We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice mountain,lousy management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   485 Hotel Road, Brownsville, VT 05037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Peekskill, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice mountain,lousy management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

We've been going to Ascuney on and off for 5 years, and keep hoping things improve, but they never do. We were there the week of Feb 2-8th. There was plenty of natural snow, but only 3 lifts were open , including the bunny hill ! The high speed quad that they brag about was closed the entire week, so we were all stuck on the interminably slow triple. THe lift operators told us the quad was closed since December ; even the double was closed , which usually provides nice access to the left side of the mtn for my kids. As a result , some of the nicest trails were inaccessible. It seems that management always seems to focus on gearing up for the peak President's Week only; everyone else during the other weeks can take it as is or leave it.
It was hard to find a manger who cared. There seemed to be foreign exchange students working inevery aspect of the resort, who really didn't have the working knowledge necessary to be manning positons of authority.
The pool was as usual, cold and green, and poorly lit. Except now it has a layer of brown foam insulation on the ceiling instead of peeling paint.
On a positive note, the trails that were open were well groomed, and that Wed's snow gave great results. Browns Tavern is always a pleasure, esp the live music from the local artists. The rooms were clean, and relatively well maintained. Just don't forget to lock your valuables, as we had our videorecorder stolen from our room 2 years ago.The response:" This never happens in Vermont ."
This is ok for families with young kids. Anyone who is looking for a challenging mountain may be disappointed, esp if 40% of the lifts are closed and you're paying full price.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    85
    26
    33
    20
See reviews for
100
60
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

Under the new management team, the mountain resort has gone downhill. We have been a loyal customer for over 9 years and with the new management everything has seemingly changed for the worse. First, the ski pass program/marketing has eliminated the MAX Pass, which was an excellent family bargain. This is a poor marketing decision, now with its exclusion; the offered Season Passes are prohibitively expensive (like the “big” resorts.) The resort has lost its family charm and the facility’s infrastructure is in disrepair. Comparing the base lodge to other resorts, it is outdated and lacking the modern facilities/ amenities that one would come to expect, especially with the aggressive marketing this resort has been doing. Unfortunately, you have lost a long-time customer - we no longer ski at Ascutney.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

Recently we traded some of our timeshare points for a long weekend here. I can't say anything bad about the resort. The people at the front desk were polite and our room was brand new. The pool area extremely clean and kept up. The ski school was awesome with my daughter Definitely a place to come back to. Great for families.

  • Liked — slopeside skiing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

We got a Christmas week at this Ascutney Mountain Resort by a timeshare exchange. The best thing about the resort is that you are on your skis right out of the hotel door. What can be better? The problem is management which must be completely incompetent. They managed to turn gold into lead. During the Christmas week, the hottest week for skiing, the resort looks like dead. And there is a very good reason for it: there are no slopes to ski! The resort claims that there are 57 trails. During our stay only 6 were opened. None of them were black, two were blue, and two green (if one goes from green to blue or vise versa, it will give two more slopes). Every day management promised to make snow and never did. At the same time, on Okemo, which is about half hour away from Ascutney, 104 out 117 trails were opened and they were making snow nonstop.
In short, if you plan to go to Ascutney for skiing, do not make this mistake.

  • Liked — One can start skiing right out of the door
  • Disliked — There are no trails to skii
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

After hearing of the exciting changes that were promised for the new ski season and because New England had received so much snow, we decided to try Ascutney Mountain again. Ugh!
This resort has so much promise, it's disappointing the way the management treats its property.
They advertise 95% snow-making but we neither saw nor heard of any recent snow-making and the trails were only open at the lower part of the mountain. When we asked, we were told different stories about broken equipment, frozen pipes, bad weather - all the same stories we had heard over the years. So, there were only 20 trails open when most of the other resorts were in full operation top to bottom.
The last day of the trip we had some decent natural snowfall which finally opened most of the trails but there's more. They advertise 1800 vertical (which, on a few occasions is magnificent) but they did not operate their new high speed quad so only 1500 vertical on a very slow triple-chair ride was available for our full-priced tickets. You wouldn't believe what they told us about why the quad wasn't running. And still, no snow-making.
By the way, the grooming is generally horrible. It doesn't bother me because I like it that way, but to hear so many people complain, it's obviously bad for business and this resort could flourish with some effort. Right now, it's not a place for the average skier.
The management misses the point not only on the big things but little details like broken toilets, heavily damaged carpeting, brushing snow off the lift seats and often lacking a fire in the base-lodge fireplace.
Well, maybe we'll try again in a few months. With a little care and better marketing sense this resort would be terrific.

