We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willard Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Save
You added The Willard Street Inn to your Saves list
349 South Willard Street, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Burlington B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
NY, NY
1 review
“Beautiful Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

The Inn is absolutely beautiful, the room (the Perwinkle Room) was cozy, the food was delicious and the staff was warm and welcoming. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! We can't wait to go back. It must be breathtaking in the Spring and Summer!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    41
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
203
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed with Larry and Katie for five nights over Christmas. The inn was decorated beautifully and the snow storm the week before added to the Christmas atmosphere.

We stayed in the Woodhouse Suite (room #8) which has a nice view of the lake this time of year. I'd suspect you'd not be able to see the lake well with leaves on the trees. The room was warm and has an easily operated gas stove. There's a double shower with two heads on each side (each head is a double head too). There were cookies and candies on our bedside table every night.

The morning meals were nothing short of outstanding! You have three breakfast entrees to choose from along with coffee and three choices of juices. Each meal was very well prepared and they are very accomodating with special requests. The breakfast room is very well situated over-looking the rear of the inn with views of the gardens and lake. The room is also filled with various types of plants, some of which are quite large. We had a very nice conversation with Carrie (the GM and daughter) about the history of some of the plants and their care.

The area around the inn is interesting in that Willard St itself is lined with very similar homes. They're quite old and very unique in their architecture. The downtown area is approximately a 3/4 mile walk from the inn, so plan accordingly if you're not into walking much. This is also a factor depending on the time of year (it was cold and snowy for us). However, parking isn't terribly difficult to find in town. Parking in the garages is free for the first two hours and parking on the street is free on Sundays (metered on other days). The downtown area is typical of a mild tourist area in a college town. You'll find many choices for dining and shopping.

There's also a lot to do in the area. My wife and I took a horse drawn sleigh ride, went on a two hour snowmobile tour, toured Ben & Jerry's, visited 21 different covered bridges, and spent a day in Montreal. We didn't have much idle time as there's so much to do.

Larry and Katie were very hospitable and we enjoyed the conversations we had with them. When visiting Burlington, I would not hesitate staying with them again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestown, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We stayed in this Bed and Breakfast in October 07. The Mansion is large, very clean, and comfortable. It is located on the outskirts of Burlington, which makes walking into town a little difficult, but parking is ample and free in some spots. We stayed in the Tower Room, which likely has the best view of Lake Champlain, and has a private bath located across the hall. I believe every other room has an in-room bathroom. The Innkeepers are friendly, and make an attempt to chat with each guest at breakfast. It is the largest Inn in Burlington, and also priced slightly high compared to some of the others. For us, the expense would not allow a prolonged stay, but would definately recommend trying the Willard St. Inn for at least one night. Although pleasant, Burlington may not offer enough attractions to keep your interest more than a couple of days anyway. It is a college town, and often the night life consists of locals who are questionably welcoming. Overall, this is a well kept, professional, large B and B located in a relatively pleasant college town. I'd give it a B.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — price, location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

Stayed two nights at the Inn. It is as wonderful as all the reviews say. Each room is charming in its own way (the lady was kind enough to let us peek in the vacant rooms during the morning cleaning). We stayed in the Adirondack, which had a stunning view of Lake Champlain out of the double windows. My aunt stayed in the Champlain, a very spacious room and bath. Two armchairs overlook the lake and garden. #9 was a girly room with a cute sink tucked away in the bath. Try to get a room on the lake side of the inn to take advantage of distant yet wonderful views.

Take time to enjoy the house while you’re there. We lingered in the sunny solarium after breakfast to finish our coffee and leaf through the Inn’s scrapbooks filled with all articles about Burlington and its attractions. No need to buy a Fodor’s book; just browse their extensive Vermont travel book collection for activity ideas.

In the afternoon we relaxed by the fire in the parlor and helped ourselves to tea and cookies after a pleasant day of shopping. There are many books to enjoy from Life Magazine picture books to novels.

The breakfasts were delectable! There was a choice of three each day. First day was an omelet with smoked gouda, mushrooms, and leeks served with crusty bread and a lot of perfectly ripe fresh fruit. Day two featured scrambled eggs with feta and broccoli. Enjoyed the basket of fresh-baked scones and muffins, too. In fact, the smell of the pumpkin bread wafted into my room and gently woke me up in the morning.

The staff was super helpful in recommending the Oasis Day Spa. They also found a medical supply rental company to provide a wheelchair as one of the ladies in our group broke her ankle just prior to our trip.

We rented a car at very reasonable rate at the airport. Glad to have an advance reservation b/c they were sold out when we arrived. Had wonderful meals at Trattoria Delia and Leunigs. The tasting menu at the latter was out of this world!

The Willard Street Inn was the perfect home base for our October ladies spa weekend. They deserve every rave review you’ve read here at Trip Advisor.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

My sister and I recently stayed at the Inn and loved it. The staff is very attentive and helpful (they helped us with directions each day and recommendations for restaurants). The breakfasts each morning are out of this world!! The Inn is a beautiful, cozy place with a lovely garden. We would definitely return to Burlington and the Willard Street Inn.

  • Liked — cozy old inn
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

Totally agree with all the positive reviews for this place. Room was excellent. Breakfast is served in a lovely conservatory overlooking the garden. Although it proved too 'American' for our tastes they were more than willing to provide plainer food for those who did not want scones, sweet waffles etc for breakfast. The extra touches were wonderful - home made biscuits and mints in the rooms; coffee, tea and cold lemonade plus biscuits and cakes available all day long. Free internet access by the reception desk.
The innkeepers and staff were happy to recommend good restaurants and book them for us. I would advise a car to get downtown if you are going as far as the waterfront in the evening, it's a good mile walk up some pretty steep hills coming back, but otherwise the city is easily accessible by foot from the Inn.
Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Liked — Extras like coffee and lemonade available all day long
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was virtually perfect
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

This was my first stay at the Willard Street Inn, and I must say that it was a wonderful experience. The Inn is lovely, our room was very comfortable, and the innkeeper and staff were very personable. Breakfast was great, and I have never had such delicious scones. It is ideally located, and the treats provided in your room and in the dining room are a bonus.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Address: 349 South Willard Street, Burlington, VT 05401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willard Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.