We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Ate There Twice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariel's Restaurant

Ariel's Restaurant
29 Stone Rd, Brookfield, VT 05036
802-276-3939
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Brookfield
Restaurant details
Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We Ate There Twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

... in just four days. Nice atmosphere. Attentive and friendly -- but not patronizing -- staff. Fine dining without outrageous prices. Bravo! Do make a reservation.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    6
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Family Jewels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This place is cut like the finest diamond and set in an old copper band. Run by a family that knows what it is doing, Ariel's Restaurant is worth the drive through winding dirt roads, along cool streams and into Vermont's most carefully conserved Village.

This is the place to: celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary, take business associates who love good food and will be shocked to find it in such a hidden little corner, ply your wife with food and drink so that she will forgive whatever it is that you did, or treat yourself to a luxurious, slow, luscious experience.

I've been about 9 times over the last few years and each time I am amazed. The service is so personal and careful, the wine guy (husband) takes his time and you feel like he gives a hoot , the chef (wife) sends out plates of perfection from a tiny kitchen, and there are some red-headed kids running around doing this and that.

Deserts are especially effective. And wine. And the little pond that Brookfield sits by.

Can't recommend it highly enough.

Oh!@@@@@ You have to make reservations. Seriously. I went once and they were closed for a special event. Make Reservations. Make Reservations. It's a long way out there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candler
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We've eaten at Ariel's through the years and it always pleases. Lee has an incredible way of pairing unique tastes to present a dish that is truly one of a kind. Richard understands how to pair with an excellent beverage. Always had impeccable service.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Vermont meals served here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The food is heaven sent as are the wines. They use local foods and herbs. Delicious!
The owners are very friendly and accommodating.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Good but Not Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Having read that this is one of the best restuarants in Vermont perhaps meant that our expectations were too high. Our starters and desserts were very good but the mains fell well short of our expectations. The scallops, that I had, were nice but nothing special and the lamb, that my wife had, was particularly disappointing and was covered in too much black pepper.
We had been really looking forward to eating at Areil's and although we enjoyed the overall experience it did not quite come up to our expectations.
There was way too much black pepper which spolit the flavour

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ariel's Restaurant also viewed

Been to Ariel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariel's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.