We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare exchange at Ascutney Mt. Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   485 Hotel Road, Brownsville, VT 05037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Timeshare exchange at Ascutney Mt. Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

We stayed at Ascutney Mountain Resort Oct. 14- 21 as a timeshare exchange through Interval International. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in the Hanover Building. We thought the room was average. It could have used a new paint job and a little fixing up but other wise it was a very comfortable room for the 3 of us. One bedroom had a king size bed and the other had 2 twins. The location of the resort was close to Interstate 91 and so we felt we had eacy access to areas we wanted to visit like Bennington, Stowe, Ben and Jerry's in Waterbury,etc. The resort had a nice pamphlet on a driving tour to see local covered bridges. We took a 2-3 hour drive to Kitttery, Maine to have lobster and clam chowder . We did not eat at any of the restaurants at the resort as we were busy sightseeing. The resort staff were all very friendly and we did not encounter any problems.

  • Liked — location to sightseeing
  • Disliked — could have used a little touch up ie: painting, new furniture, wallpaper
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    85
    26
    33
    20
See reviews for
100
60
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WH, CT
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

My family and I stayed at this resort August 12-19, 2006. The first problem came when we checked in. We went to our unit but could not get the doors unlocked, the keys would not work. My wife talked with the front desk and came back to the car complaining about how the desk clerk had treated her cheekily. The desk clerk called security for assistance with the doors. He could not get the doors open either. In past dealings with other resorts/business’ if management screwed up they would compensate for the discrepancy – it seemed we were penalized here. Our room did not have a queen size bed for my wife and me instead we had two bedrooms with full size beds. I am glad it wasn’t very hot as the only thing available for “cooling” were fans. According to our exchange policy we should get a unit that is comparable to our home unit, which did not happen here. The facility looks as if they cut corners in construction of the buildings. Parts of the ceiling in our unit were failing off. It was better and more comfortable than a motel room, nice view of the mountain, quite country surroundings and places to see but not so much for our children.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

We stayed there recently, and paid close to $200/night for a 2 bdrm apartment. While we were aware that the apt did not come with an AC, they only had 2 fans for the entire place, which were barely sufficient. We requested 2 more, but they could only provide one. They said that providing another one "could be a problem" even though the place was half empty! The windows in the rooms had broken nets, and I had to physically tape them to avoid a flood of insects in the night! Our room was not serviced/cleaned AT ALL the next day. When I spoke to the manager about it, she was completely non-chalant and couldn't give two hoots about why the cleaning staff had failed to clean the room. And the next day, they barely changed the towels. They didn't bother to replace the toiletries, vacuum the floors, clean the ktichen, replace ktichen rolls, toilet paper, NOTHING! On talking to the manager again, she said that they only clean "if they see a need for it." WHAT NONSENSE! What about replacing the toiletries etc? Is that left to the discretion of the cleaning staff? I've never heard such a preposterous suggestion. Either you clean or you don't. Simple. They bill themselves as a full-service establishment (and charge for it), even though they're far from it.

In short, really bad management. The place needs to hire people who are competent enough to run the place. The teenager who was checking people in had more common sense than the incompetent manager.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend,Ma.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

It never occurred to me, when paying $200.00 a night to CHECK to see if the place had a.c., or a blow dryer, or complimentary coffee. Man, these are "givens" even in a Motel 6. Horrified we were, to find the rm. sweltering. Front desk gentleman reassured us that it would "cool off enough at night to sleep." whipeeee. Ants all over our dinner table in the tavern. Desperate and sad, we go to DVD rental machine..not working. Front desk says "oh yeah, sometimes we gotta unplug it and plug it back in." ??? Off to the gift shop to PURCHASE coffee for a dollar a pot for the coffee maker. Their web site does not make these "out" buildings clear nor pictured, nor does it mention how FAR it is to main bldg and pools...you gotta DRIVE there. Okay, so we head down in car for advertised "weekend country buffet breakfast"...nobody in sight!! We are told.."oh, sorry. we have a lg party of 200 this wkend and didnt think we could pull off the buffet too"...yet we were given this advertisement on check in. It all couldnt have been worse and we couldnt have been more disappointed. Don't go here!!! All our saddness fell on deaf ears...they couldn't have cared less. Still no response to my email to them either. [----------]was, however, verry supportive.

