We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chocolate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Champlain Chocolates

Lake Champlain Chocolates
750 Pine Street, Burlington, VT
800-465-5909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Shopping in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lake Champlain Chocolates Factory Store & Cafe offers chocolates and confections including handmade truffles, caramels, clusters, our famous Five Star Bars, gift assortments and gourmet hot chocolate. The cafe serves lattes, ice creams, gourmet coffee and teas, hot chocolate with homemade whipped cream or marshmallows,and lots of factory seconds! The through-the-window factory tour takes place Monday-Friday on the house from 11am -2pm. Learn the history of Lake Champlain Chocolates, where chocolate comes from, how chocolate is made and enjoy lots of samples!
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Chocolate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stopped by the factory store on our way south for the day. We didn't line up with their factory tours (on the hour, I think), but we enjoyed looking around their shop. There was a free sample of a chocolate and there's a coffee/hot chocolate/ice cream bar where a girl was super nice and just let me sample the decadent chocolate ice cream. It was fantastic, but rich! I didn't need a whole scoop-and the girl totally understood, which was really nice. We could have spent a fortune there...but we decided to stick with a hand-put-together mixed bag of discounted chocolates. So far, each one has been absolutely delicious! And when I saw the organic cocoa powder canisters, I thought "Don't I have this??"--yes, they sell them in Whole Foods! So nice not to have to travel to VT to buy this delicious chocolate!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    60
    16
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Luv chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I took a road trip through Vermont and Burlington was our last stop. Although there was a store on Church Street and closer to our hotel, we walked to the factory store. Staff was friendly and it was fun learning about the history of the store. Staff gave samples of chocolate and it is GOOD!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, OH
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“factory tour fun chocolate delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Just a small factory tour took 30 minutes. Pleasant docent, samples given during the presentation. Chocolate truly delicious, wish I had bought more. Big caramel chunk bars (not sure of the name) were amazing. They said that their candy is available at whole foods, I am going to check that out. Very homey small business feel. Tour is free.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Fun Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You not only get to try samples but the staff often has classes and tastings explaining the differences between the different kinds of chocolates. Whenever we are in Burlington we stop by for tastings and purchases. Try the hot chocolate. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“great chocolate place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lake Champlain chocolates have a store and a factory in Downtown Burlington. The chocolate is FRESH and tasty! Their hot chocolate is great too, especially on a cold day. If you happen to be in Burlington and like chocolates then definitely visit this place! They are also available in Whole Foods.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Champlain Chocolates also viewed

 

Been to Lake Champlain Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Champlain Chocolates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.