We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service friendly and attentive, thank goodness!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Birdseye Diner

Birdseye Diner
4 Main St, Castleton, VT 05735-9009
(802) 468-5817
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Castleton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Service friendly and attentive, thank goodness!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Our waitress was wonderful. Chili and fries were inedible. Chocolate shake was delicious. Overheard regular (local resident) tell waitress that she didn't want the fried chicken overcooked and unable to be eaten like it normally is, and waitress said that they had to cook it a long time, because it is frozen. Fries were cooked so long, I couldn't bite into them. Chili tasted worse than Hormel Chili out of a can (it was also a frozen entree).

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cajun veggie burger not Cajun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have eaten at this diner before and was impressed. (And it is a real diner car, not just a place using the term "diner.") However, this time I was a bit disappointed. It was a Saturday afternoon slightly later than lunch, but the place was still fairly busy. My husband had never eaten here before, and since we were on the way back home, we decided to stop here rather than in nearby Rutland. We both ordered the Cajun veggie burger, but when it arrived there really was nothing "Cajun" about it. I was expecting a spicy patty, but it was just an ordinary veggie burger. We also had a side of sweet potato fries which were way overdone and had no real sweet potato flavor at all. The burgers come with potato chips, and my husband said his seemed to come from the bottom of the package. My husband also had a Coke, which was dispensed using a nozzle/hose like you find in a bar, and he said it was pretty weak. I had a chocolate shake, which is made with hard ice cream and milk in an old-fashioned metal container which they give you along with a glass. Like the "old days" when the shake was larger than the glass and they left it all with you to "top off" your shake. Now, that was good! We also seemed to wait a long time for our order, but it was busy and from watching the plates leave the kitchen it looked like no one ordered anything simple. I think, but don't know for sure, that there was one cook on the line. I wouldn't *not* go there again, but from here on out my expectations may have to be a little lower, and any recommendation will be with a grain of salt.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Walked in on Sunday morning at 10:30 with 4 people, sat right down and had a very good breakfast. Typical diner fare, the service was great - very attentive, pleasant. Doesn't seem like you could go wrong.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Little diner on Main Street in Castleton Vermont.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Friendly people, had the fish fry. Plenty of fish and cooked well. If you like greasy food this is your place. Serves breakfast also.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Vermont, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice little diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stopped by for a late lunch mid-week. Service was great and the food was good. The inside is well maintained to keep that 40s style diner intact. The only little problem I notice was that customers tended to congregate in front of the main entrance/cashier area making it difficult to come in or out especially during busy times. I will definitely go back next time I am in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birdseye Diner also viewed

 

Been to Birdseye Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birdseye Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.