We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small gem, fantastic views and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
53 Lakeview Ter, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Burlington B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Small gem, fantastic views and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Carpe Diem cottage is cozy and comfortable. The bed is very comfortable; the galley kitchen is very handy (no dishwasher but with Burlington's many eateries you won't be cooking elaborate meals); the bathroom is a good size and stocked with plenty of towels. The windows open to let in the fresh breezes off the lake and, most wonderfully, give you a spectacular view of Lake Champlain. You won't believe how nice the view is until you see it in person; it's just captivating. Even better is that you can enjoy it from the beautiful garden, with a variety of lovely flowers, multiple chairs, and a couple of tables so you can eat, read, relax, and gaze out upon the beauty. Even if the weather is bad you can still snugly enjoy the view from the bed or the comfortable chairs (which have good reading lamps). The location is in a neighborhood that is an easy walk to downtown Burlington. Maggie is great to meet and very helpful with anything you might need, including information on things to do in Burlington. Thank you, Maggie, for sharing your special location with us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not only can you stay in a two room suite with lake views and your own bathroom, sleep 4 if you want in the main house, but you can stay in your very own cottage, with shutters, flower boxes, full bath and kitchen, and relax in bed, or in the garden outside, reading your favorite book.

Maggie loves color, comfort and luxury. And yes, it is definitely a One of a Kind BnB.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottage if you can. But staying up stairs is just as fine, and you can have 4 sleep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggiehoney, Owner at One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the lovely words you chose to describe your experience at One Of A Kind.
In reference to sleeping four in the suite, I no longer offer that option. I have added an enclosed pantry unit in the separate sitting room so guests can to take breakfast at their leisure. The pictures on my website illustrate this layout The suite, with a view, is ideal for two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The cottage was very small when we got our luggage in the room. There was no TV. We had a refrigerator but no ice trays....so no ice for tea or a drink. In the other B & B's we stayed in on our trip of 17 days we had a full hot breakfast not just yogurt and granola and juice. We also had someone come in and make our bed in 3 other B&B's but not at One of a kind B& B. My biggest complaint is that Maggie's website did not make it clear that there was no smoking on the property inside or outside. I would never stay here again....not good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggiehoney, Owner at One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I read your review of Carpe Diem the tiniest house in Burlington, Vermont and some of your comments baffle me. A full description of the exact dimensions (13 ft. x 18.6 ft) and a metaphor of the size (about 3 times the size of the main cabin on a 70-ft sailboat) of Carpe Diem is given on my website under the “Accommodations/Carpe Diem” tab.

Under the “About Us” tab, it is stated there is free wifi, no television.

There is an ice bucket in the kitchen of Carpe Diem and I recall, my offer to fill it was not accepted. I do appreciate your suggestion about supplying an ice tray ….I don’t think of ice as I live in a place where there is ice, naturally, at least six months of the year!

Also, under the aforementioned “Accommodations” tab and given to all inquiries (telephone and email) about Carpe Diem, I state, “Breakfast groceries are supplied in Carpe Diem. They include our home-roasted coffee, tea, juice, locally produced granola, yogurt and milk. With the full kitchen, you can supplement with foods of your choice and take breakfast at your leisure.”

In order to respect our guest’s privacy, we do not tidy rooms on a daily basis unless requested by the guest. You did not request this.

Smoke free is in bold type on my website “Homepage”, 2nd paragraph down. Under the “Reservations” tab the last line says, No pets, no smoking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonton, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I think Maggie chose the correct name for her little b and b. It is unique! She has the best view in Burlington and I felt right at home in her garden with her cat. We had a great time and it was so convenient to downtown. We enjoyed the unhurried life style of both the b and b and Maggie.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suit, so we could have Maggie's breakfasts. Yummy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is awesome, you are left to enjoy the quaint converted cottage but the owner is on hand should you need anything. Eating breakfast outside looking out over the lake was fantastic and the home roasted coffee (made by the owner) is great. The walk back from the town is short but nice after a meal, made even better by the fireflies in the trees.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This B B was the first stop on our trip. Amazing view of the lake. Maggie was an excellent host. The Carpe Diem cabin was small but quite comfortable. Location allows for easy exploration of Burlington. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Wonderful place with awesome views of lake Champlain. Good proximity to all the fun stuff in Burlington center (church st. etc.). Tasty breakfasts each morning. Stayed in the upstairs apt and had a great time!

Room Tip: Both the apartment and cabin have great views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast

Address: 53 Lakeview Ter, Burlington, VT 05401
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One of a Kind Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.