We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darkness before Customer” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cat Cafe

Blue Cat Cafe
1 Lawson Lane, Burlington, VT 05401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Cat Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 216 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Wine Bar, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Orford, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Darkness before Customer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Highly recommended by a friend. We went for an early dinner. Place quite dark and we were seated at a table with 'marginally' more light, except, seats were so soft that one couldn't adjust to get comfortable. Ok they put us at the bar. It was very dimly lit and the answer was to put the menu/wine list under the bar where it was lighter. Fine if being able to read the menu with small print was doable! We ordered. There were 3 parties including us at this time. Our wait staff was very interested in talking to customers and had to be reminded food was out waiting to be given to customer. Our food was then put out on a table and she again was reminded food was out on this counter (no heat lamp) but was more interested in giving wine samples to another table.
Food was excellent. However these little incidents and somewhat lacking service were annoying. We got the check and again it was too dark to read it asking for a flash light produced a flashlight that was hardly functioning - ugh. When I remarked that it would be nicer if there was a 'little' more light - the flip answer was
"Well we like it dark and romantic". Up til then we might have considered returning to give it another chance. Now we definitely would not think of it. It was too pricey to risk another chance with some many good restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Delicious, tender steak. Small place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Definitely make a reservation, and if it's winter, ask that it not be by the door. I was a little put off by the waitress who seemed insulted that we didn't have a reservation!

the steak was excellent. The options seemed a bit too limited for my preferences when it came to sides and cuts of meat.

I enjoyed it, it would be a perfect romantic date setting. I'll go back and hope for more options next time.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A new find but one of the finest restos in Burlington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Really great atmosphere, food and service - it is small (read that as intimate) but they know how to seat and treat you - extensive wine list - top notch Angus steaks and fresh seafood - local produce - owners always on site for discussions - my first visit and it made it to the top of my list of restaurants in Burlington - would go back anytime I needed a special time with a special friend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Steaks & Service? Yes, please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were welcomed at the Blue Cat for a late meal last fall. It was the wonderful antithesis of the noisy and rude Leunigs- the atmosphere was quite and chill. The server was so attentive and nice. And to top it off, we had the most delicious steaks! I totally recommend this wonderful, small restaurant for a romantic night out.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quirky, might return ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My girlfriend and I had a late dinner on a a Saturday night. Started well - intimate setting, polished and well paced service, and the right amenities in the right places at the right time. The food relies a little heavily on salt for flavor, a surprise at a quality restaurant. Also slightly off putting was the habit of the owner, flanked by various staff members coming and going, standing in a line behind the bar, arms folded, staring down each table. Positive intentions, perhaps, but who needs this much attention from the staff. Overall, we'll give it one more shot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Cat Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Cat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cat Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.