We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Great Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Corners of the Earth

Four Corners of the Earth
310 Pine St, Burlington, VT 05401
802-657-3869
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 188 Restaurants in Burlington
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Great Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I would drive again for 4 hrs just for this sandwich! The austrian egg sandwich was just too good. The ambience is very ethnic and has a very homely feeling. Must Go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great SandWich!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Try the austrian egg sandwich, just too good. The ambience was great and the owner was very friendly!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Worth The Wait For These Artisanal Hand Crafted Incredible Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you're in a hurry for a Sandwich or Salad, either call in your order or don't come here.
But if you're willing to wait for an Artisanal Hand Crafted Sandwich, your taste buds will be rewarded with each incredible bite.

We found out about Four Corner Of The Earth in Burlington, Vermont when our older daughter worked there. (She now lives in Argentina.) The owner, Latso, a Slovakian born artist (some say he was raised by Carpathian Mountain wolves), has created amazing sandwiches that have some sort of mixture of herbs, sauces, spices, vegetables (and meats for meat eaters) that when combined in his beautifully designed proportions, just light up the brain whenever we take a bite.

These are not build your own sandwiches, though Latso will add and subtract ingredients upon request. Better to trust his judgment. Last time we were there we had Eqyptian Eggplant and Jamaican avocado. The avocado and European cucumbers were so fresh that he cut open an avocado and diced the cucumber in front of us.. Another time we had Argentinian Beef. Every sandwich has always been excellent.

Notes: Bring cash (two sandwiches and drinks could run around $20); Don't be in a hurry for your
sandwich. If you can, arrive early or late when things aren't as busy or call it in before the rush.

Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mmmm... Quirky!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Came up from Shelburne to pick up a few varieties of sandwiches to go after a recommendation from a coworker. Loved chatting with the owner and admiring the decor while they were being made. Without compromising the style they have going on in there, it'd be nice to know a bit more about what is on each sandwich rather than having to ask the ingredients for each one. But ill definitely be back, they were very good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Honestly the best sandwiches ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Do not go to this quaint, out of the way shop if you're in a hurry. BUT if you have some time to spare, you're in for a treat you'll remember for a long, long time. It took about 30 minutes for four of us to receive the sandwiches we ordered but it was so worth the wait. And the owner suggested we try his excellent coffee. I did and it was as promised - excellent. So four totally different, unique sandwiches, good drink, served in a highly eclectic atmosphere... Great experience and definitely worth the trip! I highly recommend this place!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Corners of the Earth also viewed

 

Been to Four Corners of the Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Corners of the Earth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.