We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls night away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vermont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Vermont to your Saves list
Hotel Vermont
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Cherry St, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Burlington
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Girls night away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A friend and I met in Burlington to enjoy bicycling along lake Champlain. We loved our stay at the Hotel Vermont. Nthe staff was very friendly and caring, the space is minimalist but very chic with excellent textures and materials that give it a very modern relaxing atmosphere. Rooms and hallways very clean. Loved the Keurig coffee! Also, enjoyed the live music that was playing in the lounge area after a full day out. The only draw back, were the blinds, which did not keep out quite enough early morning light. Location is terrific.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    52
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
65
110
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Hook, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Incredibly friendly staff when you walk in the door, and not just the desk workers- anyone that makes eye contact with you. Clean, classy place in a great location just two blocks from shopping, food, and the waterfront. Plenty of garage or street parking where ever you'd like.

Rooms, bathrooms, and hallways were beautiful, as was everything else. My only complaint, if I had to name one, was that I envisioned the rooms being slightly bigger given the price. Nonetheless, the huge windows and terraces on the first and second floors make up for it.

Can't go wrong with this place. Sets a new standard, in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winooski, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The bathroom had not been cleaned between guests, evidenced by a dirty toilet and sink. The windows were streaky. I found trash on the bedside table from previous guests. The outside walls were hardly soundproof. The quality of construction was poor for a new and modern hotel. As for Juniper, there are certainly better restaurants in Burlington. The food was overly salty and poorly prepared for enjoying textures and flavors. The chef needs more experience. Additionally, the floor was dirtywith leftover construction dust. Do they not clean anywhere? Nothing about this hotel screamed "Vermont" to me except the trying-too-hard Vermont Magazines on the desks and the wasted sap buckets filled with dying plants. There were no eco-friendly or "green" updates that I would have expected of new construction. As for the "Vermont" wood and stone, the 600 miles they traveled for various building supplies covers a lot more than the Green Mountain State. Fake. I will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans v, General Manager at Hotel Vermont, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable insight and feedback about your experience at Hotel Vermont. We are terribly sorry for the short fall in housekeeping, and there is no excuse for less than immaculate rooms. That being said, this information will greatly aid us in the training of our team members and the implementation of procedures to ensure that similar instances do not occur in the future.

We are so glad that you mention the relationship of Hotel Vermont to the state of Vermont. Hotel Vermont is locally owned and we feel extremely fortunate to be able to have access to, and share with our guests, the incredible resources available in our state. Your comments remind us to provide better ways to communicate the story of Hotel Vermont with our guests and steps to do so have been taken and I want to thank you for pointing out this shortfall and opportunity.

In order to provide context to the effort that went into developing Hotel Vermont, and to the benefit of readers of this review, the following highlights may explain who we are and what our guests may expect when staying at Hotel Vermont. I apologize in advance for the lengthy response.

From local architects Smith Buckley, to local interior design firm Truex Cullins Interiors, to local general contractor PC Construction to numerous local subcontractors including Lacaillade Masonry, a family business from Huntington, Vermont, steel contractors from Morrisville, concrete manufacturers from Middlebury and other local electricians, plumbers, carpenters, painters, etc. Hotel Vermont is a "grounds up" local hotel, providing close to a hundred construction jobs over an 18 month period in our area.

Tens of additional local partnerships were carefully built with Vermont companies and artisans highlighting Vermont products and materials throughout the common spaces and in the bedrooms. A few examples of this include: reclaimed, antique oak wood floors in Juniper Bar and Restaurant, sourced from Marshfield, lobby furniture made by Beeken Parsons in Shelburne using 100% sustainably harvested timbers from Shelburne Farms, restaurant furniture and lobby sectional by Barre artisan Robert Beal, cabinetry and oak paneling (12,000 linear feet!) by Tom Moore and Sons from Underhill Center, Vermont. The polished cement floor in our lobby is by Mike Frost from Charlotte with shells and stones from Charlotte and Shelburne beach along the shores of Lake Champlain. Architectural ceilings, bell carts and iron details were made by artist Larz Allen, Jeffersonville, Vermont.

