We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant villa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   485 Hotel Road, Brownsville, VT 05037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Seacoast NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasant villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed with 2 friends in a 2 bedroom villa. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was ok, but the selections were underwhelming and a little pricey. We were starving and it was late, so it worked. Our villa was clean and spacious. We were busy during the day at a nearby event, so we really didn't make full use of the room or the resort, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again - and likely will. It was a good value for the money.

The beds were comfortable. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and spacious. The furnishings were not fancy, but were up to date and comfortable. There is no cell phone service.

We were very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of the resort during your recent stay. We truly value all of our guest comments. I have shared them with my staff. It is great to know that you will return again. We look forward to that visit.

Please don't hesitate to let us know while you are visiting if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Take Care and Happy Traveling, AMY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    83
    26
    31
    20
See reviews for
97
59
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We expected more. The accommodations are great, the staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is lacking. The dinners are a little pricey, which would be ok but salad is alacart and no bread with dinner. The waitress was way to shy and we never saw her except when she took our order, brought the food and brought the check. The food was ok. This being a Holiday Inn property I would have thought it would be better. We went and bought food and ate in our room.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of the resort and especially our restaurant. In our effort to meet the expectation of our guests, your comments are very valuable to us. I have already shared them with our restaurant staff.

I hope you'll have an opportunity to return in the future. Take Care and Happy Traveling, AMY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I spent 3 wonderful days at the Ascutney resort in the one bedroom unit with my partner and 14 year old daughter. The unit was extremely clean and had all the amenities of home. Kitchen was fully equiped which permitted us to enjoy home-cooked breakfasts and dinners. Furnishings were very modern and nicely appointed including a large flat screen tv and gas fireplace.The only minor problem we encountered was the quality of the mattresses both in the bedroom and the sofa bed in the living room.
I also found the service to be exceptional. Housekeeping staff and front desk were very helpful and quick to respond to our needs. The grounds are beautiful and very well-maintained in the summer time . All in all, perfect little getaway as a family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of the resort. We value your comments and use them to evaluate our service, amenities and other guest expectations. I will certainly share your great observations with our staff.

I hope you'll have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Take Care and Happy Traveling, AMY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent one night there for a local wedding. The room was clean but not spacious. Other members of our party had some mechanical problems, but not us. Bed super comfy.

We didn't eat there, so I can't comment on any of that. Would have liked to have a coffee maker in the room, though.

The outdoor pool was large and the water was crystal clean. The patio area could have used a bit more shade. The towels for the pool were a bit threadbare too, but plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the resort. Your comments are valuable to us and we use them to evaluate our guest expectations. I will certainly pass on your observations to my staff.

Take Care and Happy Traveling, AMY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozone Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My family booked a 3 bedroom Villa with a full kitchen for our week's family vacation together. This resort’s location is PERFECT for those looking to spend quality time with their family away from their busy city life. We spent most of our time enjoying the resort’s amenities, cooking family dinners together and site seeing in the Town of Windsor, the birthplace of Vermont.

The resort accommodations were clean, modern, and spacious. The Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Ascutney Mountain Resort Amenities includes Business Services, Health and Fitness Center (On-site), High-speed Internet Access, Entertainment and Recreation, and Activities and Services for Children. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledge. All the qualities needed to assist their guest to make a more enjoyable vacationing experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for the wonderfule comments. I will certainly share them with my team. We do pride ourselves on being a great retreat for families as well as a "hub" for enjoying a lot of our local venues. We hope you'll have an opportunity to return some day. Take Care and Happy Traveling, AMY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We live only 2 hours away from this resort and as I write this, I am on the property. My Mother owns at Orange Lake in Florida and booked this resort for a weeks getaway. My husband and I are owners at Diamond Resorts International.

This resort lies at the base of a closed ski center. I would imagine that this ski center in the winter now looks like a ghost town with the remnants of an era gone by. The rumor is that the present owner of the ski center is selling its ski lifts off one by one. With the ski center not being open in the winter, I would imagine that the Holiday Inn Vacation Club resort is hurting in the winter due to its closure. This is sad.

This is an average resort. Everything was clean when we arrived in the Essex building. Our Condo is nice but it definitely has a strange layout. Upon arrival, our ice-maker was not working, after several attempts over 2 days, they still were unable to fix it. So we are still without the ability to make ice however, the maintenence man said that they would bring ice to us anytime that we needed it.

We are staying in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit. The bathrooms are the smallest I have seen at any timeshare resort thus far. They are tiny. Also the bath towels are thin and small. Again something that we aren't used to. The furnishings in the living room are updated and the room is nicely decorated. The kitchen has stainless steel appliances and is fully equipped with everthing that you need. There is a flat screen TV in the living room however the bedrooms have old TV's. There are plenty of closets for storage!

The grounds here leave much to be desired. I believe that this property could use an over-haul in their landscaping. Plantings around the buildings would make the resort esthetically more pleasing to the eye. The road leading to the Essex building could use re-paving.

The design layout of the resort is also a bit strange. The pool and fitness center are towards the front entrance and quite a bit of a hike from the back buildings. The Holiday Inn Vacation Club purchased the property this way so there is not much they could do about the layout of everything.

We have been to Orange Lake in Orlando and it is beautiful! While I can say that the Florida property deserves a top rating, this one cannot compare. However, we are in Vermont and are engulfed by the beauty of the surrounding area. Woodstock and Quechee Gorge are a short drive from this resort.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your resort review. Your comments go a long way in helping us improve and meet your expectation. It is sad about the ski mountain. We have every hope that some day it will reopen. I appreciate your comments about the landscaping. It is certainly a work in progress and each year we strive to make new improvements. I hope if you visit again next year you will notice the difference. I hope you continue to have a pleasant visit and please do not hesitate to reach out if there is anything you need during the rest of your visit. Happy Traveling, AMY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayville
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The place was excellent and away from everything. The shops and stores were a short drive which was nice. We had a full kitchen, which we used half the time. The food at the resort was excellent. They have people on staff to give young and old nice activities. I watch a lot of People Mountain biking up and down the ski slope. My wife and I walked the paths checking out the flowers and wild life. As the sun was setting we went to the pond and watched the beavers.

Day trips we went to Simon Pearce Glass and watched the blow glass and make pottery. We spent half the day there watching and talking to the craftsman. We also went to VINS, antiques stores, shops and historical places in Quechee and Woodstock. Quechee Gorge qas a great walk. There is things we would have loved to seen and do, so it will have to wait for next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We are set in a lovely setting. I enjoy seeing the wildlife, green trees and other Vermont attractions as well. Hopefully you'll have the chance to return some day....take care and happy traveling, AMY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort

Address: 485 Hotel Road, Brownsville, VT 05037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brownsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This vibrant resort is tucked away in the rolling New England countryside away from the bustle of daily life making it the perfect spot to truly get away from it all. Ascutney Mountain Resort is a year-round indoor and outdoor recreational playground for nature lovers and adventurers alike. Whether hitting the areas ski slopes, touring historic covered bridges, enjoying one of the nearby golf courses, or simply gazing upon the magnificent palette of crimson and gold of autumn in New England, you'll find activities for every taste. In winter we are located in the heart of more than 150 acres of groomed slopes and trails. Visitors will enjoy alpine and cross-country skiing, as well as snowboarding and snow tubing on a variety of trails offering more than 1,530 feet of vertical drop and 32 kilometers of freshly groomed cross-country trails. The resort also offers a learning center and ski camps to help skiers of all skill levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Hotel Brownsville
Holiday Inn Brownsville
Brownsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.