We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, seasonal food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's
1868 North Route 116, Bristol, VT 05443
(802) 453-2432
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 17
Description: "A visit to Vermont and missing Mary's is like visiting Paris and missing the Eiffel Tower" -Vermont Magazine
Middlebury, Vermont, United States
1 review
“Great, seasonal food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It's definitely a homey Vermont experience. The menus are seasonal, so we try to go at least once a season to check out what's available. In the summer the lobster rolls are great. In the fall and winter, anything with root vegetables is great. I always order off the specials menu, because they are actually truly special. It's an elegant place but still good for families (at least those whose kids are used to restaurants). Experienced, knowledgeable staff.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, VT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful time at the Home for the Holidays Cooking Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a delightful afternoon with Chef Doug Mack while he gave us tips and shared recipes that can be used for the holidays. Very relaxed atmosphere, wonderful easy to duplicate recipes, and great hands-on experience in an intimate setting. After the tour of the greenhouses and seeing their own chickens, we sat down to dine on the great food we had prepared. Delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, VT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy stop - especially for the soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The garlic soup reportedly won an award as "best soup in Vermont," and it's unbelievable. Probably full of heavy cream and butter, but who cares - it's worth it. Don't order a salad because bread and the soup will do enough before the entree and then the homemade desserts...yum! Price depends on what you select. You won't get out of there for less than $100 without drinks (for two), but if you order intelligently, it's worth the price. I thought the bread was dry (the reason for one less star), but the Inn looks like a great place to stay. Would be unbelievable to stay here on a Saturday into Sunday morning and get brunch here. Yummy. A food-lover's weekend. I hear the outdoor dining in the warm weather is quite nice, but I can't report on it. The owner said that the Internet directions are almost always wrong. If you're coming from Hinesburg on 116, it's on your left before the turn off to Lincoln and before getting into Bristol. From the South, go through town, go past the turn right to Lincoln, and it's coming up on your right. Beautiful grounds. Chef has been doing his work since 1983, and they have cooking classes and special nights where people "try out" the possible menu items for the next season.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beer and food pairing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have done the special beer and food pairing event twice now and it has been our best night out. We learn a lot about the beer as well as have great food with it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marys is a Vermont Icon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Have to absolutely love this place. First the setting is right of the book of what Vermont is supposed to look like---a beautiful old rambling farm house set back in the trees. As to the food, Chef Doug, uses top-flight local ingredients to create one masterpiece after another. Friendly attentive service. It doesn't get much better than Marys.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's also viewed

 

Been to The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.