We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Father's Day Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Aire Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Aire Motel
Save
You added Bel Aire Motel to your Saves list
111 Shelburne Road, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
hampton, ct
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Father's Day Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We would echo other Trip Advisor reviewers in that this motel provides nice, basic accommodations with friendly owners, comfortable beds and a clean room. We were out early both mornings before the motel coffee was served, but there is a Dunkin Donuts a quarter mile down the road. Accommodations are expensive in Burlington and the Bel Aire is not cheap. But compared to other options, it is a good value. It is close to downtown, but further than walking distance (perhaps two miles).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    57
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
33
58
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a one night stay there recently on our way from Boston to Quebec. Very nice basic accomodations with freindly owners and a very clean room. Good location just a few minutes drive to downtown Burlington.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a solo road trip to the NE. On this trip, budget was key, which led me to this place. It cost $79 a night (not including taxes) in the "high season", which I guess June is for Burlington although I could not tell. Standard hotel room, including a mini fridge and microwave, cable tv, desk and chair, and was pretty clean. Not in downtown Burlington, but only a short way out. Lots of grocery stores/pharmacies and quick restaurants within a few blocks.

On the con side, the parking lot is a bit tight, so I would recommend parking on the left side (against the grass) versus the hotel room side. There was no extra blanket (although I didn't ask) and the chain was missing from the door lock. Of note, if you are allergic to cats, there are at least two who live in the main office, and one of which in any case goes outside.

Overall, it was a decent place to stay. Not sure if I will ever get to Burlington again, but I wouldn't steer anyone away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were in Burlington on a very congested weekend--Memorial Day, the marathon, various college graduations--so options were limited. We chose the BelAire based on Tripadvisor reviews, and clean and basic were what we got. Firm mattresses, clean room, tiny spaces, cordial and helpful staff. Good for a short stay, but after three nights we were glad to move on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had read good reviews about this family-run motel and had a pleasant 2 night stay in May.
The welcome was warm and helpful and the coffee in Reception was good and strong.
The room decor wasn't to my taste, but my husband loved it, he's a fan of motels.
The bed was comfortable but the room had a few odd (to me) features eg wires hanging down.
The tiny shower had two of my pet hates - fixed head shower and clingy shower curtain, but it did it's job and got us clean. Tip: wait until the room to your right has had a shower and the hot water will come through quicker.
The wi-fi in room 14 was a bit iffy, but worked.
No breakfast but good things to eat in Burlington.
Overall this was a successful stay and I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My friend and I were looking for somewhere fairly inexpensive to stay while we were on a decently long road trip. We eventually stumbled up on the Bel Aire Motel, and decided to give it a shot. We were blown away. To say it's "good, especially for a motel" would be doing a disservice to how awesome the people are, how clean the rooms were, and how generally positive of an experience we had.

Of course, it's an older building. It has CRT TVs. It doesn't have coffee machines.

None of this mattered to us at all. The place was clean, the people were incredibly kind, and we had a 100% positive experience.

Thanks a lot to the owners (I won't post their last name here), you guys were fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My family, my parents, and my sister (with her two young sons) all stayed at the Bel Air last weekend and it could not have been more pleasant. It was graduation weekend for UVM and every one of the big chain hotels was booked solid and very expensive, but there was room for all of us and we were very pleased with every aspect of our accommodations. The only disappointing aspect of our stay was when I realized that for the last 4 years I had been staying at the Sheraton, when I should have been staying at the Bel Air. Thanks for everything (extra pillows, fresh pots of coffee, excellent recommendations for bagels, wine glasses from your own kitchen, and of course the great verandah outside of our room!) it was just a great weekend and you were a big part of it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
G.G.T. Tibet Inn
G.G.T. Tibet Inn
#8 of 9 in Burlington
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Aire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Aire Motel

Address: 111 Shelburne Road, Burlington, VT 05401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Bel Aire Hotel Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Aire Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.