We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant In Burlington!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cortijo

El Cortijo
189 Bank Street, Burlington, VT 05401
802 497 1668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 188 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: A farm-to-taco experience located in the historic 1950s Oasis diner on Bank Street in Burlington. Tacos and entrees are prepared with fresh, local ingredients and expressed as traditional Mexican fare. Fresh-squeezed margaritas and handcrafted cocktails are served in a lively, vibrant atmosphere. Full menu available until 12 a.m. Sundays through Thursdays and 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant In Burlington!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We love everything about it (OK... maybe not the wait - it is a lot of people's favorite apparently!) and go once a month if we can!
Love the atmosphere - old diner with vintage booths and bar stools.
Love the tacos (fish one is delicious) and the ceviche
Love the drinks
Great service!
Perfect for lunch, dinner, late night, solo, with kids, couples, friends... LOVE IT!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    57
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

First stop on our trip to Burlington. Old time diner with lots to recommend it….great food, cheery staff and margarites to die for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Authentic Mexican in VT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Recently visited this place on a Monday afternoon and have to say I was very pleasantly surprised.

Taco special du hour was pig cheeks (BBQ, smoked)... Delicious. Just like pork belly. Had one of these along with a fish taco and stellar prickly pear margarita. I'll be back for lunch tomorrow!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I happened in on a Saturday afternoon, what a pleasant little place. It was Kitchy in a good way. From the dinner car look outside, to the old tile floors and mini bar stools. The service was quick, friendly, and attentive without being overbearing. The waitress, made some wonderful suggestions! I ended up with chips, salsa, guacamole and a couple of the special carnitas tacos for the day. Also the Sangriarita was a fabulous drink, that I would LOVE to have again! I would make a special trip, just to eat here again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Bueno in Burlington !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Happy help-staff. Good margaritas (get the classic)
Fair food value. Fun atmosphere Burlington's late late open restaurant !

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cortijo also viewed

 

Been to El Cortijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cortijo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.