  • Disliked — The ski experience was disappointing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

RUN.... do not walk... AWAY from this place! The resort is in a beautiful setting and has nicely appointed rooms. Unfortunately it also has surly service, incompetent management, many things which need repair/renovation and was a huge disappointment. Here's why:

(1) Our room was not as booked and confirmed in advance by phone. We were sent to the Essex building, where half the suite had no electricity and where workmen were doing construction on an earth-mover ten feet from our window. Past 8:30 pm. And dumping new shingles on the roof at thirty second intervals.

(2) Our room in the "air conditioned Windham building" had NO air conditioning, nor could the A/C be fixed (it needs major replacement). On the hottest weekend of July, the entire place was like opening an oven while baking cookies and unfit to live in.

(3) The one fan provided (bedroom) did not work and it took hours to get a replacement. When the front desk called maintenance (while I was standing there), the maintenance man yelled via walkie talkie "Where the hell am I supposed to get more fans?".

(4) The general manager cannot be reached outside regular business hours and so could not be spoken to until the following day.

(5) None of the resort's outdoor lighting was turned on. Do you have any idea how DARK it gets after sunset on a mountain in Vermont? It makes unpacking the car difficult and walking from building to building virtually impossible.

(6) The hotel has only one ice machine....in the basement. The one beverage vending machine (next to the ice machine) was "out of order" the entire four days we were there.

(7) The "activities room" was so hot it was unbearable being there for more than a minute at a time. It has two nice billiard tables. Bothe were marked "out of order" for our entire stay. The nearby "reading room" was nicely decorated and had lots of bookshelves--- all empty. Not even a brochure to read.

(8) There is no in-room coffee, no iron, no ironing board, no complimentary newspaper. In 2007, when every other hotel (even budget motels) offer all the above.

(9) There are precisely TWO carts with which to move one's luggage in or out. For the entire resort.

The entire experience was chaotic, to say the least and left us with a very very bad impression. In meeting the general manager, he explained that he had only been there for a month, major renovations were planned, additional service staff were to be hired, etc etc. Who cares? Why wasn't the resort CLOSED while all the above were taking place? In my many trips to the front desk, there were always other guests complaining about things not working, rooms too hot, asking to be moved, etc etc. I honestly wonder how this place stays in business. I know we will not be back--- ever.

The ONE bright spot of our entire stay was the effort put forth by the food & beverage manager (Pam B.) the night of our arrival. Although it was not her responsibility, she went out of her way to find us some additional fans, invited us to the bar for a complimentary drink and even scrounged up some food for us after the kitchen had closed. She was pleasant, professional, welcoming and the only example of "customer service" we experienced during our entire stay.

  • Liked — Checking OUT
  • Disliked — Lack of air conditioning and amenities
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

After reading less than stellar reviews on this resort, we approached our June 2 - 9 time share trade with some trepidation. Fortunately we experienced none of the problems encountered by previous guests. Our accommodations were clean and the staff was pleasant. The area is great for anyone wanting a low key vacation involving hiking, sightseeing, and enjoying the historical areas of southeast Vermont/southwest New Hampshire. There was not much activity at the resort itself, but the pools and several buildings were undergoing major renovation while we were there. We had a relaxing quiet week at Ascutney. Just what we were looking for. I agree with a previous writer who indicated this place is a jewel in the rough. Whether management has improved, or our experience was a fluke, we cannot say.

  • Liked — Clean and roomy, comfortable space
  • Disliked — Couch was uncomfortable
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort

Address: 485 Hotel Road, Brownsville, VT 05037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brownsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This vibrant resort is tucked away in the rolling New England countryside away from the bustle of daily life making it the perfect spot to truly get away from it all. Ascutney Mountain Resort is a year-round indoor and outdoor recreational playground for nature lovers and adventurers alike. Whether hitting the areas ski slopes, touring historic covered bridges, enjoying one of the nearby golf courses, or simply gazing upon the magnificent palette of crimson and gold of autumn in New England, you'll find activities for every taste. In winter we are located in the heart of more than 150 acres of groomed slopes and trails. Visitors will enjoy alpine and cross-country skiing, as well as snowboarding and snow tubing on a variety of trails offering more than 1,530 feet of vertical drop and 32 kilometers of freshly groomed cross-country trails. The resort also offers a learning center and ski camps to help skiers of all skill levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Hotel Brownsville
Holiday Inn Brownsville
Brownsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.