We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so value for an older motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Aire Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Aire Motel
Save
You added Bel Aire Motel to your Saves list
111 Shelburne Road, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
Annapolis
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So so value for an older motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at the Bel Air in spring of 2013 while looking at colleges with my son. Older rooms in need of updating. Television was hard to see. Our room had a small fridge and sink, but no coffeemaker.
Beds were comfortable. Bathroom small but functional. It over a mile downtown so a good 20-25 minutes. UVM and Champlain College are closer. Owners are very nice and helpful. Ended up costing us just under $400 for 4 nights which I thought was expensive for what we got.Our room was quiet because it was tucked into the corner of the "L" but rooms near the road may get some noise. Lots of graffiti on the backside of the motel. If I go back to Burlington I will check the prices at the newer chains.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    14
    11
    9
See reviews for
27
55
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pleasantville
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This little gem of a motel is one of the best around the Burlington, VT area. The hosts are kind, gracious, and very accommodating. The room and suite fees are very reasonable. The rooms, though quaint, are always spotless, fresh, and well-appointed with comfy beds and more than adequate bed coverings. It is always quiet and refreshing, too, to sit on the patio or the balcony and take in the fresh, Lake Champlain air, or enjoy a meal with companions! It is within walking distance to shops as well as a short drive to reach I-89 and other state roads.

We ALWAYS choose the Bel Aire Motel when we visit Vermont. We would not consider any other place! ☺

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs suite for its comfort, quiet, and spaciousness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at this Motel for 2 nights during Mardi Gras. Cheap, Clean, and convenient. Check in was a breeze, the owners who worked there were incredibly nice and didn't mind giving us some extra pillows! I would stay again. Our Room and last room 11&12 do not have wi-fi..

Room Tip: we stayed in room #12 and tried using WI-FI, which was not working so when i asked about it the gent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is an old style motel that is privately owned. The lady that checked us in was very helpful. She gave us our keys for the room. Keys! That took me back several years. Hotels never use real keys anymore.

Our room was large and the bathroom was huge and both were very clean. We had one of the "suites". It wasn't a true "suite" just a much bigger room than the regular rooms of the motel. It came with a mini fridge and microwave. The additional size with microwave and fridge cost an extra $10 per month. Not a big price to pay.

It is obviously an old hotel that needs a little maintenance but for the price and location it was excellent. We walked from the hotel to UVM and then downtown for dinner and back. If it wasn't so cold it would have been a lovely walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Built in the style of the old roadside motel and redecorated in an interesting style, this was a great place to stop. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, my room was clean and quiet with parking outside and the centre of Burlington was a 20 easy walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I couldn't have been happier! This is the 3rd place I've stayed at in the Burlington area and it was more like a comfortable home than a motel. Convenient to bus transport, Dunkin Donuts, a little store next door for good snack food, micro wave, fridge, TV, WiFi, and people at the desk who just make you feel like you're part of their family. I wish they could be everywhere I travel. Really. It's the kind of place you could almost get homesick for. Everything you could need is there including the warmest welcome and the personality and charm. I used to stay at a local D.I. franchise place down in Shelburne where it was all about your money and not you the person. Those rooms were filthy in comparison and the staff was just cold and rude. But the Bel Aire is my opinion of the heart of what New England is reputed to be: Just warm, welcoming and incredibly wonderful! And the accommodations just can't be beat. I'll be back for summer!

Room Tip: Any room in this place is worth having. Even if you have to take a room that you weren't plannin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were looking to spend one night in Burlington...economical, no frills needed. Read the Trip Advisor reviews and decided to give the Bel Aire a try. It was perfect for our needs. Room was very small, but clean and warm. Had extras we did not expect: fridge, microwave and wi fi. Very friendly helpful service and great location to tour downtown. Would be great if they added a hair dryer. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Aire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Aire Motel

Address: 111 Shelburne Road, Burlington, VT 05401
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Bel Aire Hotel Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Aire Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.