We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip to Burlington for the inn alone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willard Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Save
You added The Willard Street Inn to your Saves list
349 South Willard Street, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to Burlington for the inn alone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

The service at the Willard Street Inn goes above and beyond. All the staff are extremely friendly and eager to help, and they give great attention to detail. The rooms are charming, even elegant, each with its own character, and the in-house breakfast is original and tasty (try the local buffalo yogurt... no joke). I took the short walk into central Burlington to have dinner and see a concert at the local art-deco theater. When I walked back to the inn, tea and molasses spice cookies were waiting in the parlor. The cookies were so yummy that I asked for the recipe, and the chef obligingly emailed it to me on her next shift. I'd go to Burlington just to stay at this inn.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    41
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
209
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London,UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2006

We decided to book the Willard Street Inn after reading reviews on Trip Advisor - and we weren't disappointed! We chose Lindsay's Loft which was spacious enough for the two of us and had an ensuite bathroom. Lovely comfy bed and would recommend this room generally - it's quite dimly lit but that adds to the character! Good standard of housekeeping.
Lots of nice touches in the hotel generally, including cookies in the room and other snacks on the ground floor - not that we could manage any of them after the fantastic breakfasts and good dining in Burlington (we ate at Daily Planet, Tratorria Delia and Smokejacks and would recommend all of them!)
Service was very friendly and helpful - in particular Chris who came dashing out into the lobby to help us with the suitcases (much appreciated up 3 floors with no lift!)
Location is great - 10 mins walk into Burlington and easy access from the I-89 so very easy to find - also very safe and quiet area despite being surrounded by university college buildings and residences. Lovely gardens at the back of the inn although a bit too cold in November! Distant views of the lake too.
Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Stairs!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

We stayed for three nights in Burlington and I wish we could have stayed longer at this inn. The breakfasts are a real treat in the grand solarium room and it's delightful to have a choice of options for the start of the day. The staff are top-notch and professional. The common areas of the inn are beautiful and the availability of cookies, coffee, and tea throughout the day is a wonderful touch while one is on vacation.
One small caveat: The Tower Room, where we stayed, has a private bathroom, but it is across the hall. This is a bit of an inconvenience if you're like us and you're up at least once in the night (Must be all of that coffee and tea during the day). But overall, the rooms were fresh, clean, and wonderfully appointed.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Expense
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

I just loved the Willard St. Inn. I felt like the Queen of England.

They have so many special touches - cookies and coffee all day long. Iced tea and juice in a bucket of ice all day long. Beautiful breakfasts. Lovely seating areas - inside and out. High quality soaps and shampoo. Free wireless internet. Just all the things that make you feel pampered.

I highly recommend this Inn and hope to return one day. My parents are going in June 07 because we raved about it so much.

  • Liked — The special touches
  • Disliked — It's location in Burlington
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

Perfect, Perfect, Perfect.

It's been a long, long time since I've had a stay as pleasurable as the one night stay I had at the Willard Street Inn.

The hotel is in an excellent location in Burlington, VT only a short walk away from Church Street and and minute drive. There is plenty of parking in the hotel parking lot and the only minus was that check in wasn't until 3pm--so we had to kill time until then. Fortunately, there is plenty to do on Church Street during the day and Lake Champlain is streets away.

When we checked in the girl working gave us a mini tour and explained to us all of the amenities--there were restaurant books with menus inside, plenty of maps and pamplets for sightseeing around the area, plenty of rooms to sit and relax in---beautiful amenities like a working kitchen, mini fridge for patrons, bottle openers and chillers to bring to your room as well as an ice machine. She also showed us the fresh baked cookies, coffee and tea and I was really, really impressed by the warm welcome. She helped carry our things upstairs to the 3rd floor (where our room was) and we made ourself at home. We had a private bathroom, self-controlled air conditioning unit a small tv as well as fresh baked cookies in room, Lake Champlain Chocolates and a free B&B Guidebook.

We relaxed, the bed was SO comfortable and the inn was quiet. We had visited the Magic Hat factory that day so we took advantage of the ice and the chiller as well as the bottle opener!

That night we planned on drinking on Church Street so we walked there. CUTE neighborhood--5-7 minute walk mostly downhill--and we arrived back around 12am to a quiet house and those fantastic cookies! (The walk back was easy and safe too, though mostly UPHILL when you get close to the Inn, but it made for an excitingly funny drunken adventure!)

The next morning we woke up after a PERFECT nights sleep in our super comfy bed. We had signed up for the 9:00am breakfast so we went downstairs and had the best service while overlooking the backyard. The food was fantastic--great waffles with carmelized banannas on top and fresh, hot coffee.

I'm only sad we stayed for 1 day only because it was completely romantic, calm and a great Burlington Experience! You MUST stay here."

  • Liked — Fresh baked cookies, open access to kitchen, location, beauty, friendly staff
  • Disliked — 3pm check in!
  • Tips/Secrets — The cheaper rooms (with in room bathroom) are just fine, spacious and perfect if you're on a budget!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

I recently stayed at the Inn and thought it was very pleasant. The staff is helpful and friendly and the Inn is lovely. It was also so nice at the end of the day to go back and have coffee and snacks prepared. I particularly enjoyed sitting in the large breafast room and looking out onto the garden.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

What a wonderful experience! This B&B offered everything a traveler could ask for. Lots of charm! Our room had a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Even though the Inn is old, the bathroom did not reflect that. The personalized bath items included the Inn's own lip balm. Nice touch!
The lemonade, ice tea and delicious cookies that were available all day really hit the spot. Breakfast was very tasty and the sitting room was very open and bright. Our innkeeper gave us many recommendations for dinner and they have a book full of menus to choose from too.
I would stay here any time I was in Burlington or in the area.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Address: 349 South Willard Street, Burlington, VT 05401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willard Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.