We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer, Decent Food but high prices, Stick to the Burgers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Farmhouse Tap & Grill

The Farmhouse Tap & Grill
160 Bank Street, Burlington, VT 05401
+1 802-859-0888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 188 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A farm-to-table gastropub dedicated to showcasing our many local Vermont farms and food producers. Award-winning local burgers, comfort entrees, and innovative nightly specials. The Tap Room delivers highly prized and rare beers from Vermont's backyard and beyond, with 24 beers on draught and over 200 bottled selections. Beer garden is open late spring and summer; downstairs parlor features a fireplace, tap room snacks, and is open during the fall and winter months.
Anghiari, Italy
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Decent Food but high prices, Stick to the Burgers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This place has a very nice beer selection, some of it brewed on site. The rest of our party all had burgers, both veggie and meat, and seemed satisfied. I made the mistake of ordering Mussels, which were ok, but left me wanting for something more. I actually ordered arabiatta style, so I was expecting at least a little kick. I had others in the party try them to see what they thought and they agreed that there was no spiceyness going on at all. The sauce was decent and dipping in the garlic toast points was the higlight of the mean. We had a hummus appetizer, which was excellent. Way better than my meal.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    283
    70
    27
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Outstanding as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

A trip in the area will always mean dining here. The food is fantastic, the people friendly and the location perfect. Farm fresh/farm to table is worth paying a little extra for, not that the prices are that much higher.

Heady Topper available at the bar. We had chicken wings (that are NOT deep fried!), to start. My wife had the mac and cheese (she always gets this here and says that nobody makes it better) while I had a burger. Great food. You need to come here and be a fan.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Chocolate Port Cake!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We visited on a Friday night; expect a 30 minute wait. This is well worth it, though. The atmosphere has positive energy, yet it is relaxing at the same time. The staff was fabulous; very patient for me to make a decision. My husband enjoyed his dinner special so much that he ordered a second plate of it! Farmhouse has local craft beers and specialty brews, and local products(meats, cheeses, vegetables).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best burger in Burlington...and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

When I want really good burger and an awesome beer, Farmhouse is where I go every time! The quality, service and atmosphere can't be beat! The salads and specials are always worth a try. We have never had a bad meal there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good food but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We ate lunch at the Farmhouse Tap & Grill. We were able to call in for reservations & were seated as soon as we arrived. The service was prompt, the server friendly & we enjoyed our meal. It is definitely a place for the younger generation & those who love to try new & different beers. We're not either, but were glad we tried it. My sandwich was enough for 2 meals. The french fries were nothing special but the beef in my sandwich was delicious. The best part was that most of what they serve is locally grown.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmhouse Tap & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Farmhouse Tap & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farmhouse Tap & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.