We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in a hidden place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Lantern

Iron Lantern
272 Rt. 4A W., Castleton, VT
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Castleton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ph: (802) 468-5474 ~ Fax: (802) 468-2362 ~ Email: ironlanternrest@aol.com
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great find in a hidden place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you're visiting the Vermont Lakes Region in the vicinity if Lakes St. Catherine, Bomoseen, Sunrise, Sunset, Beebe, or Hortonia you don;t want to miss eating at the Iron Lantern on Rt 4A in Bomoseen, VT. Meals were great and the service was attentive as well. Not sure of what to eat? Just ask a wait staffer and you'll be surprised at what they recommend. Enjoyable meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidandlisaironlant, Owner at Iron Lantern, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks for the review. Glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon.

David and Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Been to the restaurant several times and have always had an excellent meal. The salad bar and soup and bread is wonderful. The scallops are absolutely delicious. Pretty restaurant with accommodating staff. Big portions of chicken parm. House scampi with artichokes and shrimp was yummy, good flavors

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidandlisaironlant, Owner at Iron Lantern, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We work hard to make every dining experience for our customers a great one. Hope to see you again soon.

David and Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Was recommended by other restaurant owner. Food selection, portion and taste was very good. Decent size salad bar and selection. Attentive service. Well priced. Just off Rt 4. Worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidandlisaironlant, Owner at Iron Lantern, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We try hard to have the freshest ingredients for our food and also great service. We hope to see you back soon.

David and Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“The salad and soup bar is excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

One of these days I'll learn to order the salad bar and be satisfied. The entire are quite good, but once you've torn through the salad bar, the soup, and all the specialty salads, you don't have room!

The steaks are very good, and the penne with vodka was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not so good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I'm a big fan of "old-fashioned", so to me, the place is charming. The wait staff was attentive and helpful. The food is not up to par, though. Although the shrimp on the salad bar should be a big plus, it was strange. Rather water-logged and with a sort of grainy texture. I'm not sure what's up with that. The soup of the day was at the bottom of the barrel, and maybe that was the reason, but it was awful. It was supposed to be tomato-cheddar, and all I tasted was cayenne. My baked shrimp stuffed with crabmeat was just acceptable. The crab wasn't noticeable, but it was well-seasoned, and I felt that the portion was small for the price. My companion had what was billed as "maple-glazed" pork chops, but what he got was overcooked pork chops sitting in a pool of syrup. That was just barely edible, and very disappointing, especially for someone who is watching his carbs. I wish them well ... I like places like this to stay in business ... unfortunately, I wouldn't go back unless they make some serious changes in the kitchen.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Lantern also viewed

 

Been to Iron Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Lantern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.