We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly staffed; poorly trained” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Williston Road, Burlington, VT 05403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Burlington
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Poorly staffed; poorly trained”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Given the sky high price of their rooms -- particularly in view of the motel-level quality of the rooms -- one would expect that you could at least get good service when you need it. Dream on. The service desk at the door was almost never manned and the front desk and restaurants were grossly understaffed. Therefore, if you want to use the shuttle service, you either wait in a long line, or step outside in the rain and to flag the guy down. (Please note, however, that the shuttle drivers were nice people and cooperative.) To eat breakfast, you wait in a long line in the lobby while dirty dishes tie up the tables until the over-worked wait staff get a chance to clear them. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen23, General Manager at Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sending me your constructive feedback on your resent stay here at the Sheraton Burlington. It was disappointing to read how poorly your stay was. I am truly sorry and take full responsibility for not being able to deliver great custom service. I have passed along your comments to our entire team and thank you for telling us things just weren't right. If there is anything that I can do for you, please feel free to reach out to me.
All the Best
Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    203
    178
    105
    72
See reviews for
201
183
38
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salado, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel was clean, beds were comfortable, but the room was dated, no fridge and for the price you would think you would get more bang for the buck. Shuttle to take you downtown, cab was only $6 to get back. Great little town, not a lot of downtown hotels this is only 2miles away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen23, General Manager at Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for comments on TripAdvisor about your recent stay here at the Sheraton Burlington. I am sorry that your stay was just average, and appreciate your comments about the room decor. We will be going through a complete room’s renovation in 2013 and would love to have you back for that great experience. Thanks for staying with us and I look forward to your return.
All the Best.
Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Sheraton was our first stay for 2 nights of a 2 week vacation. The reason we picked it was due to my girlfriends Starwood status / free nights and this was a huge disappointment. When staying on SPG points you typically get the better locations, better rooms, and upgrades when available. I am fine without upgrades but we had the worst room, in the worst location. It smelled of mildew and mold and the only reason we did not leave was because we were exhausted from cross country travel and didn't want to start the vacay with a hassle.

It is clear they are revamping many of the rooms, which is great and all, but the wing we were in should be shut down (or condemned). There appear to be 4 or 5 different levels of rennovation... from the best (typical Sheraton business hotel quality) to the worst (our room). With some hodge podge in the middle.

Beyond the room itself, the place was pretty decent. The (indoor) pool was ok size, the bar was nice, the service was pretty good (other than when we complained about the room), and the location is OK (very close to UVM campus, about 1 mile walking to downtown).

Burlington is a great place to visit, highly recommended, just look elsewhere or make sure you get a redone room. Very disappointed in SPG for this experience, they tend to treat platinum members much better.

Room Tip: Make sure it is one which is recently re-done...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen23, General Manager at Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking time out of your day to send me feedback on your recent stay here at the Sheraton Burlington. I am truly sorry that your room was not up to standard. We will be going through a complete room's renovation in 2013. I would like to make this experience up to you. Please contact me directly if you are in the area again. I will ensure your next visit is a great one.
All the Best.
Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton while in town for a conference. The lobby and main areas of the hotel were nice, but my room, while clean, was dated and the furniture had definitely seen better days. It also was on short on electrical outlets, which I found frustrating as I seem to travel with a ridiculous amount of electronics anymore. I also must say that finding my room was a bit of a chore, as the hotel has a bit of an awkward layout and multiple fire doors that I had to navigate to get to my room. Internet was extra, which always annoys me. The free in-room bottles of water for Starwood Preferred Guests was a very nice touch.

The staff I encountered was very friendly, and helpful with directions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen23, General Manager at Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay here at the Sheraton Burlington. I wanted to thank you for your constructive comments and appreciate your positive comments. We will be going through a room’s renovation in 2013 and welcome you back to see it and stay with us again.
Have a great day
Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is the third year in a row I've stayed at the Sheraton in Burlington - I go up for a conference every fall. As usual, the room was very comfortable - great linens and lots of pillows! Everything was immaculate and the service was great. There's a very comfortable bar/restaurant downstairs with a fireplace - a great place to unwind at the end of the day. It's conveniently located to the highway and parking is ample. It's nice to have such a reliable and quality place to go back to each year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owen23, General Manager at Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out off your day to send me feedback on your recent stay here at the Sheraton Burlington. I am glad to read that you had a very relaxing stay. I look forward to seeing you back real soon.
All the Best.
Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel was not what we expected from a Sheraton - waited over hour for check-in. While waiting we had lunch at restaurant..(one girl managing bar, waiting/busing tables and probably cooking the food). After complaining - suddenly a room opened up - probably the worst room in the hotel (damp, musty, toilet would not work) -- complained again -- moved one floor up..we were told since we did not book a 'deluxe' this is what we should expect especially on a busy weekend..I paid DELUXE price so expected at least a decent tidy room. Next time in Burlington, I will stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Got a great conference rate but would have been very disappointed if we'd paid any more. Welcome/reception was nice. The hallway to our room had dim lighting and there were piles of dirty laundry and room service trays out all afternoon and early evening, plus more the next day. We needed to buy a hostess gift for a friend and visited the hotel "gift shop" which is nothing more than travel sized hygiene products and a vending machine (should not be called a gift shop) Ate at the hotel restaurant which accepts a coupon from restaurant.com Food was good but service lacking. Conference facilities were a mixed bag -- half of the conference rooms are on a separate location requiring stairs, more dim corridors and confusion. Location of the hotel was it's best feature

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 870 Williston Road, Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Burlington Hotel & Conference Center is near Lake Champlain, Church Street, skiing, and I-89. As Vermont's largest hotel, we have 30,000 sq ft of meeting space and free airport transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Burlington Hotel Burlington
Burlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.