We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch where you step” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Church Street Marketplace

Church Street Marketplace
Main St., Pearl St., Burlington, VT 05401
+1 802-863-1648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 shopping in Burlington
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Flea/ Street Markets
Activities: Dining, Shopping, Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Downtown Burlington Vermont's award-winning open air mall is a hub of activity where you'll find historical architecture, year-round festivals, street entertainers, music, over 100 places to shop and dine, and even quiet places to ponder. We invite you find out about exclusive shopping, dining and events in downtown Burlington as well as to explore the area!
Jericho, Vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“watch where you step”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I had to go "downtown" -- we parked in the Cherry street garage and had to literally step over urine in the already filthy stairway - then the number of less than desirable people between the garage and the "mall" was more than usual - perhaps because it was 10 am on a weekday? people shouting, others draped all over each other, smelly -- then the cigarette smoke on the market place itself was over the top.. we could have signed up a table for welfare benefits though -- the only bright spot - Panera Bread === can't wait until they open in Williston

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    81
    23
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT GETAWAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

when your feeling blue & want to get away just for a short time, Burlington Vermont is the perfect getaway. There is so many chooses of hotels some with breakfast, kitchen, gym, pool. it all depends what you are looking for. the good part is most hotels have wheelchair and special bathroom with handles for people who need help or in wheelchair. i think its important because i sometimes take my mom who is in a wheelchair.
we start with a great breakfast near church street "mirabelles" on main st, great coffee & as soon as you walk in you smell the country smell of cinnamon bread and amazing pastries. or we go to " penny cluse cafe" great pancakes sausages and wow so many good things, dont go there if you are on a diet.then to work out our food we walk down main st and head to lake st to the boardwalk & admire the scenery, its beautiful. shopping at church street, they have small shops, boutiques & dept store macys. lunch we head out to farmers marketplace, its a grocery store but they also have hot meals, sandwiches, all types of great salads, oriental, Greek. amazing country soups. we pick our food and & they have a sitting area where you can eat & relax.in the summer we enjoy different parks and there are so many choices, so much to do in so little time but its definitely a great weekend getaway. i have been going there for 15 years winter and summer & will continue to explore Vermont.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“So much in so small an area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Man, shops and eateries everywhere. Something for just about any want, ned or desirer.

The streets are closed to traffic which makes shopping a lot more comfortable.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced and touristy even in winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Empty. And not very friendly toward the French speaking shoppers. But quaint and a nice place to take a photo or two.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Shopping!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Even in 10 degree weather and a foot of snow on the ground this Orlando, Florida girl loved "their" Church Street. It was full of great shops - even a Macy's on the is downtown street. The street is cut off to vehicles so you can just cross over as many times as you want. Such GREAT SHOPS!!! I could have spent ALL DAY there....Bravo!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Street Marketplace also viewed

 

Been to Church Street Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Street Marketplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Church Street Marketplace to your Saves list