We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cabot Visitors Center & Tour

Cabot Visitors Center & Tour
2878 Main St., Cabot, VT
1-800-837-4261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Attractions in Cabot
Type: Factory Tours, Food & Drink
Activities: Group tours/train, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Location where Cabot cheese and other products are made.
Indiana
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

You start off watching a short video. It was interesting enough. We then saw them putting cottage cheese into large containers. Next we saw large blocks of pepper jack cheese being made and wrapped. We were then allowed to sample all types of cheese. It wasn't a bad way to spend a rainy day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    77
    24
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
542 reviews 542 reviews
168 attraction reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“AFTER THE COWS COME HOME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Cabot Creamery was a suggested stop by our bed and breakfast vendor. We found the creamery in a scenic and tranquil setting with lots of photo opportunities.

The tour is very inexpensive and lasts about 30 minutes. You get to view all of the stages of cheese making and good explanations from the tour guide. There is also good signage that tells you exactly what you are looking at.

At the end of the tour you are encouraged to taste a large variety of cheese, cheese products and fresh butter. If you find a cheese that you really like it is available for sale.

This is a good tour for families. The children seem to love watching the cheese making process.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, NH
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cabot is a bit out of the way, but it was well worth the drive. The tour was very affordable and provided great info about a company that is a lot more impressive than I realized. It was very interesting to learn about how Cabot does things. And as an added bonus they have a huge variety of free samples. Just make sure to bring a cooler with you, because after all that sampling, chances are high you'll want to buy lots of varieties of dairy products.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Say Cheese!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

For $2pp they have a brief presentation on the history of the Cabot Creamery coop followed by a fairly rapid tour of the creamery itself. The whole thing takes maybe 30 minutes before you are lead into the gift shop to try all of their cheese. We had an opportunity to taste sample of each cheese and we took full advantage! Ended up buying a few blocks as well as their Greek yogurt.

Next time I'd skip the tour and go straight to the cheese tasting!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, CT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Family Destination in Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fabulous tour of the cheese factory and a movie on the history, and lots of cheeses and things to sample, and gifts to buy...great Vermontiana. This place will show the kids the essence of Vermont.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabot Visitors Center & Tour also viewed

 

Been to Cabot Visitors Center & Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabot Visitors Center & Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.