We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible food, terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shanty On The Shore

Shanty On The Shore
181 Battery St, Burlington, VT 05401-5211
802-864-0238
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 210 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Vermont
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“terrible food, terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I'll never go back. The seafood is mediocre, I had bugs in my food and as a seafood allergic person, the regular food there is terrible. the only thing they have going for them is location, which is nice overlooking the lake, but not worth it for the food.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    62
    41
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Fresh seafood at a decent price. Started off with lobster bisque which was very enjoyable. Salad was fresh and so was the coleslaw. The mac and cheese that came with my meal was also good. We had paella, lobster, fish and chips, swordfish, and scallops. Everyone was happy with their meals, which doesn't happen too often. Staff pleasant too and a nice view of Lake Champlain. I'd definitely go back and recommend to others.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great seafood; great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Shanty is a "go to" place for this happy couple. No reservations, but call-ahead seating cuts down on the wait during busy times.
Food: whole-belly fried clams are incredible; home-made mac & cheese is a delicious side dish; all meals come with excellent cole slaw, but I still often order a salad because it's so good; my partner swears by the escargot; lobster and shrimp au gratin is also a favorite, and chowder is excellent.
If you're there during one of the seasonal fests (lobster-mainia, crab fest, shrimp fest, etc.) which occur when that particular seafood is at peak season, enjoy the specials that are offered.
Desserts are HUGE, but delicious
Servers are friendly and helpful; casual without being too casual.
And ya gotta love the views of Lake Champlain!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the few restaurants along the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The food's always consistent here. The waitstaff is GREAT and you can always find a great fish dish while you stare at the sunset over the Adirondacks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not as good as the reviews said”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I had something they "called" paella, but it was really just some mussels, clams and a few pieces of shrimp served over some very salty rice. The rice tasted like it was a package mix I could buy at the grocery store. Sooo NOT real paella. I told the waitress that it was overly salty and she said "oh I'll tell the kitchen" smiled and kept on moving. In fact she was very pleasant and smiled alot but really was not interested to the answers to her questions of how is the food etc.

The scenery is nice, right on the waterfront and if you want a lobster in Burlington, I guess it is where to go, especially during lobsterfest. 2 Maine lobsters for $25. My friend had the lobster and she was satisfied. I was very disappointed in my meal and the wine was very overpriced for what it was. Don't need to ever go back, especially with so much good food in Burligton.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanty On The Shore also viewed

 

Been to Shanty On The Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanty On The Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.