We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific factory tour and yummy cheese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabot Visitors Center & Tour

Cabot Visitors Center & Tour
2878 Main St., Cabot, VT
1-800-837-4261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Attractions in Cabot
Type: Factory Tours, Food & Drink
Activities: Group tours/train, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Location where Cabot cheese and other products are made.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Terrific factory tour and yummy cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Located out in the picturesque country side, we found the Cabot factory tour to be surprisingly good after visiting some of the smaller cheese 'manufacturers' in Vermont (many of whom didn't appear to actually make cheese very often).
Cabot is a large commercial operation. For your $2 you get a rubber wristband or badge to allow you admission on the factory tour. Here you get to see a short film about the history of Cabot cheese which we found quite interesting. You then get to go on a guided tour where you get to see all the different stages of operation through large glass viewing windows. We saw cheddar being made and large commercial size blocks of cheese being packaged. It was very interesting and clean.
After the tour you can spend time tasting many of Cabot's cheeses and other products (their pepper jack is my new favourite cheese - I just wish we could get it here in Australia). There is also a very well stocked shop that sells all manner of things including maple syrup, other cooking products, cheese boards and of course all the Cabot products. We found the prices to be quite reasonable.
Overall, we had a great time and would recommend this to people who like seeing how things are made or who want to try lots of different cheeses.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    77
    24
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheesy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Short tour but windows where you can see things being made. They were working on cheddar this rainy Monday. The only down side is the tasting and shopping areas are very small leaving little room to taste all available, especially with those that dawdle along, savoring and analyzing. We would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This tour was more than we expected and the ability to try so many different cheeses was really great. We are sold on Cabot cheese!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great and affordable family learning experience... and free cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We learned a lot today about cheese. We got to see how it's made, saw a great video about the farmers that supply the milk, and got to try over 20 different kinds of cheese that Cabot makes. My personal favorite was the garlic and herb.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“$2 pp for the cheese tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our tour guide was not pleased about leading the tour, but it was ok. Tillamook does a better job, imo, but the tasting table at the end of the tour was fantastic. They had about 15-20 different kinds of cheese to taste plus dips and popcorn flavorings. There were some great sales on cheddar too. Bring a cooler if it's warm so you can get your haul back. The drive is beautiful!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabot Visitors Center & Tour also viewed

 

Been to Cabot Visitors Center & Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabot Visitors Center & Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.