We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for skiiers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   485 Hotel Road, Brownsville, VT 05037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great resort for skiiers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Over the years, we've stayed in numerous condos which cater to skiiers but Ascutney is the best to date. It is about 25 mins to Okemo and 45 min to Killington. We had booked a 3 bedroom condo for the last week of Dec/first week of Jan. Our unit had been updated with a new kitchen, new living room and carpet. The bathrooms had new vanities in them but the water pressure in the showers was quite poor. The mattresses were fairly new and in great condition - even the pullout sofa. We ate dinner at the restaurant on site and it was standard fare. We also tried their breakfast bar which is a great bargain at $5 for eggs/bacon/bagels/cereal, etc.

The only thing which stops me from giving it 5 stars is a few maintenance/operational issues. When we checked in, the kitchen had not been totally prepared. The garbage had not been emptied and 3/4 of the kitchen was still sitting in the dishwasher. We were short kitchen garbage bags and did not have any potholders/oven mitts.. At one point during the stay, our building ran out of hot water and we were asked to be conservative since we were running on reserves for about 24 hours until the issue was fixed. Also, the living room was so drafty, it did not get above 65 degrees. However, when we called about the cold, a maintenance man was at our door within 5 minutes with extra heaters.

Overall, the staff is immensely helpful and attentive and quick to try to rectify any issues you may have. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I was happy to see that overall you had a very pleasant experience.

I appreciate your comments about some of the heating issues. We will certainly make the effort to address these and find solutions.

I am always happy to get feedback from our guests, positive or negative and always sharing with my team.

We look forward to seeing you in the future. Take Care and Happy Traveling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    83
    26
    32
    20
See reviews for
98
60
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Overall a good,clean property. Staff was very friendly and attentive - no issues there at all. Rooms were clean although somewhat dated. Only issues we had were: 1) the first night (2 night stay) somewhere in the same building , someone let their kids run around and scream until almost midnight - we are early risers and go to bed early, the rooms aren't very soundproof. 2) the fact that they don't change linens or towels every day (unless you pay extra) needs to be brought up at check-in. It's in the one page FAQ they hand out - but who reads that? 3) Bathrooms are small - no room to hold toiletries on a shelf or counter 4) Bathroom was dark - only lights were over the vanity mirror - when the shower curtain was closed it was hard to see what you were doing. Recommend adding a ceiling light. 5) Need a mirror in the bedroom. 6) Showerhead sprays in a big circle around the rim, but nothing in the center - take a long time to rinse off. All in all only average value for the price you pay for the rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get an end room in an outbuilding or the upper floor in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for giving us such a nice review. We certainly enjoy hearing from our guests and glad you have a great stay overall. I will certainly pass on your comments to my staff.

Thank you as well for the comments about the unit and information. We will certainly discuss and see if there are ways we can make improvements. I wish you and your family a very Happy New Year and hope you'll return some day to Vermont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Was there with friends for the week beginning Dec 1 , 2012 . Everything from the immaculate and large unit to the friendly staff always with a smile . The views of the countryside and the now closed ski area picturesque . They have a great full size indoor pool and great exercise room . An outside seasonal pool . While there two desk staff Emily and Christina were always very friendly and accomodating. Also had to call there maintenance staff for a couple minor questions and they were promp . If you wand to relax and use your accomodation for that this is the place but they have lots to offer within short drives such as covered bridges , Harpoon
Brewery , Woodstock VT and so many other points of interest within a short drive . I highly reccomend this resort .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We certainly appreciate it. We are always so happy when guests with their friends are visiting and have the ability to enjoy the resort and the surrounding area. I will be sure to pass on you kind words to our Front Desk and Maintenance staff. They are always so appreciative to hear they are making an impact.

I hope you'll have the ability to visit us again in the future. In the meantime, have a very Happy Holiday season and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, PA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had a terrific experience at this hotel. It is a very comfortable, warm place. I was on business for just one night and wish I'd been able to stay longer. The hotel is very updated and modern while maintaining a ski lodge mountain type of atmosphere. My room was a 2 bedroom 2 bath villa with kitchen, living area, balcony and fireplace.

Staff was friendly and helpful, the restaurant was welcoming with good microbrews and the fitness center was a highlight. The fitness center is huge with a full weight room, cardio room, racquetball courts and pool. The highlight really is that they offer complimentary classes throughout the day. I checked in just in time to go to a spinning/strength class.

