We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the tour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabot Visitors Center & Tour

Cabot Visitors Center & Tour
2878 Main St., Cabot, VT
1-800-837-4261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 attractions in Cabot
Type: Factory Tours
Activities: Group tours/train, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Location where Cabot cheese and other products are made.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Loved the tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This affordable tour took us into the cheese factory. It was quick and fun. The store was filled with free samples of all the various cheeses and the only thing missing was wine. I walked away with an appreciation of the owners, the process and the product.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    58
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cheese Making & Curds and Whey - Very Informative!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went on a great tour of the Cabot Creamery and learned a lot! It takes about 10 pounds of milk to make 1 pound of cheese. They separate the curds from the whey, sell the whey and make the cheese from the curds.

The tour costs $2 per person and is very informative. They really care about the local farmers that supply the milk and quality of the product is #1. Short video, then a tour of the factory.

Great little outlet store to buy numerous cheese products, maple syrup items, clothing and souvenirs. There are all kinds of samples of different cheeses, dips and butter to try as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Interesting to see the whole process!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was a very interesting visit to see the origin of the industry and how everything is made. The staff was very nice and answered all the questions thoroughly and informatively. A great place to visit... especially if you have a love for cheese!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“They do Cheese Right!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We love cheese and we cant get their cheese in Washington so we stop by to give it a try. The last tour of the day was starting 10 minutes after we arrived. In the meantime we were able to sample all the different cheese flavors they make. They had regular cheddar, sharp, extra sharp, jack, jalapeno, and the list goes on. To my surprise I enjoyed the Horseraddish cheese!! When you start the tour you begin with a video that gives the history how the co-op was started and then you go walk down a hall and the process is explained and you get to the cheese being made. It was interesting to see it all happening. Our guide was friendly. We enjoyed our time here and really enjoyed the cheese!! on a side note i think the tour cost $2.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If you like cheese, this is the place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The tour video was interesting and it was cool to see the factory machines at work making both cheese and yogurt. I would definitely call ahead to make sure that the day you visit is a "cheese-making day" or I think the tour would be a bit boring. After the tour, we tried a bunch of samples and purchased some cheeses not available in our local stores. It was worth the $2 admission price for sure, and it's also nice to support the local dairy farmers.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabot Visitors Center & Tour also viewed

 

Been to Cabot Visitors Center & Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabot Visitors Center & Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cabot Visitors Center & Tour to your Saves list