All art in the public spaces as well as the bed rooms is created by Vermont artists, highlighted by the large artwork in the main lobby by West Hartford, Vermont artist Duncan Johnson made entirely from found wood. We have videos available about Duncan as well as local crafts and artisan partners; Trip Advisor does not allow posting of links and we will make these available through our website shortly.

Through a partnership with Lunaroma Aromatherapy in Burlington, Vermont we developed our own line of natural and organic bath products. Our 100% woolen blankets in the hotel rooms were made by Johnson Woolen Mills from Johnson, Vermont - a 4th generation family business, pre-dating the Civil War (1842).

Juniper Restaurant is where our on-going partnerships with the local partners flourishis! From whey-fed pork from Waitsfield, to our dedication to showcase every Vermont distilled liquor made by the 12 craft distilleries in our state. Vermont born, raised and trained chef Doug Paine embraces every seasonally available resource our state has to offer, grown and produced by dozens of local farms, bakeries and other food suppliers.

The entire team at Hotel Vermont, over 75 Vermonters whose livelihood is connected to the success of Hotel Vermont, is extremely proud to share all the above, and many more local products and experiences with guests of the hotel. Everyone cares deeply about our state, our community, our hotel and most of all about providing a warm and welcoming environment to our guests.

We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations during your visit, and we do look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Vermont at which time it would be my honor to personally share Hotel Vermont's story with you and provide a tour of our hotel. Please feel free to call me directly at 802-651-0080.

Hans van Wees - Host and General Manager at Hotel Vermont
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I am old hat with spending time in Vermont. I was passing through Vermont on the way back from a trip through Quebec/Ontario and decided to spend a night in Burlington. I choose the Hotel Vermont because I got the feeling from their website that it would be a unique Vermont experience, and that was correct all the way! The property is boutique in nature, however has the hotel room size and amenities of a regular big city hotel. The hotel screams quintessential Vermont with the lobby, rooms, and restaurant mostly made out of Vermont wood, granite and stones from Lake Champlain. The rooms are brand new (so is the hotel), bathrooms quite large, all of superior quality, many offering sweeping views of lake Champlain. The staff is fantastic and has a new vibe to them that is fully customer centered. You will leave this hotel with the feeling I received, "damn that is a cool place." Juniper Restaurant located within is fantastic, and exceeds by far your typical hotel restaurant. You can tell the lounge and patio with Lake Champlain views is becoming a hot spot for young happening professionals. Your best bet for a hotel in Burlington!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Our experience started with a friendly staff member greeting us at the door and offering to valet the car and bring our bags to the room. The person at the front desk remembered me from when I called in my reservation. The room was exactly as it appeared in the pictures on the site (I can't remember the last time that happened). The room has all the function you need and expect and does it with incredible style. Breakfast in the dining room was stupendous. Great service again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I return to visit Burlington annually. This year, we discovered that spending two nights, early in June, at the Vermont was a very special treat. Reminiscent of the best in rusty resorts, the hotel offers enjoyable surprises and top quality, and were charmed by the attention we received from the efficient and friendly staff services. From the minute we stepped into the lobby, we noticed the unique architecture of this building. We were attracted by the woodwork and the layout of the ground floor. We found the room we stayed in, simple and spotless. It contained novel gadgets new to us which we found functual and were appreciated. Later, we enjoyed eatine in the restaurant.
We intend to describe our delightful experience to our friends, especially to those who plan to visit this region. And not least, we look forward to return to the Vermont when we next visit Burlington.
Ilon and Dan Bavly,

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying on the sixth floor, and the view from it/
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

we stayed here last weekend during the Burlington Marathon. What a great addition to downtown! Room was brand new! Very comfortable and relaxing. There are local influences found throughout the hotel from locally made hand soap in the rooms bathroom to the Johnson woolen blanket found in the room. Really appreciate businesses supporting other local businesses. Looking forward to another trip to B-Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vermont

Address: 41 Cherry St, Burlington, VT 05401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vermont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vermont is downtown Burlington's new independent LEED Certified hotel. Hotel Vermont offers 125 guest bedrooms, 2,700 square feet of function space, and two outdoor terraces with views of Lake Champlain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vermont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.