We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vermont

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vermont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vermont
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Cherry St, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Go for the Top upgrade
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Burlington
Albany, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here after a wine tasting at Shelburne Farms. The room was small, the bathroom large. Everything was VT - thats where they get the name. Anyways we were only here for one night but it was very enjoyable. We used the gym which was a good size with some very good equipment we basically had it all to ourselves. The location was perfect since we were looking for a spot where we could walk to church street since we knew that we would be eating and drinking out and didn't want to drive. We will stay here again if we find ourselves in Burlington.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    41
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
48
86
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We truly enjoyed our brief stay at Hotel Vermont. Burlington is a charming city and the hotel is at an excellent location near both downtown and the water. The ambiance is modern yet warm and inviting- lots of wood and stone very tastefully used. The staff is excellent - friendly and very helpful. I believe they enjoy working there and helping the guests. Our room was very nicely decorated and we had a nice view of the lake in the distance. I loved the indirect lighting under the bed and around the bathroom mirror. By all means, try the blueberry pancakes for breakfast - an unexpectedly awesome treat. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Recently stayed a week at the Hotel Vermont in a top floor king room. Rooms are nice. Minimalist if you are into that kind of thing. Although there were some shelves in the wardrobe closet, I would have loved a small dresser to actually put my clothes vs. trying to pile everything in the closet. Toilet and shower are separated, which is a nice feature. Bed was very comfortable. I really liked that the coffee/tea supplies were in the hall on each floor vs the individual rooms. That way I had all the access to condiments that I needed vs. the few that most hotels give you per day. Juniper is a nice bar/restaurant. We had drinks and desert. The coconut cake is fabulous. Location is good, pretty short walk to anywhere downtown. Decent hotel. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were visiting Burlington over New Years and in town for a wedding. (Ours, and another couples). Everything about this hotel is unique and different. It is completely opposite if the big chain hotels--and that's a good thing. Check in was efficient and friendly. The lobby exudes a lodge with the natural woods, stone, art, furniture and fireplace. We stayed in a standard king room on the second floor, just opposite the beverage center. Each floor, as you've probably read has a little beverage station where you can get Keurig coffees (and sometimes hot chocolate), hot tea (variety) and sparking and still water (from a fountain--each room as glass pitchers--like old milk pitchers), as fresh fruit. Even the ice--it was a small bag in a freezer under the counter. You just take the bag back to your room. No giant, noisy ice machines clunking out ice. Loved it! (especially since we were right next to this area)

THE ROOM. Unique sliding doors/panels that shut off all or part of the shower/sink and opposite that one for the toilet/sink. I liked that they were separate and could be shut off from the rest of the room. We had the room right over the entrance. It is a full wall of glass. Nice, but in the bitter cold, you could really feel the chill standing near it. (the window did have a great diffusion screen as well as a black-out shade. Each were operated separately). There was a desk where you had your "lodgey" ice bucket, water bottle, glasses. Hotel/Local information was stored in a rustic case that looked like an inter-office memo, but made out of fabric. The large Samsung TV was mounted to the wall so you could watch from the bed or from the recliner chair. No on demand or premium cable but the front desk does loan out HDMI cables so you can watch/stream movies from your laptop. Wifi was VERY GOOD. Bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable. Pillows were sizable and supportive. Down blanket was heavenly. Each room as a rolled wool blanket which was wonderful to wrap yourself in if you didn't want to be under the bed covers or if you were reading in the recliner. Suites have a larger, heavier flannel blanket made locally from the Vermont Flannel Company. We loved that one so much we bought one to have at home! (The store is right down the street from the hotel on Church Street, FYI). Overhead lighting on the bed was great--and I'll say it again, unique. Underbed lighting was cool, but un-necessary. I would have preferred NO lighting if it meant additional room storage. That would be my only complaint. Lack of storage/drawers. There are two shelves, a cubby and a hanging rack...that's it. That and no safe. Seems odd that a boutique hotel wouldn't have in-room safes, but I've heard from the GM that they are putting those in later in the year. Bath amenities were terrific. Our room had a large walk-in shower with a rain shower head. Sinks were large and modern. The room was SPOTLESS.

My only MAJOR complaint was the sensor in the room that controls power/heat. I understand (and applaud) the purpose--to cut down on wasting electricity, but far too regularly we would be in bed reading (with the dead bolt activated as instructed) and the lights would all go out. We would get out of bed, re-do the dead bolt--sometimes 2-3 times to get the lights back on. A few times we just gave up and sat in the dark watching TV.

We never ate at the restaurants, but the menus, dishes, venues looked wonderfully rustic and special. We did enjoy the bar off the lobby. Unique (sorry!) crafted cocktails and spirits including hot toties that we would enjoy by the fireplace was a great way to spend an afternoon and people watch, read or even play games (they have a small selection available in the lobby)

The gym was huge for a non-chain, boutique hotel. Very impressive equipment range in excellent shape. The in-house masseuse (Cara) was incredible. I would highly recommend her services.

