We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere but you might leave hungry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Skinny Pancake

The Skinny Pancake
60 Lake St., suite 1A,, Burlington, VT
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 210 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Eclectic, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Rutland, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but you might leave hungry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Great little restaurant that everyone loves. Food is fresh and tasty with many options. However, the service is slow and the staff seem disinterested. Tables are often left dirty. I can see past these things but I can't overlook the fact that you pay a fairly high price for a meal that doesn't leave you full. That's the ultimate dilemma. Order two creeps and poutine then you'll be happy.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    119
    52
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent crepes - great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

These are NOT traditional American pancakes, so raise your sophistication meter a notch or two and enjoy nice French crepes served in a surprising number of ways - most with local ingredients. Great selections for either Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner.

In particular, I liked the message on the T-shirts worn by the wait staff "Do you know where your food comes from?" The coffee is also excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The interesting crepes are wonderful. Service is quick and the presentation is fun. Even the silverware is unique. Be prepared to walk quite a bit to find the bathroom. It is not in the restaurant. I guess it is part of the charm. We will be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Local food choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a cafe kitty corner from the ECHO museum down by the water front . There is public parking lot close by. It is a small place but has many choices of skinny pancakes. Because they had been busy over the presidents weekend many of their choices had run out. I enjoyed a great lunch of a beet and cheese crepe sitting at a high top table enjoying the sun streaming thru the window. The mint ice was wonderful and they give free refills. Because of the crowd it took a while to be served. They post the local farms they buy their produce from.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Drearily Plain Pancake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was staying at a hotel close by and just grabbed a breakfast crepe to go. I got the Pesto Riser, which sounded fantastic. But in the end I was kind of disappointed to the pancake not being all that skinny and the pesto not really tasting like pesto, or anything really. It was just bland. I thought it was odd that a breakfast crepe came with a side salad, but I'm glad it did because I ended up pouring the dressing on the pancake to give it a little more oomph. It wasn't bad but, I certainly was not impressed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skinny Pancake also viewed

 

Been to The Skinny Pancake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Skinny Pancake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.