We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational for young and old!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center

ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center
1 College St., Leahy Center for Lake Champlain, Burlington, VT 05401
802-864-1848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 60 things to do in Burlington
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Educational for young and old!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I wandered through the centre one chilly afternoon and found the displays were very informative. Although they are mostly aimed at children, the information is presented at a variety of age levels. I felt comfortable walking through on my own. The displays were interactive and fun. I gained lots of local knowledge about the history if the area. Loved the video boat tour!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    79
    57
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Could be great if...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visited with 6 year old and husband...the staffers are friendly. Price is kind of high to get in...child really liked the "make your own weather report" activity. Other than that, it seemed like it a very big building full of exhibits with knobs to pull that did or didn't work. The best animals were not in regular exhibits, they were in the "animal care room". First floor is a giant gift shop, look out. We were hoping for something more guided, perhaps a lecture or something. I just don't think that the price we paid matched the value of the visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good for a rainy day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It was an interesting place but a little expensive what you actually get. My favourite feature was the virtual boat trip around the lake using the webcam. But other than that it was just okay. I'm sure the little ones would enjoy it but there isn't a ton of things to do.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobleskill, New York
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Would have been nice for children but a bit basic for adults. Parking easily available and a nice location by the lake.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a ferry trip to burlington!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a wonderful place! My husband and I went and it was so much fun. Located right on the water. Multi floored. We got to be meteorologist and watched ourselves on the t.v.---I DON'T think I missed my calling! Very interesting place for young and old.You can also sit on the deck and enjoy the weather

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSmart802, Public Relations Manager at ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review! A ferry ride to Burlington from the beautiful Adirondacks can be quite magical this time of year. We're so glad you put ECHO on your itinerary here in the Green Mountain State of VT.

Come back and visit again real soon...and thanks again for caring enough to share your positive experience here at ECHO!

Cheers,
Gerianne Smart
Director of Marketing and Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center also viewed

 

Been to ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ECHO Lake Aquarium and Science Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.