We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Irresistable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penny Cluse Cafe

Penny Cluse Cafe
169 Cherry St, Burlington, VT 05401-3817
802-651-8834
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 203 restaurants in Burlington
Cuisines: American, Diner, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Potsdam, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply Irresistable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I don't know how they managed to fit in our good-sized group on a busy Sunday morning, but they did. The wait staff were friendly, and made excellent recommendations. The food was delectable, both hearty and flavorful. We will certainly go back, and yes, it is worth waiting for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    224
    81
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wait for it, if you must. The outside lines are worth every minute.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Fortunately, I was dining alone, so I avoided the line and went straight to the counter. For brunch.

Perfect eggs. The best home fries/house potatoes I've ever had. Always hot coffee. Organic jam.

I would've stayed for lunch but I was stuffed.

Bravo, Penny!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Went on a whim and was very happy. Offerings were great and the food was fresh and relatively fast. Something for everyone there, will definitly go back next time I'm in BVT

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast/brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the place to go for a real American breakfast - better than most Americans have at home! I went with two locals, who often go here for breakfast before heading to work. However, there is usually a long line, so they called in advance to reserve a table (and we still had to wait). Since there were three of us, I had the chance to taste more than I could have ordered myself. Everything was delicious.

We had Buckwheat Pancakes (3 for $7.00), Cinnamon Raisin French Toast ($7.00), and the Belber Combo ($10.25), which is 2 French Toast or Pancakes, 2 eggs any style, Choice of Home Fries, Ham, Bacon or Sausage on the side. Since we couldn't get enough, we also ordered Banana Bread with Maple-Walnut Cream Cheese ($3.50) and the small Fresh Fruit Plate ($3.50).

I will definitely go here again when I'm back in Burlington.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurium, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just what we were hoping for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were hoping for a late breakfast/brunch at noon before we had to board our flight. We went with a local who had stated that this was her favorite place for breakfast. We did have a 40 minute wait, but this was not a problem for us as we went for a walk.

Great choices and we were all pleased. Service was wonderful. Will be returning to this restaurant if/when I get back to Burlington.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny Cluse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Penny Cluse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny Cluse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.