We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Switchback Brewing

Switchback Brewing
160 Flynn Ave, Burlington, VT 05406
(802) 651-4114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 60 things to do in Burlington
Attraction details
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Although not the most well known brewery in the area, Switchback is definitely worth a visit. There is no cost to try the beer, and the staff is super friendly. Daily tours of the production facility are offered.
From what I understand, Switchback only offers two beers to sample at any given time. They have one staple ale, and a rotating tap, but they are good. There is a small gift shop on location which is stocked with clothing apparel, as well as 22oz bottles of their beer for purchase.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stopped in Switchback Brewery for a tasting, they only had two beers on tap. Flagship Switchback and a porter. Both were good beers. Small tasting area with various merchandise. Didn't take a tour (not sure if any were available) but you could see a good portion of the brewery thru a window in the tasting room. Pretty cool. Its worth a stop, friendly staff. thought there would be more on tap. Wasn't familiar with brewery before arriving. Free tasting

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon Vermont
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped in to sample the beer.was awesome.had a great selection of t-shirts,colors and sizes.also glasses with their logo.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Basic tasting room but free beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Was in the Burlington area to try out a few breweries so we needed to stay here. The brewery is in an industrial area of town. The tasting room is fairly basic with some merch and one tap station where the friendly workers will pour you a few samples of what they have on tap. I believe that day there were 2-3 on tap. There is a window that overlooks the production space which is fun to check out. The best part was that the beer was free. Winner in my book.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fun and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

After realizing how close many of the breweries were, we embarked on the Brewery Tour and in spite of the lack of adequate signage to identify the brewery, we were more than happy upon our arrival. The staff of young ladies were outgoing, friendly, and knowledgeable as they explained the brewery's history and products. The Ale and Porter were both tasty and we purchased some to enjoy back home in NJ. We purchased tee-shirts and a glass, which were both reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Switchback Brewing also viewed

 

Been to Switchback Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Switchback Brewing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.