They have a couple outdoor venues, that while out of use due to weather would be great places in better weather to hold events, socials, cocktails or look out over the lake. (partial view). There is a fire pit with seating that we would have enjoyed if it wasn't -20.

The STAFF. Wow. Exceptional. They went above and beyond for our wedding and made us feel wonderful. Our wedding was different in that we were only the four of us and a few witnesses with the officiant. It wasn't a big ceremony let alone a reception. We did short, civil ceremonies that combined, only took about 20 minutes. Nonetheless the staff showed us two room that we could 'borrow' for that short time to hold our ceremonies. They cleaned it up for us and made it presentable. When we got back to our room we had chocolate covered strawberries and a delightful hand-written note from the staff congratulating us on our wedding(s). NICE TOUCH. Other staff would wish us well and their congrats when we would walk in the lobby or inquire at the front desk. Even sitting at the fire place, a staff member would come around to guests in a very subtle way asking if they needed anything.

We can't wait for a reason to return to Burlington and stay at this UNIQUELY VERMONT hotel again. HATS OFF and polite golf claps all around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We planned our trip to Vermont in October of 2013. My partner and I (along with another couple) decided to spend New Year's in Burlington. Also, each couple decided to get married. So we planned a little wedding getaway a couple days after Christmas thru New Year's Day. It was pretty easy finding this hotel as it was the highest rated hotel in the area and also brand new. After looking at the pictures we booked immediately because we could tell it was very modern and definitely our taste.

The hotel staff was amazing! They were super accommodating and always around when you needed something. Since Burlington was very cold during our stay, we ended up needing a space indoors for our small wedding ceremony. We asked the hotel if we could borrow one of their small conference rooms and they were quick to help us out. We got to the room to find it was cleaned up and empty for both couples to get married. We didn't really have any guest (only 8 people total) so the room worked out perfectly. Also, the hotel staff sent up a lovely congrats card to each couple with some chocolate covered strawberries.

As for the accommodations...we were VERY pleased!! The king room that our friends booked was very small and very Euro feeling. It was fine for two people and quite cozy actually. Their room had a shower and vanity room and the toilet was in a separate water closet across from the shower room. And the room was spotless and still smelled brand new.

My husband and I opted for the very large one bedroom suite which was phenomenal!! It had a large living room with a comfy sofa and a few side chairs and one VERY huge television. Then there was a dining area and a huge wet bar area with sink and refrigerator. Then the large separate bedroom that could become private by the sliding doors. And of course the bathroom which had a separate door to the bedroom as well as the main door. The entire suite was so clean and spotless...it was very impressive and one of the cleanest and well put together hotel suites we had stayed in as of late.

On each floor near the elevators the hotel setup "coffee stations" which was stocked with a Keurig coffee maker and had a variety of coffees and hot chocolate. They also had a hot water dispenser and several types of tea along with cream, sugar and the like. Underneath was a fridge with individual bags of ice that fit perfectly in the ice bucket in all the rooms. We loved that!

We sat in the lobby one day and people watched, had a couple beverages, read, played on our iPad and just relaxed. It was super cold out and the fireplace was going. It was much like staying in a lodge of some sort and quiet warm and cozy.

We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't review the food. But I heard from other guests that the food was very good and they had a healthy menu with quite a few options. We did however utilize the bar for several drinks over the 5 days we were there. The bar staff were all great. They also had an espresso machine so I had a couple mocha's during our stay as well...forget Starbucks!

Overall it was a perfect stay! We loved the hotel and can't wait to return (most likely when it's warm). I'm an avid traveler and have been in a ton of hotels and The Hotel Vermont is now on my list of my top 5 favorites in the world. If you end up going to Burlington, book at this hotel and you'll be very pleased.

Room Tip: If you can, opt for one of the large one bedroom suites, you'll be glad you did! It's basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel. The room was absolutely gorgeous with an earthy-feel to it. They have the biggest showers I have seen in my life. The staff was very friendly and informative. This was my first time in Burlington and I will absolutely be going back to stay at the Hotel Vermont.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent two nights at New Year's at this relatively new hotel. It has a wonderful style. The lobby has a lounge area that flows into a nice bar area and a restaurant. The place is stylishly furnished and designed both rustic and contemporary. The staff could not have been more helpful and enjoyable. We are looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vermont

Address: 41 Cherry St, Burlington, VT 05401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vermont 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vermont is downtown Burlington's new independent LEED Certified hotel. Hotel Vermont offers 125 guest bedrooms, 2,700 square feet of function space, and two outdoor terraces with views of Lake Champlain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Vermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vermont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.