internet in lobby. Games for kids in video game room (glass partioned and in lobby area away from actual rooms - thank you). Negatives: The fitted sheet on our King did not fit properly and this was our biggest complaint as we had to re-make the bed once during the night (hope they read this and get better fitting sheets). Lid on ice-bucket was cracked - we admit we are a bit germ phobic -- but this is not good for a water-based carrier. Our room abutted end driveway and some patrons ran their engines for 10 minutes before leaving (cars were close to our window and this vibrated our bed and to be fair, we noticed it but others might not). We didn't check out the pool. Much superior to the Colonial in Ludlow -- and we got a senior rate.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort

Address: 2940 Route 103, Cavendish, VT 05142
Location: United States > Vermont > Cavendish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the natural beauty of the Green Mountains in southern Vermont, and just a short distance from Okemo Mountain, the contemporary and family-friendly The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort and Spa, offers one of Vermont’s most picturesque yet intimate settings for a family vacation, meeting, conference, or ski getaway.With a choice of recently renovated, comfortable and spacious accommodations — rooms with queen or king beds, extra-large family rooms, or family suites — all of our guests at The Pointe Hotel will enjoy the modern conveniences and wide variety of amenities we offer, including flat-screen TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, and bathrooms with complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pointe, a Castle Hill Resort Hotel Cavendish
Pointe At Castle Hill Hotel
Clarion Cavendish
The Pointe At Castle Hill Resort Vermont/Cavendish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.