We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time and $” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Queen City Ghostwalk

Queen City Ghostwalk
149 Church Street, Burlington, VT 05401
+1 802-351-1313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 Attractions in Burlington
Type: Tours, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chosen by Yankee Magazine this year as one of the best attractions in New England, Queen City Ghostwalk offers up plenty of history, mystery and spooky fun. Tour creator Thea Lewis, author of "Haunted Burlington: Spirits of Vermont's Queen City", "Ghosts and Legends of Lake Champlain", and "Haunted Inns and Ghostly Getaways of Vermont", is renowned as the area's foremost authority on Burlington's ghostly lore. She brings guests on a journey back in time, introduces them to local legends, and paints a chilling picture of Burlington long ago. Tours include Burlington's downtown, wicked waterfront, local cemeteries, and spirits at the University of Vermont. Tickets for all tours are available at FlynnTix Regional Box Office.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and $”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I have been on several "ghost" tours around the country and this one was by far the worst. The group was 50 people, one hour, four stops/stories. The stories were lame and there was NO creepy factor at all. It is a waste of $14.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenCityGhostwalk, Owner at Queen City Ghostwalk, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Ten years in the business has taught us we can't be all things to all people. Still, we are more than a bit puzzled by some of the content in this review.
We specialize in dark tales and dark alleys. Our tour is a blend of Burlington history, ghostly lore, and a bit of tongue-in-cheek fun. We are not a tour of costumed characters leaping out from bushes and corners. As for our price, it is inclusive of taxes, on par with similar business across the country, and much lower than some.
Fifty people is not an unusual number for us two weeks from October 31st. Some folks love the excitement and camaraderie of a big tour. If you prefer a more intimate tour, the Halloween season is not for you.Try us early in the month when tours average 20 guests.
Thanks!
Thea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    0
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

good for the kids and interesting for the adults-good to plan a lovely meal and a few drinks around!!
interesting tales and locations

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thea Lewis does it again with Haunted UVM - the tales will curl your hair!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I & three friends went last week for the inaugural Haunted University of Vermont (UVM) tour. Thea Lewis wove her tales bringing both the historical & ghostly worlds to life. It seems that UVM has an illustrious past both grisly & charming. Standing before the beautiful buildings on campus & learning of the resident ghosts takes one right back in time & with Thea's knowledge of circumstances, both then & now, she creates a spellbinding tour.

I have been a fan for many years & have taken the Queen City Ghostwalk bringing both friends & visiting guests to Burlington. Many of my out-of-towners have said this was the highlight of their trip here!

Now with the ability to purchase your tickets at The Catamount Store on Church Street, in downtown Burlington, it will guarantee your place on the tour - it often fills-up, so I recommend you purchase your tickets early!!

An ABSOLUTE MUST for locals & tourists.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happycat1
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't count on it!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011 via mobile

We showed up at 10 till 8:00 and there was a crowd of ~20 people waiting for the tour. After calling and getting a recording, we all left at 8:15. A tour guide never showed up. Don't waste your time!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenCityGhostwalk, Owner at Queen City Ghostwalk, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
We are sorry the reviewer was disappointed, but, on this occasion, as they had been for a decade, our tours were by reservation only. The reservation information was stated in every piece of advertising associated with our walk. We had no reservations that evening. Our reliability has always been the hallmark of our business. In the ten years we've been in operation, we've missed just one reserved tour, and that was due to an emergency illness. On that occasion, reserved guests were comped for their inconvenience- with free tours on any other walk that season.
We have a new ticket venue, The Catamount Store, 46 Church Street. Hopefully, that will make it easier for future guests to plan their time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Thank you to Thea for giving a group of 10 and 11 year olds a great time. Thea was well informed and thoughtful with the kids on our tour. She flexible, engaging and a great story-teller.
Thank you, Thea for a fun filled afternoon!
Colleen, Cara and the kids

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen City Ghostwalk also viewed

 

Been to Queen City Ghostwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen City Ghostwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.