We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willard Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Save
You added The Willard Street Inn to your Saves list
349 South Willard Street, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Burlington B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chew Moor, Bolton, Lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

The Willard Street Inn is a perfect B&B and fully justifies all the positive reviews.

The room was small but had everything you'd need - the cookies in the room every day were a nice touch and if you've eat those in your room there are always more available downstairs.

The breakfasts are different but very nice. Scones of some kind for "starters" followed by a choice of 3 "main" courses. Certainly plenty to keep one going to lunch time if not later!

The inn is in a pleasant residential location, about 10-15 minutes walk into town. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in Burlington and it's a very pleasant place to stroll around.

There is a path along the lake shore with swing seats - great to just watch the world go by. Make sure you watch the sun go down over the lake - great for photographs!

If you want to stay in Burlington I don't think anywhere will better the Willard Street Inn.

  • Liked — Breakfast & Cookies
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    41
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
203
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

If you've never been to a b&b, this would be the one to try! It is a wonderful place: beautifully kept, efficiently and warmly run, and filled with culinary treats. I especially appreciated that tea, coffee, and cold drinks are out all day, along with freshly baked cookies.

We stayed in room 4, our friends in room 8. Both were spacious and clean and the bathrooms were large and well maintained. The toiletries were lovely - even a little can of lip balm - and the linens wonderful.

The breakfasts ranged from cooked specialties (served with lots of fresh fruit) to peanut butter granola for the cereal lovers. The freshly baked goodies were different both mornings we were there, and they were exceptional.

The location is good for Burlington, a quick walk (though downhill) to the center of town. The inn is in the middle of Champlain College's campus buildings, but we did not experience any student noise.

  • Liked — The management is obviously thoughtful and extremely good at what they do!
  • Disliked — Only one night table next to the bed.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

Booked this inn from TripAdvisor comments and was not disappointed.
A wonderful old house, elegantly furnished and decorated, and filled with lovely touches - books everywhere for guests' use, information leaflets, newspapers, free sweets, hot drinks, iced tea and lemonade, homemade cookies, board games and even postcards of the inn stamped for free.
We had a cosy attic room with ensuite shower room - Lindsays Loft - which was quite adequate for our needs - some of the large rooms looked wonderful.
Breakfast, served in the conservatory, is a treat - gourmet food and huge helpings to set you up for the day and the gardens were a pleasent oasis to sit in. Larry and Katie were charming and helpful hosts and happy to take time to chat with their guests.
A wonderful inn, where you want for nothing - we would certainly recommend it to friends and stay again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was all A1 as far as we were concerned
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

After checking out guidebooks and searching through tripadvisor reviews, i decided to book a weekend at the willard street inn for my boyfriend's birthday. i was a little nervous that it would be too "frou frou" (our room had pink floral wallpaper, etc.), but my anxiety proved unfounded - not only was our room gorgeous, but the whole inn is beautiful, and the staff could not have been more accommodating. there were constant homemade cookies, tea, lemonade, fabulous breakfasts, and everywhere you looked there were pretty flowers and architectural details. they even lent us their own backpack when we needed one for a bike ride, and when they realized we had an early flight home, ensured we were sent off with homemade granola and yogurt. i would absolutely recommend this inn to anyone, and am hoping to get back there as soon as possible!

  • Liked — the breakfasts
  • Disliked — the fact that i could never get our fireplace to turn on
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

This is a wonderful place to stay with helpful staff. As already mentioned, the breakfasts are great - nice selection of foods. The gardens and grounds are lovely - everything is very well-maintained. I would stay here again in a second and would recommend to anyone going to Burlington.

  • Liked — Great rooms; breakfasts; gardens
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, tn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

This B and B in a huge former home is very elegantly restored to it's Victorian splendor. Breakfast (with three entree choices daily) is served in a large atrium that overlooks the inn's garden, with a view of Lake Champlain in the distance. Walking distance to downtown Burlington.

The staff seems to anticipate needs, the rooms are charming to stupendous, and the beds are so very comfortable.

This would be a great weekend getaway inn, any time of year.

  • Liked — Ambience, location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

Pros: Genuinely friendly staff, can't do enough for you
Breakfasts are outstanding; wonderful breads to start,
choice of three breakfast options, all delicious, beautiful
setting
Rooms very well sound-proofed despite older building.
Great location; <1 mile walk to downtown, easy access to
bike path
Beds very comfortable, rooms all different but ours with
great sitting/reading area overlooking lawn and in
distance Lake Champlain. Bathrooms fine with good
water pressure
Great cookies! Different fresh batch every day

Cons: No feather/down pillows
No DVD/video players for those who like to relax in their
room in evening to a movie.

Suggested improvements:
Hard to come up with any, but DVD players would be easy
addition to rooms.
Fresh squeezed OJ? (trying to find something)

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms, great food, location
  • Disliked — Not much. Better audiovisual in rooms (DVD players)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Address: 349 South Willard Street, Burlington, VT 05401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willard Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.