  • Liked — room was pretty
  • Disliked — No air conditioning!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go in any season other than perhaps winter!!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NH
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Ascutney Mountain "Resort" this past weekend (July 21, 2006) for two nights. There is no AC, no elevators, the rooms are really old...and actually have a metal key. We were up in an attic room and it was not dormered. There was no hair dryer, our tilt in window didn't open because someone installed a screen (bee infestation) and the rails made it phyically impossible to open it. Our TV's power button was broken off and we had no tv remote and had to call the desk to have them drop one off which took around 15 minutes. The walls are paper thin and I would never stay here again. Go ten minutes north and stay at White River Junction. This place might be decent and more staffed in the winter and should only be stayed at then.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — No Air Conditioning, small room on the third floor in the attic
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at White River Junction, they have a Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Etc.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

To start off check in is at 5pm. Of course we showed up at 3:30. Most places this isnt a problem. We travel a lot. When check in is 1 or 2 you can not expect a room to be ready. But lots of times they are. Why, cuz the staff is busy doing their job. When I was told the room wasnt ready that was fine with me. The Tavern in the resort wasnt open till 4:30 so we went up the road to the New England BBQ Championships. That was cool. Back to the resort at 6:10. Still not ready. The woman behind the desk was aggravated with me. Me? I wasnt pissy or rolling my eyes or complaining in any way. Finally at 6:30 we get the room key. We travel up the mountain, the tar portion of the road had lots of potholes but lucky for us it wasnt tar long. The dirt road had just as many pot holes. The building was in rough shape. The other buildings look like they may be getting a face lift not this one. I went to put the key in the door and it opened. Get it? I didnt unlock or turn the handle. It just opened. We tried it several times. Sometimes it would lock sometimes not. Ok were in. The bathroom was dirty. Toilet paper on the floor. Hair in the sink. Give me a break. What was housekeeping doing? The room is small with no ac. Good thing the bed was a king and comfy.The walls are very thin you could everything the guest next to you was doing. Everything, get it. I am taking a shower and the fire alarm goes off. I thought it was someone else nope wave a towel by the sensor and off it goes. I wanted another room. NO chance full up. I wanted a refund. No chance. I am not a happy camper but maybe some food and a drink will help. Down to the Tavern we go. There is like20 tables 1 waiter 1 waitress. Of course they are stressed and not happy. The food was good. It took forever and dont ask for anything at all cuz they didnt have time. Last winter was not a good snow year. This place has been out of business before. They are short staffing the place and cutting corners. I paid 119 a night for a 60 a night room tops. There is lots to see and do in this area. Just dont stay here. Now if you are going there to ski that might be a different story. Ask someone that has skied there. I am reviewing the resort. Dont waste your money.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — stay in white river junction
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

We traded our timeshare week in Maui for this, in order to use the week and visit with family from New York. It served its purpose, which was a place to sleep. We stayed on the road most days, tubing the white river near by and whale watching off the Mass. coast with 7 Seas Whale Watch ( and THEY are great!)
No Air, and we were there in the hot summer, but opened the windows and had fans.
Furnishings leave a lot to be desired but are servicable, outside pool in need of repair, Lobster dinner on premises was excellent.
No comparison to our place in Maui, but we enjoyed haveing the time to visit with family and "made do" with these accommadations. Just dont expect anything great.

  • Liked — lobster dinner
  • Disliked — upkeep of premises
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort

Address: 485 Hotel Road, Brownsville, VT 05037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brownsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This vibrant resort is tucked away in the rolling New England countryside away from the bustle of daily life making it the perfect spot to truly get away from it all. Ascutney Mountain Resort is a year-round indoor and outdoor recreational playground for nature lovers and adventurers alike. Whether hitting the areas ski slopes, touring historic covered bridges, enjoying one of the nearby golf courses, or simply gazing upon the magnificent palette of crimson and gold of autumn in New England, you'll find activities for every taste. In winter we are located in the heart of more than 150 acres of groomed slopes and trails. Visitors will enjoy alpine and cross-country skiing, as well as snowboarding and snow tubing on a variety of trails offering more than 1,530 feet of vertical drop and 32 kilometers of freshly groomed cross-country trails. The resort also offers a learning center and ski camps to help skiers of all skill levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Hotel Brownsville
Holiday Inn Brownsville
Brownsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.