We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Aire Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Aire Motel
Save
You added Bel Aire Motel to your Saves list
111 Shelburne Road, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Small and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a neat little family-run motel that reminded me of some of the places we stayed on our Route 66 Road Trip. The room was small for a family of 4 but it was fine for one night (bathroom has a small shower stall only). Finding affordable hotel rooms in Burlington in August was surprisingly difficult and this turned out to be a nice, homey option-- a pet cat greeted us outside the office when we checked in to my children's delight. There is some road noise from Shelburne Road right outside the window, which may bother you if you are a light sleeper, but we adjusted quickly to it (also we were in one of the rooms closer to the road). The room was clean and comfortable. There is coffee available in the front office in the morning and it was a pleasure to have a real mug to use after drinking out of paper cups for several days in a row. There is no breakfast but there is a Dunkin Donuts within very easy walking distance (turn to the right out of the motel driveway).
As far as distance goes, I'm not sure I would have elected to walk downtown from the motel, at least not with two kids in tow, but it would be an easy bike ride into town.
Overall, this was a nice, friendly, clean place to stay in Burlington.
(If you are looking for activities, I'd highly recommend renting bikes at Local Motion on Steele Street and riding along Lake Champlain on the Burlington Bike Path.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    51
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
28
55
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We would definitely stay here again! It is charming, clean, and has character - not like your generic chain motel. Highlights include a good, firm mattress; a fridge and microwave in the room (and when I asked for one, the owner gave us a kettle so we could make tea); nice, big towels; blinds that really block the light from outside; quiet location; very friendly owners who are happy to give restaurant recommendations. On the down side, the room was small, but since we were only here for two nights it didn't feel cramped, and it's not all that close to downtown. We had bikes with us and it was a very easy bike ride.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I arrived early around 12 noon and Robin was at the desk she was wonderful, friendly and told me about the area and things to do. We returned and were pleased with our room it was spotless and nice and cool. I loved the the location! Close enough to walk down town. The Lake Champlain Chocolate Factory was around the corner and I loved the Chocolates. We took the 10-15min drive to Shelburne and LOVED the Shelborne Museum lots of old buildings full of fun items. My favorite was breakfast (only $22.00 for both of us with tip) at the Shelborne Inn. The drive up is beautiful and it sits on Lake Champlain what a beautiful view. If you have children you must go here, they can milk a cow, help with the sheep and play with chickens. The Magic Hat Brewery is a 5 min or less drive from the Motel. This Motel is great for location, value, cleanliness and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Must go to Shelborne Inn for breakfast and tour the farm only 10 min drive from Hotel. Then the Shel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I would stay there again as it is good value for the location. It is about 1 km walk to centre town.
It Was a nice surprise to have fridge and microwave. Room is home like not showy like a hotel.
The shower was kind of small and I am a 5'5" female.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

From the outside, it looks like a basic motel -- a block of rooms attached to the owner's living quarters at the rear. The room itself was a pleasant surprise. It was clean with new carpet and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was small but functional. Some might think the air conditioner noisy, but we thought it did a good job of masking sound from both the outside and adjoining rooms and we slept well.

Expect some sticker shock during tourist season. We paid $110 on a Wednesday night in July, which I thought was a lot for this kind of room, but the alternatives were $220+ for a hotel or $70-$90 at properties rated much worse. Burlington is a nice town to visit and demand appears to exceed supply in the summer months.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We had to cancel our reservation last minute - we were kindly told they would not charge us if they were able to fill the room - sure enough they called us back and said we were all set the room had been reserved!! Such great customer service and so appreciated, hopefully we will get another chance to stay with them !! Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Let me start by saying that if you are looking for fancy this is Not the place for you. What you Will get is a clean older motel with amaing and caring owners. I stayed here with my mother and daughter for UVM freshman orientation. It is only a few miles to the campus and the best deal in a city with overpriced hotels. Robin, the owner, truly cares about the guests and their comfort. I liked it so much I already booked nights for freshman drop off and homecoming weekend!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with 2 double beds. Perfect for 2 people. The queen room was very spacious with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Aire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Aire Motel

Address: 111 Shelburne Road, Burlington, VT 05401
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Bel Aire Hotel Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Aire Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.