We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast, beautiful property ,great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willard Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Save
You added The Willard Street Inn to your Saves list
349 South Willard Street, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast, beautiful property ,great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is one of our favorite B & B's . The setting was beautiful ,the breakfast was great with fresh grown herbs, tomatoes and two choices each morning. The afternoon homemade cookies were wonderful. The location was convenient to town. The staff was very helpful telling us about things to see in Burlington. I would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    41
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
209
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Willard Street Inn in early October. We don't typically stay at inns or B&B because we don't like the awkward feeling that can come with staying at small places like that. This place changed our whole perspective. We had a wonderful room that made us feel like we were at home. Comfortable bed, clean room, very nice bathroom. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast the next morning was top notch. We were sad that we were only in town for one night. Next time we go to Burlington we will most certainly stay at this inn. Price wise, it's the same as the other huge chain hotels in the area, so why not stay at a place that makes you feel important, instead of just a number. It's also a very quick walk to Main St. and Church St.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A wonderful property, great neighborhood, beautiful garden and views, very good (and plenty) breakfast. We were welcomed with cookies and died crumberries. We have absolutely nothing to comment against it. Highly recomended (room nr. 6)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau Bay, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the inn, but we wished it had been longer We were in awe when we walked in the front door.......so majestic but so warm and inviting. We felt as if we had stepped back in time but with all the modern conveniences. We met one of the owner and he was so friendly and shared the history of the inn with us. Very interesting.. And who wouldn't love homemade chocolate chip cookies waiting for you in your room. And if that wasn't good enough......homemade cookies were available all day downstairs! Our room was charming. It was small but we knew that when we made the reservation. They made great use of the space. The breakfast was the best breakfasts we had on our 2 week vacation. Just thinking about it makes my mouth water. It's in a beautiful neighborhood and an easy walk downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Incredible Victorian home with stunning 19th Century craftsmanship. The foyer and solarium are magnificent. The service is genuinely friendly and attentive. The owners take great pride in their inn and greeted and treated us like both old friends and honored guests. The first time we came across this inn during a walk around Burlington, the inn was sold out but the owners gave us a guided tour around the old home anyway, highlighting the architecture an history of the inn. Three months later, we just stayed here for the first time and loved it. Breakfast is delicious, and the staff is incredibly helpful and gracious. The location is a comfortable walk to anywhere. Great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Willard Street Inn is such a lovely place to stay when in Burlington VT.It has a charm of its own with warm and comfort all round.The gardens are such a pleasant outlay at the back of the inn and such a peaceful place to relax in..Our stay was for 4days and only sorry we didnt stay more as we were on route to Montreal,The cleanliness and confort of this inn would be hard to follow and with such cleanliness and lovely staff that are here i would recommend this hotel to anybody with peace of mind.Lovely stay!

Room Tip: Whatever room you choose you will not be disappointed,all are lovely in everyway!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Willard Street Inn was the last stop on our trip through Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont. It is a very impressive house on a street of lovely Victorian homes, many now incorporated into the local college. We stayed in Room 2 on the second floor and enjoyed the fact that it was very bright and sunny and even had a window in the bathroom. If you stood on your toes you can even see Lake Champlain through the trees. It's a family run affair and everyone was very hospitable and helpful. The chef puts out two interesting breakfast choices per day, not the usual fare. This is a larger inn (18 rooms) so it is not as intimate as some, but they do a great job of making you feel at home. We loved the fresh cookies and lemonade in the afternoon. We enjoyed the beautiful flowers in the large garden and there is plenty of seating to relax after siteseeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Address: 349 South Willard Street, Burlington, VT 05401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willard Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.