I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are all so happy you enjoyed your visit. I share your comments with the rest of my staff and they will be thrilled to see they made a difference. We will certainly look forward to your visit in the future. Take Care and happy traveling, AMY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

As an Orange Lake (Florida)Timeshare owner, I have been spoiled with top of the line amenties, beautiful grounds, golf courses, numerous restaurants, and activities. This property is very modest. Notwithstanding, the unit was exceptionally large and their fitness center and heated indoor pool were very good. If you are looking for a good not great Vermont vacation then this property would meet average expectations. The location was not bad with shopping, restaurants, and activities as close as 15 minutes away in Windsor or many more choices within the hour. Only bad note was that the mattress were uncomfortable and likely of lesser standard than other Holiday Inn properties. Otherwise, the remaining timeshare items including furniture, bathrooms, and kitchen equipment were nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Yes, unlike our sister property in Orlando, our amenities are limited. I was happy to see that you enjoyed the local attractions. I will certainly share your comments with my staff. You comments help us to do all we can to meet the expectations of our guests and owners.

I hope you may have the chance to visit us again in the future. We are always looking for new ways to enhance the resort and experiences for our guests. Until then, take care and Happy Trraveling, AMY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I love the small towns in this area. Sidewalks roll up at night so don't expect an exciting nightlife here. This is VT not NYC. Had the one bedroom villa. Villa area very spacious but bedroom and bathroom are very small. Lots of stairs. Even on "ground" (2nd?) floor. Laundry room, pond, trails, all very nice. Staff SO friendly! Stayed 4 nights this time. Previously had week long 3 bedrooms. Grew up next door so familiar with the area. I absolutely love "running the roads" as we would call it. Beautiful vistas! Live in FL now so the cool weather and turning foliage were very nice. Lots to do (for the country) lots to see. When you come to Vermont, leave the city behind and enjoy what VT is really known for. Foliage? Mountains? No! It's friendly people!! They're top notch and trustworthy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments. Yes, you are right, Vermont is well know for it's autumn foliage and quiet, small, cozy towns. I do agree that our friendly staff help to make all that seem even more charming. We take great pride in helping you enjoy your visit. I hope you will have the chance to visit us again. Until then, take care and Happy Traveling, AMY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosh ha'ayin,Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely place during a family vacation (5 people). The resort is very convenient, We had a vila with two floors - 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, at the first floor there is a nice big living room with fully equipped kitchen. At the first night we had been at Browns tavern which is the only resturant at the site - it was a bad experience - we stayed more than 10 min. waiting to be seeted, until we got in and sitted by ourself, there was only 1 waiter for the whole place who was also the barmen, the food was not warm enough and the prices are expensive - we did not came back to this place.
The fitness center is amazing - olympic pool extraordinnary gym - we enjoyed it very much.
The beds are not big and sleeping quality was not than OK.
staff was nice and also we had a free movie with popcorn every night.
We did not had breakfast on their facility but cooked our own - and it was very nice.
To sum - it is a good nice place for a family vacation and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
My thanks for all of your great comments and service evaluations.

I was happy to see you enjoyed the unit. I will pass on your comments about the restaurant service. It is always important to understand our guest's dining expectation. Quick acknowledgement, well prepared food and attentive service are all a priority. My apologies that we did not meet up with those expectations.

I hope you'll have an opportunity to visit the resort again. We strive to make every guest experience a great one.

Take Care and Happy Traveling, AMY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort

Address: 485 Hotel Road, Brownsville, VT 05037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brownsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This vibrant resort is tucked away in the rolling New England countryside away from the bustle of daily life making it the perfect spot to truly get away from it all. Ascutney Mountain Resort is a year-round indoor and outdoor recreational playground for nature lovers and adventurers alike. Whether hitting the areas ski slopes, touring historic covered bridges, enjoying one of the nearby golf courses, or simply gazing upon the magnificent palette of crimson and gold of autumn in New England, you'll find activities for every taste. In winter we are located in the heart of more than 150 acres of groomed slopes and trails. Visitors will enjoy alpine and cross-country skiing, as well as snowboarding and snow tubing on a variety of trails offering more than 1,530 feet of vertical drop and 32 kilometers of freshly groomed cross-country trails. The resort also offers a learning center and ski camps to help skiers of all skill levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Hotel Brownsville
Holiday Inn Brownsville
Brownsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.