We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, horrible service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ice House

Ice House
171 Battery Street, Burlington, VT 05401
802-864-1800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 210 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $15 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good food, horrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We (party of 4) stopped by on a Saturday night, walked in and got a table on the deck overlooking Lake Champlain. The view is great. We sat for 25 minutes and were finally greeted by a very busy waitress. 15 minutes later we were brought rolls and offered the opportunity to place our orders. 30 minutes later, darkness started to come over us from the evening sky and colder weather. There were a few lighted strings along the deck. No other lighting options. As dusk set in, we were finally brought our meals. No apologies were given for the extremeley slow sevice. We didn't dare order from the bar as we would probably still be waiting for the drinks. we were wishing that we had gone across the street to the Shanty on the Shore, where we had great service the night before.

On the plus side, the food was excellent. I had a chicken quesadilla and it was big , although I couldn't see it very well because it was so dark on the deck.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    50
    32
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Wonderful place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our family of 4 (all adults) stopped by for dinner without reservations and we were able to get a table with a view of Lake Champlain. I believe the ease with which we got a table was due to the weather being cold and it is off-season. Our server Chelsea was very attentive and friendly. It did not take too long before our meals (salmon, lemon chicken and fish & chips) arrived and they were delicious, the presentation was really eye-pleasing and very colorful. We shared a dessert, Chocolate Banana Bread, which was very good. Definitely will be going back the next time we are in Burlington.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and fine food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The nicely decorated dining room, the excellent service and good food makes this a wonderful spot for a special occasion. The menu has many choices and the prices are very reasonable for such a nice restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We wanted to try this nice looking restaurant since we heard good comments about it. Those comments were right. The old fashion decor makes it a very cozy and relaxing. We had a very nice lobster rizotto. Only downside, they use frozen lobster claws that alterates the taste, but except for this, the meal was very good. Reasonnable price except for the wine which was a bit expensive for the area. Also, they kind of cut on the heating, but the waitress immediately turned it on... Only thing to mention; avoid the washroom during the winter... It's freezing. All in all, a very good restaurant. We will definitely try it this summer to enjoy the terrasse.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estrie
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Deceiving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were there for lunch,coming in from the cold and wanting to try the clam chowder and crab cakes. We also had the fish and chips. The food was just ok. All around, this simple lunch added up to 50$, wich we found expensive for a very ordinary lunch.
The service was great and the view must be magnificent in summer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice House also viewed

 

Been to Ice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.