We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwaters

Sweetwaters
120 Church St, Corner of Church and College Sts, Burlington, VT 05401
(802) 864-9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 188 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Sweetwaters is an American Bistro with an unique twist on your favorite eats. For over 30 years, we've been serving fantastic cuisine with local ingredients in a family-friendly atmosphere in the heart of Burlington, on the corner of College and Church Streets on the charming Church Street Marketplace. Architecturally interesting, Sweetwaters is housed in what was the original site of the Burlington Trust Company. Built in the 1880s, the building retains its original mouldings, cornerstone, clock and architectural appointments. With a full bar, extensive menu, unique interior, and plenty of indoor and outdoor seating, Sweetwaters certainly has something for everybody. We serve lunch and dinner daily, with a late night menu for all you night owls out there.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great burgers!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Everytime we go to Burlington, we have to go to Sweetwaters!! My husband has the Bison burger, I have the Angus burger - with sweet potato fries...the best hamburgers we have ever had! We will definitely be back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you Avidtraveller44, are burgers and sweet potato fries do have quite the following! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    119
    54
    29
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, need more staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We decided to eat there and a beautiful day and sat outside. The waiter was very polite and took our order; 4 drinks and 4 burgers. The poor guy was running from table to table trying to keep up with his area. We wanted to leave after 45 minutes of waiting and wanted to go somewhere else but we couldn't even get the waiters attention to pay for our drinks becuase he was so busy. Overall, the food was good, service was just too slow. Make sure you place your entire order the first time. We are plan on returning to Burlington soon but not sure we would come back to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks Dave and Patty, your review is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beyond flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A great outdoor eating experience - great food and people watching as well. Friendly & always tasty!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sweet waters has a menu that could cater to young and old. There haddock with mash potatoes is excellent but they don't have it on the menu anymore but if you ask for it they will make it, there mussels are exceptional not to mention there French onion soup, I also love there beet salad but always ask for extra sauce sometimes they don't put enough. For desert there apple crumb pie with vanilla ice cream is sinfull but you will have to share, one person cannot eat the whole pie. Great value for your money

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Roula, thank you for sharing your menu tips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Extensive gluten free menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very nice gluten free menu. Food was great, service was great, prices were no more than for a regular meal. I am very impressed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for posting Teenk. The gluten free menu is well received. It is not requested much but when it is, people really appreciate it. Thanks for the shout out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwaters also viewed

 

Been to Sweetwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwaters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.