We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1868 Crosby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brattleboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1868 Crosby House
Save
You added 1868 Crosby House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   175 Western Avenue, Brattleboro, VT 05301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Comfortable ,warm and friendly
Wonderful gardens and plenty of parking

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
83
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This was our second visit to this hotel because we liked it so much the first time. We were not disappointed. Lynn and her husband are excellent hosts - warm and friendly and very attentive to our needs. The house is absolutely beautiful and clean. Our breakfast was again superb - so good, in fact, that my wife requested the recipe. In talking to other guests, it seems that most are repeat visitors - there can be no better testimonial than that!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We were in Brattleboro, VT for a friends wedding. The innkeepers were very flexible with us and gave us a key to the house so we didn't need to worry about what time we got in from the wedding. The entire house and grounds were spectacular and I wish I had a room at home so lovely! Maintenance on the grounds and house was perfect. The innkeepers have stayed very true to the style of the house but have also made it very modern and comfortable. We stayed in the Winter Solace room which was very spacious, gave us plenty of room and had its own air conditioner to battle the hot July heat. The best thing about our stay and the room was that it felt like home rather than a hotel which was a very nice change for traveling.

Breakfast was amazing and you could not leave hungry. We had delicious french toast-style orange croissants with bacon the first day and ham and egg souffles the second. The innkeeper was also very attentive to any dietary needs. There was an area to get fresh coffee or tea at any time of day and a tray of coffee or tea was brought up to our room half an hour before breakfast. All in all we had a wonderful time and I don't think anything could be any better. I wish we could have stayed longer and I now have to try making those croissants for breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

This was our 3rd stay at the Crosby House, each time in a different room, and each time a delight. This time we stayed in the charming Garden Suite which has its own small kitchen and balcony overlooking the lovely gardens. Greatly enjoyed the privacy and accommodations. In addition, delicious breakfasts were served each a.m. in the main house's dining room. Lynn and Richard are generous and welcoming hosts who go out of their way to make guests comfortable and 'at home'.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

This is a large, clean and comfortable house with 19th century charm and modern conveniences. The friendly host, Lynn, provides a sumptuous cooked breakfast with fruit, home baking and good coffee. There is a large and beautiful garden with forest and trails beyond. The house is on a main street within walking distance of downtown Brattleboro. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Owners were friendly and helpful. We arrived very late at night and they were welcoming and accomodating. Location was beautiful and convenient. Plenty to do and see, owners were helpful in suggesting things to do. Breakfast was lovely, delicious and plentiful. We were asked what time we would like breakfast, making it convenient for us.

I traveled with a 10 and 13 year old boy as well as my husband. WE stayed one night, left and returned the next night because we enjoyed it the first time. Very homey and short walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington vt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We travel to Brattleboro every year to play in a tennis tournament and stay at this lovely B&B and get spoiled by Lynn and Richard every time we go! If you want to stay at a really cozy B&B and have a nice private room and wake up to fresh tea and coffee and a yummie breakfast, then you have found your spot. Just down the road from the wonderful small city of Brattleboro and close to all the attractions you will be delighted with your experience. We have stayed at many other places over the past 10 years but have finally learned that the Crosby house feels like "home"!! Its nice to know that genuine good hearted people like Lynn and Richard are still out there in the world....it simply makes you feel good. The hardest part is leaving after such a great weekend like this. Thank you both for always being so giving and taking care of us!!!! Is there a way to give more than 5 stars!!????

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1868 Crosby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Crosby House

Address: 175 Western Avenue, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1868 Crosby House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosby House offers three luxury B&B rooms and 2 spacious suites for a memorable stay in Southern Vermont. Extensive gardens bordered by woodlands with 9 miles of walking/skiing/snowshoeing trails in Vt. Trust Land. Yet, we're only a half mile walk to downtown Brattleboro with it's unique shops, restaurants, galleries and Museum. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1868 Crosby House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.