We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Aire Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Aire Motel
Save
You added Bel Aire Motel to your Saves list
111 Shelburne Road, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

I have stayed here 3 times just this year. The owners are very nice and the motel is as nice, rooms are clean and comfortable. Easy access to downtown. I will be returning there in June of 2009

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    51
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
28
55
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
PNW
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Date: September 22, 2008
Reviewer: Travelers from the Pacific Northwest, USA
We are spending our last night in a real motel. Remember when they were scattered along America's highways in the 1950s and 60s where you parked your car in front of your room door? This place takes you back to that period in time; even the bathroom is tiled in "flamingo pink" ceramic tile. The rooms rent for current day prices but provide none of the "frills" (coffee maker, hair dryer, continental breakfast) offered by most hotels. It's a room with a bed, a bathroom, a small TV and phone with no calling instructions.

Our first morning (a Sunday) as we left our room, a member of the housekeeping staff asked if we wanted anything done in our room. It's strange that bed making, towel changing, waste basket emptying isn't routine room maintenance here. To make matters worse, nothing was done on day two (no beds made, no fresh towels and hung, no trash emptied). Apparently the room was never entered by the housekeeping staff.

We paid an average of $103 per night (plus taxes, etc.) for our room. Those traveling to the Burlington area should avoid this place and spend a few extra dollars to stay in a nice place.

This review is the opinion of the traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Disliked — Lack of standard amenities and price.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

Now that my daughter no longer goes to UVM, I'm willing to promote them. Sometimes they get booked! I've stayed there several times over the last few years and really liked it. Just a few blocks to walk downtown or over to the Waterfront trail for a run or walk. Had great internet access in the rooms, which were totally fine for my needs. Robin and her family are great!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

the owners yelled alot and were rude and lied about their wifi access. when i finally logged on and tried to finish my work they yelled at me for checking out too late, after they had said i could check out 30 mins later.
in addition to the small rooms, old linens and musty smell, the hassle is not worth it.

  • Liked — it wasn't infested with flies
  • Disliked — the owners rude attitude
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL,CT
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

Good enough if you are looking for a place to sleep. Not the place you if going to spend a lot of time in your room. The rooms are small,old,with CLEAN bedding. Close enough to downtown to walk or a cheap cab ride. Not as nice as wyndham ,but at half the price it was just fine. We where in town for 1 night and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Price, Clean
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

We stayed here for just one night in the middle of our US/Canada roadtrip. It is a budget hotel and I guess as one previous reviewer stated you get what you pay for. The rooms were clean and tidy enough - Had no issues with any bad odour mentioned by other reviewers. Typical cheap roadside motel really with everything you would expect within that banner.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

The Bel Aire is a charming site as you pull in from Route 7, I think it is, and is well-situtated just south of town. I loved its look and appreciated the fact that it was family run.

I didn't appreciate the mustiness of the room we were given, however, nor the less than thrilled reaction of the management, who refused to accept the fact that the room's odor was offputting. Indeed, she was trying to tell us that the carpets had just been cleaned, but I can't imagine with what?

She was less excited about moving us to the only other available room. She eventually relented, and even "waived" the additional $5 that the double would cost, but the whole encounter left me feeling as I'd done something wrong when really all I wanted was a room I could breathe in.

The room we moved to was passable, nothing more, but thankfully breathable. Unfortunately, the tepid response we received to what was very obviously a distinct odor doesn't make me likely to stay again.

  • Liked — Proximity to Burlington
  • Disliked — Its musty odor and shabbiness
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Aire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Aire Motel

Address: 111 Shelburne Road, Burlington, VT 05401
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Bel Aire Hotel Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Aire Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.